Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori School Of Fremont

Private | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fremont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $752,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

I attended this school since my first year of primary education. I cannot remember much about my preschool experience, but I remember engaging and hands-on learning. Lower elementary was similar, with encouraging teachers allowing one to go at an accelerated pace. The upper elementary experience, however, was completely different. The martinet director would rarely teach, leaving a majority of learning to the students. Instead, she would police every aspect of school life except education. During the few times she did teach, she did it irresponsibly. For example, in 6th grade, we had to complete 6 great stories (Montessori essays). I put my best effort into them and turned in my final draft much before it was due. On the due date, she said she didn't receive mine, when I remembered placing them in her hands. She made me redo them, and when I submitted these, she said that they were "sloppy." I remembered reading one of the girls' (all of which were treated leniently by the teacher) that included limited vocabulary and C-grade information compared to mine--it, however, received a much better grade than mine. The negative experience of upper elementary accounts for the 2-star rating.


Posted October 25, 2013

Iam mom of 5 year old kid. and She has been in the school now for 1 year and i just love the school . Even i could see the sudden improvement in behavioral and academic of my kid . Iam very happy with the administration and the teacher .They have an outstanding curriculum .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

We came from Mission Valley Montessori (sister school of MSF) where he education for pre-school is excellent. The lower elementary of this school is questionable. There are 3 classrooms for lower elementary going to only 1 classroom in upper elementary. The teacher we ended up with happened to be the worst of the 3 classrooms. During parent-teacher conferences, she talks about other kids but NOT our son. She did not take the time in the 3 years he spent in her classroom to know him. She is "supposedly" the most experience teacher of the 3 yet she is the oldest. She is in her 60s with hip surgery, so you can imagine how much energy she has for 28 6-8 years old boys and girls. No time for chats in the hall way, no email communication, no phone calls, no suggestion on how we can improve things. The office is not as helpful as in MVM. The owner actually told me that Mission Valley Montessori is their stellar school. No principal or director that you can talk to any time. Ms Tess is in front but she only manages the preschool. Accounting is nonexistent either. You need to make sure you are on top of your automatic deposit. No accident reports whenever there are accidents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

I taught a student that came from this school and she described treatment by her teacher which was atrocious to me. The concerns about the teachers and administration are real, and can not be determined by a visit. My advice is to talk to the older children and hear the facts. I also have a life-long friend who sent her two kids here for a total of seven years and was met with the same concerns. She finally moved her kids to another school. It's too bad that the administration is so unresponsive. The private schools I have taught at in Fremont are completely the opposite.


Posted October 22, 2011

The families who see a problem in the school administration are quite correct. I worked there for a long time and survived by not telling the director anything! I knew pertinent info about the children would be used for gossip or to "set up" another teacher if there were problems. A sad commentary. Never the less many teachers did try hard in those overcrowded classrooms to do well by the children. By the way, I left on good terms. Please try to support the teachers [they are probably as frustrated as you], bypass the director and talk directly to the owner[s]'
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 15, 2011

I have been going to Montessori School of Fremont ever since preschool and it is very difficult. However, it is a great education and all the negative comments are false teachers there do care, they arent supposed to call an ambulance to care for a cut, and the furniture is brand new THANK YOU VERY MUCH! i have known Ms. Tess and Ms. Lindsay all my life and they are excellent. They mostly focus on Academics which is good because most kindergartners, know there Multiplication Tables, Division, Addition, and subtraction by heart. Very outstanding School


Posted February 11, 2011

I put my child here after hearing good reviews from parents. But unfortunately this school is having its downfall. I find the teachers completely not involved and not at all repsonsive to any concerns. The management also is unware of whats going on and dodnt seem to care. The furniture is old and so are its teachers. I guess this used to be good long time ago and not anymore. So parents please watch out they are only selling once upon a time brand and are really not worth for the money you pay. Moreover you dodnt want your child to be in a place where they are not cared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

The curriculum here excels in supporting the self-guided student. This school truly encourages the child to be self-reliant and independent and the teachers are amazing. Communication and response by the Director's Office is the major downfall. The Director, Tess, appears unconcerned with issues brought to her and is rarely in her office or on site. Assistant Director, Lindsay, is much better with communication but lacks follow through with some matters. It is unfortunate that the reputation of this truly wonderful school is marred by the few in the office that run it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

I rate the school one star because I failed to see the teachers or the principal respond to our concerns. My kids got hurt 3 times in 3 months and the first aid applied was washing the open wound using hand soap and water. Teachers kept tellingus that the school did not have a first aid kit, but when we finally got a chance to ask the owner, who replied that recently first aid kits were bought for the school. The other main concern we had was the poor communication skills of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2007

My daughter is ap 1st grader here, and we were a bit guarded in continuing w/ a montessori curriculum for elementary school. She has grown leaps and bounds this year and is well rounded in reading, math, science, social studies, etc. They do have PE once a week, and other activities after school that are extra. They do try to keep the campus clean and up to date. I have found the teachers approachable, however the director seems 'invisible' to me. My child loves her school and that says a lot! The curriculum meets her learning style and temperament.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

The school overall is good for preschool and kindergarden . They don't have too much activities realted to sport and art but you can enroll kids to some classes that happen in the campus
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2005

Excellent student teacher ratio, Multicultural, excellent after-school programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2005

Average teaching facilities no availability of extracurricular activities low level of parent involvememt
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

My first impression of this school was not a very good one. The classroom looked very messy and unorganized and the furniture was very old. But the thing that really struck me was the fact that there was not alot of variety of Montessori materials. Alot of the same work repeated over and over on the shelves. I also had a very bad experience with the director when I spoke to her about a concern I had. She was very defensive with me and I found that a bit disturbing. I think for the amount of money they charge they could improve the classrooms a little and at the very least show that they care when a parent voices a concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2005

This school has a very very long waiting list, but now that we have finally gotten into the school its been very easy to work with the administration there...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

My child is in Montessori Children's house in Fremont, CA. You can feel the love and warm atmosphere around this school. My daughter, now 3-yr-old, likes the school very much. She expresses great confidence in learning. And she is highly motivated in trying and learning everything that she is interested in. The teachers and Director are nice and very thoughtful to the kids. They know what the children are doing and provide a choice of freedom for them. Overall, this is a great school for early education of children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

This school gives great flexibility for my kid to learn on her own. They let her discover her own interest, and encourage her in a nice way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

I have two children here, one in Preschool and another in 2nd grade. We had a horrible and traumatic experience with a teacher 2 years ago, the effects of which we can still see in our child. The management was slow, lukewarm and unresponsive despite several complaints against that teacher. Fortunately we have had a great teacher since then who worked hard with our child. I am very fimilar with the good teachers and there are also some very unexperienced and impersonal teachers. We do not plan to keep our children there too long. The furniture and materials are old and worn out, no extra curricular activites unless parents shell out hunderds of additional dollars and poor management involvement and support. Without those wonderful and gifted teachers, involved parents I would never consider this school. For a new parent considering this school, I would recommend this school as a last resort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

This is the best school! The teachers really care about every child. The administration is caring and professional. They teach decorum and expect and receive good manners from and to all of the student body as well as the staff. This is one of the only Montessori schools that I have found that go from pre-school through high school. They offer all types of on site activites, such as Ballet, Spanish lessons, Chess club, Gardening.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 3% 52%
White 3% 26%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

155 Washington Boulevard
Fremont, CA 94539
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 490-1993

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT