Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Fremont, CA
Students enrolled: 470

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Joseph Azevada Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
School has an outstanding Mandarin Immersion program currently for K to 4th grades. Withing two more years the Mandarin classes will be K to 6th grades. The Mandarin and English only teachers are outstanding examples of what teachers should be. If you live in Fremont and want your child to learn Mandarin within there normal classroom hours - check out Azeveada

Joseph Azevada Elementary School 5

Posted January 02, 2014
- a parent
Only can speak about our outstanding Mandarin Program classrooms which will soon make up half of the school.


Joseph Azevada Elementary School 4

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
I like Azevada School. The teachers are great and the students have an eagerness to learn.

Joseph Azevada Elementary School 5

Posted September 15, 2013
- a parent
Azevada is a wonderful school that truly celebrates the diversity in our community. We have a school community made up of multi cultures, multi languages, and multi abilities. Azevada encourages all the students to reach for the stars. (The school mascot is the "All Star.") In addition to our traditional classes taught in English, we also are proud to have a Mandarin Immersion program. Children in the program (some enter knowing little or no Mandarin), learn the same school curriculum, but in the language of Mandarin! Azevada is also very proud of it's special day students that are such an important part of the school. I am proud to say my son attends Azevada and encourage all schools to celebrate their diversity and join together as a wonderful community to make each child feel welcomed and valued.

Joseph Azevada Elementary School 4

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
This is a very good public school, and is becoming a great public school. The Principal, teachers and staff members are very helpful and take care of students very well.


Joseph Azevada Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2012
- a parent
We had to move out of state and so sad had to leave this excellent school. The Principal, teachers and staff members have been so helpful and attentive. Bathrooms & cafeteria are clean, great playgrounds & great lunch menu though it's standard. My child has been in the Mandarin immersion class for 2 years and she has always enjoyed the learning process. Mr. Leung is a very patient, resourceful and attentive teacher. Each child was appreciation and given an award by end of the 1st grade. My child learned great Math, Science and English on top of the Mandarin classes. We will miss this school so much. Azevada rating is low due to their classes for special need kids but they have Accelerated online Math, Reading in the library with scores for each child whenever they finished & great Science class.

Joseph Azevada Elementary School 5

Posted March 19, 2011
- a parent
My child has been attending Kindergarten at Azevada for about 8 months and I have seen lots of improvements. She is in the Chinese Immersion Program which has just started as the 1st class this year. Mrs. Orchid Wang is very attentive to each child's feelings & a very good teacher. Kids loves her and hugs her. CIP is a succes considering 70% of students are from non Mandarin speaking family . Kids have learned speaking a lot of Mandarin, covered more than 20 books in 8 months, learning to read English too. A Chinese mom this morning said that she's very happy with CIP program. She was going to sign up her son to a Spanish immersion program before knowing about CIP. They have classes for special needs kids which affected their rate being low. The school has improved student's reading , Accelerated Reading Program and Math online programs and library.

Joseph Azevada Elementary School 4

Posted February 24, 2011
- a parent
Azevada is a good public school. I see teachers, staffs and parents are all doing their best to maintain the low budget cut year. School maintains the library well. Student enjoy outside playgrounds which is pretty neat over all. Bathroom are good and pretty clean in most of the time. Lunch is very standard . They have a great after school music program run by parents. The choir is wonderful and lucky to have a professional parent willing to run it and it's free. They also have drawing class and band to offer if you willing to pay the price to join. Overall this is a great school but always, parent involved will make all things different!


Joseph Azevada Elementary School 4

Posted December 08, 2010
- a parent
My child has been attending this school for 3 years now and she loves it. So far she has had great teachers and I have never had a problem with any of them. This school has dedicated teachers, a nice principal and a hard-working PTA that is doing a great job of putting together a bunch of fun activities for the kids. Test scores have risen again so I think it's a good school and I hope it continues to get better.

Joseph Azevada Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
I love Joseph Azevada Elementary School because the kids and teachers are great.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Joseph Azevada Elementary School
39450 Royal Palm Drive, Fremont, CA  94538
(510) 657-3900
Last modified Joseph Azevada Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Joseph Azevada Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top