Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

244 students|Fremont Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Circle of Independent Learning School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
I haven't met a teacher or a staff member that wasn't helpful, friendly and passionate about their job. The students are very friendly and happy here. We love the school and all it stands for. After moving from Canada, my son was reluctant and scared to start his school life anew. From the first day he felt like home at this school and he gets upset when he cannot go to school or attend his classes. If he could, he'd be in school all day long doing all the fun things he's doing there.

Circle of Independent Learning School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Given our son's ability to learn subjects quickly and with ease, I believe we could cover more in the same amount of time other kids do it in school. The current amount of homework seems to bring less stress to his and our lives, but it also bring a lot of 'free' time that he doesn't know how to spend yet.


Circle of Independent Learning School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
We've never done homeschooling before, and I was reluctant to start, afraid that it would be too much work. In reality, it is quite easy to do, and all you need is given to you by the advisory teacher. To top it all up, they help you along the way with any concerns and questions you might have. Our son not only doing his regular curriculum, but also has time for additional classes, some of them being from higher grade level. (He wouldn't be able to attend those in regular school setting.) I believe he currently takes almost double amount of courses that he would normally take in school, and he enjoys every single one of them! He cannot wait to go to his on-campus classes. Even though he seems to be quite busy with his school work, he still has a lot of time left for either his sports activities or his hobbies. We hope our 3-year-old daughter will be able to attend this school too. I believe this is the best school ever!

Circle of Independent Learning School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
We have been with COIL for four years now, we cannot beat the flexibility and excellence of this school and it's staff. We look forward to the years ahead at COIL. I would highly recommend this school to anyone with children looking for flexibility and first rate teachers. Children learn at a pace and style of their own. No one is forced into a mold here. Classes are offered for math and English, we have taken advantage of these and have been very pleased. Field trips are also available and are fun and educational. The staff does an outstanding job of assisting families to the routine of charter school life. It is definitely worth checking into.

Circle of Independent Learning School 5

Posted March 06, 2012
- a parent
We have been with COIL for 8 years and I ask my kids every year is they need a change and they always choose to stay. The advisor teachers are very accommodating and helpful. The writing teacher who offers courses at COIL is FANTASTIC! My children love to write because of her. COIL also seems to be offering more courses and opportunities for the children every year. The library of curriculum is huge and they have always been willing to add curriculum at the parents request. They are good listeners and response is always thoughtful.


Circle of Independent Learning School 5

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
My children all attended Coil, I have been happy with it since They started. At Coil the Staff is incredible with helping the children learn in a way that is best for them. There are many of their students that graduate with high honors. I know my girls have a 4.0 from when they first started they only had 5 credits total and all F's. This school and the Staff have helped bring up their self esteem. I am very happy and honored to have my children in this School.

Circle of Independent Learning School 5

Posted March 13, 2009
- a parent
My son has been going to C.O.I.L. for seven years and it has been a great experience for him. The teacher have been great and work with a child's individual needs. Recommend to everyone that's thinking of homeschooling

Circle of Independent Learning School
no rating

Posted July 24, 2007
- a student
After graduating in '04 from COIL, I've gone on to college only to see how wonderful I had it there. COIL is a great school that provides opportunities to students of every background and fits any students needs, and knows how to get people to learn in very innovative ways!


Circle of Independent Learning School 5

Posted August 14, 2006
- a parent
I cant say enough about COIL and it's staff. Everyone is great and puts my son's needs as a top priority....which was definatley not the case at Vallejo Mill Elementary. Thanks so much to the wonderful individuals that finally said my son is dyslexic and needs help. The encouragement from the staff boosted his self esteem greatly. He never thought that there was something wrong with him. Thank you so much.... His advisory teacher the past year and a half was an asset to our family, helping us to help Gage is something we will never be able to thank her for properly. We love Coil!

Circle of Independent Learning School 5

Posted March 26, 2006
- a parent
COIL is an independent study charter school. Students at the school are taught by their parents with the help of a guidance teacher. COIL guidance teachers have been very helpful for us in finding materials that engage and interest my children. COIL offers some classes which my children enjoy. COIL has a great library.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Circle of Independent Learning School
4700 Calaveras Avenue, Fremont, CA  94538-1124
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (510) 797-0100
Last modified Circle of Independent Learning School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top