Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

O. N. Hirsch Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2014

This is the best rated school in Irvington. Although smaller then the surrounding schools but It still has produced a large amount of talent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2014

My daughter started at Kindergarten level in 2013 and she has had a good experience so far. The teachers provide a good learning environment and the kids enjoy this. The only downside, as with all public schools in California, is that a lot of school work is pushed down to the home and not enough time is taken to impart it at school. For working parents, this can often be a huge challenge to meet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

I have a 10 years old son that attended Hirsch since kindergarden . He loves the school. I volunteers for activities. Hirsch and Hirsch PTA are amazing. They put together many activities throughout the year that bring the community together. The teachers are all great, honest and supportive . I am happy that we have a great public school in our area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2013

My son recently completed his 1st grade. Due to over number of students enrolled for 1st grade last year (2012), Hirsch has additionally added a new class room and hire a new teacher. My son got into the new class room with new teacher. We are worried knowing that the the new teacher was less experienced comparing to the existing teachers in the school. However our worries are gone within 2 months, I can see my son is keenly reading and writing for his journal and doing his math very well. The new teacher Mr.P**a was really good he observes kids and knows what they lack and focuses on improving their skills. When ever we had any question about the subjects, or about our son's progress he has patiently explained how he is currently, where he is concentrating on improving further his reading writing skills. Overall 1st grade turn out to be a nice experience for us and good class for my son.. I wish the teacher continue to help the students to progress further in their skills. Mrs. C***y used to be the principal, she is too kid involving in all the activities for kids and mingling with teachers as well as to the kids. 5 Stars :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

Really Great School! I love the great teachers, staff members, and a caring principal! Keep it up Hirsch!


Posted August 14, 2012

My daughter completed her sixth grade this year. This is her first year at Hirsch . The teachers are very hardworking,loving,and understandable. My daughter had been through a surgery and missed almost a month from school. The teacher send her homework everyday and give her extra help in academics and she eventually earned an overall A honor roll in all subjects. We are very satisfied with the school and recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2012

My son studied here for Kindergarten - Rm2, 2011~2012. The teacher was really loving, caring, understanding and amazing. My son got this difficulty in speaking english since he moved a lot from Taiwan and Philippines before coming to US but the teacher did a very great job so that my son will have the knowledge and confidence to speak english. She got a special skill that with her only soft voice, she gained respect and attention from her students. My son missed her teacher a lot but he has to moved to Grade 1. Thanks a lot, ma'am! God bless
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

My Son has joined the Hirsh for KG. Mrs. T* was the teacher. She is amazing. My son has learned a lot and she has put lots of efforts to the kids to learn English and Math. JiJi Math is another plus point where my son come to home and play JiJi Math and learn hard mathematics in an easy way. Overall we are very satisfied with the School and the teacher. The principal is very much involved with students progress.. I highly recommend this school to any one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

My daughter goes to this school. It is a good school. API scored jumped up significantly in 2010. Principal is very good. Teachers are good as well. There definitely is a room for improvement like anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

I agree with the last review of Hirsch. My daughter also experienced similar difficulties with the retired resource teacher and communication between resource and mainstream teacher. The new resource teacher is not much better. She has said some rather insensitive comments about my child. As a teacher myself, I was shocked that a resource teacher would say such things to a parent of a child with special needs. I also agree that the principal is subpar. The teachers are hit or miss. Frankly, my family is actively looking to move away from Hirsch because I feel that an average schoool is not good enough for my child or any other child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

I have two children who attend Hirsch. I have been disappointed with my son's Resource Teacher, who recently retired and did not put much effort into assisting my son's progress over 4 years. Poor communication between the Resource Teacher and his regular teacher caused more anxiety and several misunderstandings, which were always blamed on my child, not the teacher. The principal also did not support my son's needs. The school has a poor Science and PE curriculum, both not supporting the American lifestyle and struggle of obese children, but also not allowing the children to grow in Science, one of the worlds most growing areas for future careers. One teacher has been absent almost the entire year, and the class has been run by a substitute. The school needs some better teachers:(..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

My son is going to Hirsch. He is thoroughly enjoying the class. He is in kindergarten class. Ms Orr is his teacher. He absolutely loves her. We are very happy with his progress in the class. The school staff and the principal are very friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I love that even though our school is small we continue to be one of the most sought after schools in our neighborhood. Our teachers and PTA have a wonderful reputation which helps to make our school desirable. My kids love their teachers and are doing so well with their school work and grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The students, teachers and parents are wonderful. Could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

We had absolutely horrible experience with this school. Principal will tell all what you want to hear. We didnt see her make an effort to support kids in their learning. Teachers were not great either. Stay away from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

Excellent School. Lot of parent involvement. My daughter is enrolled for her first year in KG. The teachers have taken special care esp. Mrs. Orr to improve her overall skills. I am very happy to enroll my daughter in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Hirsch school is really a great school.My daughter is actually an overload student.I liked the school the first day i saw it.The teachers really rock there.Mrs.Fischer werk who teaches 1st grade is such a coooll teacher.Kids just love her.Sadly though she is being let go.If anybody needs a tutor for your kid staying in san leandro she is the one.Trust me take my words she is the best.Contact me on my email id and i can give you her id.My id is viju_hp@yahoo.Com.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2009

Hirsch is a great school, with great teachers, and parent volunteers. It has very strict disciplines on home work, school times, and curriculums. My kids are happy to be in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I have worked with the Principal, teachers, parents and students of this school. I feel that this is an excellent school to send you children to get a good education in a caring environment. The Principal makes it a point to get to know every single child at the school. The teachers are wonderful, and the office staff is very is caring.


Posted January 3, 2007

My sons are in Hirsch and I love it. It is a small school with a lot of fun for both students and parents. Teachers are very experience yet still have passion in teaching. Parents of Hirsch are the best. There are a lot of PTA activities. The principal remembers students' name, which makes my son very proud of. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Thank you Hirsch!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

928

Change from
2012 to 2013

+25

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

928

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+25

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females80%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females87%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disability67%
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner82%
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females93%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asian87%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learner89%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students93%
Females93%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learner94%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females82%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner69%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females89%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females75%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students85%
Females83%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner92%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students78%
Females79%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females88%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asian86%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students95%
Females94%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learner100%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Asian 53%
White 17%
Hispanic 15%
Black 3%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/AN/A
English language learners 34%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41399 Chapel Way
Fremont, CA 94538
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 657-3537

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ilm Academy
Fremont, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT