Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Fremont, CA
Students enrolled: 541
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Blacow Elementary School 1

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
Is not up to par with other schools and their curiculum. Very disappointing. We will be changing our daughters school to a more proactive one.

John Blacow Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 20, 2015
- a parent
I agree with the following post that Blacow "basis on Hispanic needs" , completely true. My husband and I have checked out other schools in the area and will be moving our daughter next year to a better school. Thanks for nothing Blacow.


John Blacow Elementary School 1

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
This is such a poor school compared to other elementary schools in Fremont. It basis most on Hispanic needs and teachers are extremely lazy. Terrible, terrible, terrible!

John Blacow Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
The teachers at this school really try to help students succeed. The school uses new and innovative methods to motivate students to master the content.

John Blacow Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
I am a former Blacow Elementary student and now parent of 1st and 2nd graders in the Spanish immersion program at Blacow. Blacow Elementary has dedicated, caring and hard-working teachers like Ms. Rivas, Ms. Comendant, Ms. de la Torre, Mr. Colon, Ms. Orantes and Ms. Rodriguez. College entrance requirements ask for a 2nd language and this a great way for your child to start this dual language foundation. I invite you to enroll your children at Blacow Elementary and challenge them to be multi-lingual. Is Spanish Immersion Right for Your Child? Do you have bilingualism, biliteracy, and diversity? Does your child have a strong foundation in English? Does your child need challenges? Do you want your child to have a linguistic edge in tomorrow s market economy? Are you willing to make a long-term commitment to the Immersion Program? http://www.fremont.k12.ca.us/domain/405


John Blacow Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
This school has a heart of gold. Down to the office ladies. Some people that work here were former students And have a love for what they do. So far we have had Mrs. Delatorre,Mrs. Manjabosco,Mrs. Comendant and Mrs. Valdivia So far everything has been good. My son is doing really Well.
1 person found this helpful

John Blacow Elementary School 4

Posted September 01, 2013
- a parent
I love this school because they do have the immersion program that helps kids achieve and keep the second language which is important for future use. The teachers so far have been great as well.

John Blacow Elementary School 1

Posted March 07, 2013
- a community member
From a good achieving school .... It has now slipped down to a low performing institution. There is a lack of leadership, and no attempt in bringing this school upto par with others. FUSD needs to focus on the faculty's ability to raise the school standard.
1 person found this helpful


John Blacow Elementary School 1

Posted February 02, 2011
- a parent
My child is in Kindergarten and has the best teacher (Mrs. Forbes). The speech therapist is also fantastic. However, the school caters entirely to Spanish speaking families. There are more teachers for the immersion program than for the English resulting in limited options for teachers. The classes are overcrowded creating a difficult learning environment. There is a teachers aid that assists a few times a week testing children rather than assisting in activity. The principal is cold hearted and arrogant and definitely not concerned with providing the students at this school with an optimal education. She is just another penny pincher for the district. Teachers are not provided wit the appropriate tools to teach these kids and the kids are suffeering. My child will not be attending this school next year.
2 people found this helpful

John Blacow Elementary School 1

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
The school is low-income, more than half the school is in spanish-immersion. My child's science lab teacher was let go and the class received no science instruction at all that year, No Science! but yet, they had plenty of funding for bi-lingual programs. There is very little art, music is provided through a non-profit foundation and all funding goes to Spanish immersion. The teaching is not innovative, it does not engage the children and is primarily lectures and work sheets, even in the first grade. The principle is ineffective and does not seek to provide more for students or teachers. This school has low parental involvement and is all about bi-lingual and spanish immersion and not much else. If your child already speaks English, go somewhere else.
4 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Blacow Elementary School
40404 Sundale Drive, Fremont, CA  94538
(510) 656-5121
Last modified John Blacow Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Blacow Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top