Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

401 students|Fremont Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


E. M. Grimmer Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
I transferred from a similar school recently and was impressed by how me and my kids were welcomed here at Grimmer. My kids are loving the school, the teachers and the way they are learning. Grimmer is making very special to them.

E. M. Grimmer Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
The principal has definitely won my kids hearts. She is always walking around greeting the students, asking about their needs. They feel truly special with that kind of attention. I'd like to say thanks to Mrs. Nye


E. M. Grimmer Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
Their anti-bullying program is one of a kind. I have not encounter a school with such a serious approach about the issue. I have a special needs child and I feel he is safe at the school.

E. M. Grimmer Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 30, 2015
- a parent
I feel that the principal, as well as all their staff care deeply about the students and are available at all times to parents.

E. M. Grimmer Elementary School 5

Posted June 07, 2015
- a community member
great school, great community, it caters to diverse community. School has been improving in academics every year.


E. M. Grimmer Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a parent
Wonderful school, good learning for kids. Great teachers and reasonable parents involvement. My kids enjoying everything there.

E. M. Grimmer Elementary School 1

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
This is regarding the front desk. About 15-20 minutes after school ended, I went to pick up my child but he was already gone from the class room. Not a big deal, me and my child have a system of where to stay after school for pickup. However, he wasn't where he was supposed to be. I proceeded to the front desk and asked if they could make an announcement for him to come to the front but the lady at the front said they could make no announcement over the PA system. How ridiculous is that? A worried parent and you cannot sympathize? Too busy? Whatever the case, my child no longer attends this school.

E. M. Grimmer Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2012
- a parent
I have a 1st grader who loves Grimmer Spanish Immersion. The K and 1st teachers are amazing, helping my english only daughter to engage and enjoy a very challenging academic environment. She is only 3 months into 1st grade, and can do math, write sentences, and understand her teacher, all in spanish. They work on spelling words like guitarra and reguero. Instead of boring class parties, teachers arrange celebrations that include dance, science, and craft stations keeping the kids learning and having fun. Half of the parents stay and help kids with morning work, and there are almost always parents helping in class. The spanish speaking parents have made a great effort to engage my daughter and help her to connect with the other kids. They have PE 2x a week, science in the brand new lab 2x a week, computer lab and Library 1x a week. Fully certified teachers do 1on1 support a few times a week to help my daughter as she learns in her 2nd language. The principal seems to know each student by name and has a very hands on approach. I wish for more aggressive recruitment of more english only students, otherwise it is a great program achieving results far beyond my expectations.


E. M. Grimmer Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
The teachers, principal and parents are very caring about each and every student.

E. M. Grimmer Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2010
- a teacher
I have been the principal at Grimmer for about 7 years now. Everyday I love to see the faces of accomplished students!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

E. M. Grimmer Elementary School
43030 Newport Drive, Fremont, CA  94538-6113
(510) 656-1250
Last modified E. M. Grimmer Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
E. M. Grimmer Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top