Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John Blacow Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
The teachers at this school really try to help students succeed. The school uses new and innovative methods to motivate students to master the content.

John Blacow Elementary School 5

Posted February 14, 2014
- a parent
I am a former Blacow Elementary student and now parent of 1st and 2nd graders in the Spanish immersion program at Blacow. Blacow Elementary has dedicated, caring and hard-working teachers like Ms. Rivas, Ms. Comendant, Ms. de la Torre, Mr. Colon, Ms. Orantes and Ms. Rodriguez. College entrance requirements ask for a 2nd language and this a great way for your child to start this dual language foundation. I invite you to enroll your children at Blacow Elementary and challenge them to be multi-lingual. Is Spanish Immersion Right for Your Child? Do you have bilingualism, biliteracy, and diversity? Does your child have a strong foundation in English? Does your child need challenges? Do you want your child to have a linguistic edge in tomorrow s market economy? Are you willing to make a long-term commitment to the Immersion Program? http://www.fremont.k12.ca.us/domain/405


John Blacow Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
This school has a heart of gold. Down to the office ladies. Some people that work here were former students And have a love for what they do. So far we have had Mrs. Delatorre,Mrs. Manjabosco,Mrs. Comendant and Mrs. Valdivia So far everything has been good. My son is doing really Well.

John Blacow Elementary School 4

Posted September 01, 2013
- a parent
I love this school because they do have the immersion program that helps kids achieve and keep the second language which is important for future use. The teachers so far have been great as well.

John Blacow Elementary School 1

Posted March 07, 2013
- a community member
From a good achieving school .... It has now slipped down to a low performing institution. There is a lack of leadership, and no attempt in bringing this school upto par with others. FUSD needs to focus on the faculty's ability to raise the school standard.


John Blacow Elementary School 1

Posted February 02, 2011
- a parent
My child is in Kindergarten and has the best teacher (Mrs. Forbes). The speech therapist is also fantastic. However, the school caters entirely to Spanish speaking families. There are more teachers for the immersion program than for the English resulting in limited options for teachers. The classes are overcrowded creating a difficult learning environment. There is a teachers aid that assists a few times a week testing children rather than assisting in activity. The principal is cold hearted and arrogant and definitely not concerned with providing the students at this school with an optimal education. She is just another penny pincher for the district. Teachers are not provided wit the appropriate tools to teach these kids and the kids are suffeering. My child will not be attending this school next year.

John Blacow Elementary School 1

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
The school is low-income, more than half the school is in spanish-immersion. My child's science lab teacher was let go and the class received no science instruction at all that year, No Science! but yet, they had plenty of funding for bi-lingual programs. There is very little art, music is provided through a non-profit foundation and all funding goes to Spanish immersion. The teaching is not innovative, it does not engage the children and is primarily lectures and work sheets, even in the first grade. The principle is ineffective and does not seek to provide more for students or teachers. This school has low parental involvement and is all about bi-lingual and spanish immersion and not much else. If your child already speaks English, go somewhere else.
2 people found this helpful

John Blacow Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a community member
I can't believe how much my little nephew ( who lives with us ) has learned since he started school this year. They told us he would be reading and writing full sentences by the end of the year and my first reaction was oh no way! Here we are 8 months later and he can read like crazy and write little sentences. I am so amazed at what his teacher Ms.Weymouth was able to do, she is amazing and we are so thankful for such a great teacher and wonderful school.


John Blacow Elementary School 4

Posted September 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

John Blacow Elementary School 3

Posted June 19, 2009
- a parent
Over the past seven years we've been with this school there we have seen mostly great teachers and just a few terrible teachers (usually ones ready for retirement, although some young ones too), but in general staff is very good. Principal is ineffective as far as discipline, and teachers seem discouraged and unsupported by him. Students with extremely bad behavior are not dealt with strongly enough. The school is considered low-income and this manifests in low parental involvement. Half of the school is spanish-immersion which accounts for the low test scores; these students are state tested in english even if they don't speak the language.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John Blacow Elementary School
40404 Sundale Drive, Fremont, CA  94538
(510) 656-5121
Last modified John Blacow Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John Blacow Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top