Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady of Guadalupe School

Private | K-8 | 216 students

We are accredited by WASC, Western Association of Schools and Colleges and WCEA,
 
 

 
 

Living in Fremont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $353,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 19, 2013

Combining great staff with Jesus teaching what what I needed and I found it here at OLG School. I'M LOVIN IT :)


Posted November 6, 2013

Here at Our Lady of Guadalupe School mistakes are seen as a learning opportunity and consequences promote self awareness and growth. Parents of students are also very supportive and have a great sense of community and social responsibility. This school is passionate about education while developing morals!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2013

My kids like it here. Compared to the larger schools it wasn't really a big issue there, though at the previous school there were some issues with bullying. That is one of the main reasons why I took my kids out of public school and so far they have really felt the change, and they like it, and they love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

I like how available and attentive the staff is here. If you have any concerns they will take the time to talk to you about them. And if they can't they will set up a time to meet with you. You can even send them an email and they get back to you quickly. You can usually find them after school to have some time to talk to them, if not you can set up a time easily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2012

The class sizes here are great, nice and small and I am happy with the teacher to student ratio. Overall I am very happy with the schooling here and the staff does a great job with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

I am a current student and have been attending Our Lady of Guadalupe School for the last eight years. I enjoy this school, they've shown me spiritual guidance and academically is preparing me to excel in high school.


Posted March 3, 2011

I am an alumni of OLG & a teacher at OLG. The staff is dedicated to the education of the child as a whole. There is a strong sense of community I have not experienced at any other school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 20, 2011

Is is our first year at OLG and all I can say is it is WAY more than I could have ever expected from the leadership of the school, to the parent involvement, to the academics and extra curricular activities. When the school says it puts your child first, they truly mean what they say. It truly one of the best kept secret in Fremont. We were meant to be at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

OLG is a wonderful school. My son was there from Kindergarten through Second Grade and he had a great experience. Our family moved to South America this year but we have such good memories of this school. The principal and pastor are very good leaders and all the faculty and staff members are wonderful. There is a lot of parent involvement and a great sense of community. Kids receive a strong academic foundation and wonderful values. My son attends a new school now and is getting straight A's...I don't doubt we owe this to OLG who prepared him so well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

My youngest son joined OLG 2.5 years ago. OLG is an excellent school with so many great teachers, parents, and priests. I have not got such wonderful experience from my son s previous school and my other children's schools in the past.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

I love the parent/community involvement, I feel my child is in a safe and loving learning enviroment. The teachers and staff are wonderful. My child loves gonig to school and that says a lot right there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

Our son has been there since kindergarden. the family values are wonderful. the parents are very thoughtful. Staff if very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

Once again, the schoolyear is coming to an end and we leave behind another year of good memories shared with many families we've grown to be a part of. The feeling of belonging to a community, helping and supporting one another for the sake of our children is the key to the warmth of OLG. We've been here nine years and look forward to another seven years before our youngest graduates. If you look for a school concerned with the well being of your kids, their excellence in education and their growing faith in Christ, OLG it is. We have wonderful leaders in our principal and Parish pastor, a sincere, caring and well-qualified teachers and staff, a supportive parent body, Dominican sisters and our Church community. The kids have exposure to theater arts, CYO sports, and a music band program. They are also prepared for the rigors of high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

This the greatest for kids , showing them the equalify life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

I have three children at OLG and cannot imagine sending them anywhere else. We've been with the school for nine years and during this time we have seen a lot of changes, but the one thing that never changes is the strong sense of community at OLG. There are many opportunities for parents to be involved with the school. I am struck every year by the way the children from all grades know one another and show respect and affection for each other. It is common to see the junior high students helping the younger children, laughing with them, playing with them and caring for them.The staff is committed and the leadership shown by the current principal is outstanding. Attending OLG is like having an extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

We made the right choice! we have a son in kindergarten. As parents we see our son learning, growing and building his confidence! it's wonderful to watch. As parents we find the staff at OLG to be caring, intelligent and very passionate at what they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2008

I have been a teacher at OLG for 3 years now, and I must say that I cannot imagine a more warm and caring environment for a student to attend school. The teachers and administrative staff work cohesively toward the goal of providing not only strong academics for its students, but a place of spiritual learning as well. I am proud to be a part of the OLG family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 18, 2008

I have two children at OLG. OLG reaches out to the school community and promotes involvement of the students and their families. The classes are small enough that teachers are able to work with the children as individuals. Teachers promote an environment filled with respect, responsibility and spirituality. The children enjoy being around caring adults and are encouraged to help each other when they can to ensure the success of the class. The curriculum challenges the students and provides them with tools to move on beyond OLG. The teachers provide resources and assistance for students who may be experiencing a little difficulty while also enabling advanced students to work at their knowledge level to make sure that they are continually challenged. They want to give the students every opportunity for success. OLG offers a solid curriculum and many extra-curricular activities that make the students well-rounded individuals ready for the next phase of their education in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

I have two children who graduated from Our Lady of Guadalupe School and went on to Moreau Catholic High School in Hayward. The education they received at OLG prepared them well to go on to Moreau. Every teacher and staff member in the school have the best interest of each student as their primary goal.The children are educated not only in curriculum subjects but also in areas to make them well rounded individuals. They are taught to respect each other, to resolve conflicts, to reach out to those less fortunate, to develop their talents, to participate in sports and to value friendships. Graduates often return to visit teachers or lend a hand when needed. What better tribute could ther be than that. Our Lady of Guadalupe School may be the best kept secret in Fremont, but it should not be. Its kudos should be shouted from the hilltops. Pass it on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

The community alone is amazing. The parents and teachers are on the same team focusing on the needs of each individual child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 27% 52%
White 19% 26%
Two or more races 17% 3%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Readers Choice Best of Fremont Runner-Up (2013)
  • Readers Choice Best of Fremont Winner (2012)
  • Readers Choice Best of Fremont Winner (2011)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sister Janice Therese
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (510) 657-3659

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Math club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our Lady of Guadalupe School is located in Fremont, California. It is a nine grade (K-8) parochial school. We currently have 216 students with a a class size of 20 to 27 students and a 1:12 student to staff ratio. Our Kindergarten is a full-day program. School hours are 8:00 am to 2:50 pm for grades K-2 and 8:00 am to 3:00 pm for grades 3-8. Extended care hours are 6:45 am to 7:45 am and dismissal to 6:00 pm. Our Lady of Guadalupe School is accredited by the Western Catholic Educational Assoc
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40374 Fremont Boulevard
Fremont, CA 94538
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 657-1674

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ilm Academy
Fremont, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT