Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Joseph Elementary School

Private | 1-8 | 285 students

Our school is best known for its welcoming community and academic excellence.
 
 

 

Living in Fremont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $752,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 21, 2014

St Joseph is a private school. So parents pay a tuition fee. All along the year, parents are expected to donate for several fundraisers, volunteer or pay more. Academics are just ok, not excellent. They have good music classes. But not much else for extracurricular programs. After school care is below average. Consider other good public schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

Looking to educate your child to be a well-rounded and faith-filled individual? This is the place to send him or her. St. Joseph school is dedicated to nurturing and educating the whole child; they strive to help each student reach his or her full potential, academically, physically, emotionally and spiritually. The teachers and staff are trained to be sensitive to the needs of each individual child. All inside and outside classroom activities are geared to reach the goals of educating the whole child. Volunteer requirements and parental involvement serve as a great bridge for community building and reinforce the school philosophy of life of service and provide a great example for our children that as part of a community we are called to work together for the good of the community. To keep pace with advancement in technology, each classroom is equipped with interactive white board and the school provides each junior high students with iPads. Parents are able to access and monitor their children's grades and progress daily through an on-line portal. Check this school out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

The kids ... Talk with God Walk with Jesus Pray/Sing together EVERYDAY We get to know the families. We are always helping others Teachers & staff are loving, nurturing and supportive. We have an AMAZING Kids Club! Many clubs and programs -Spanish, Art History, Ecology, Speech & Debate, Journalism, Drama, Math Olympiad, Glee, Mission Helpers Technology is strong. Smartboards/iPads are an additional sensory tool/interactive learning. It's about Mastery, Imagination, Creativity, Internalizing concepts and REFLECTION. It's about the CHILD. Personalization includes learning styles/personality styles and learning differences. Communication with teacher is strong; they are always available My kids LOVE the school, their friends, their teachers Wonderful Special Needs resources. Parents learn tools to help their child/children It's a SAFE and FUN place to learn and grow. Parents are encouraged to share their talents, time, love and energy in MANY and different ways. Families have a place to find emotional support and have LOTS of FUN. Compassionate. Sharing. Loving. Respectful. Work towards Building and Growing God's community. It's our COMMUNITY, our HOME, our FAMILY. All are welcome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

I had my son at another private Catholic school and later transferred my son to St. Joseph Elementary because of closer distance to our home and good reputation in fourth grade. After attending St. Joseph for a few months, my son told me that he is learning more at St. Joseph b/c they teach Spanish, the recorder instrument, the library has more books than his previous school and he thought the lunch option was better. I like how the teacher's and principal are receptive and show genuine interest in each child. I love the school setting as well, it looks like a mission style school, small and personal in the middle of the country side. In addition, the higher grades have IPads and their technology resources are up to date and wonderful, which my son enjoys!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

This schools profile is inaccurate. Music instruments lessons are not offered at the school but students can take classes at a neighboring school. There is a school Choir with a very talented music teacher however, the Choir is held after school hours, is not part of the school curriculum. Sports are offered through the Parish Church and is NOT a part of the school.Yearbook is completed by parent Volunteers. The students have no involvement in the creation of the Yearbook because the school will not supply a teach for a yearbook class. Science is very limited. In past years, the Science Fair has been cancelled due to "lack of interest" on the teachers part. The school does not publish it's testing scores for a reason. My student will have to be taught by a tutor over the summer so that he can reach the public school standards next year. Bullying is not addressed. Teachers, Parents and Students frequently yell, bully, humiliate and intimidate as a form of communication. These are the lessons being taught at this school. Teachers are overwhelmed and do not communicate with parents. Principal is disconnected from students and parents. Core values are not taught by example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2012

"St Joseph school is my second home." That's a quote from my child. The teachers and staffs are very child centered. We feel very comfortable with the teachers and staffs at the school. The teachers provide fun and challenging work to students. Children are taught good manners along with good academics. Discipline and respect is part of daily routine at St Joseph school. Catholic foundation is wonderful, and my son is getting a strong foundation in his faith. This is a well-rounded school; there are team sports (basketball and volleyball), track and field, cross country, choir, robotic club, and so on. The kid s club (after school care) staffs are wonderful; they make sure the children finish their homework before they can go out play. St. Joseph is well worth the reasonable cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

Our children are receiving an education full of academic as well as social skills. Their faith-filled experience will provide the foundation that we want for them. St. Joseph School is solid and well worth the sacrifice we've made by choosing the best school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

I pretty much like the school. It is well - rounded of extra ciricular activities and is well known for the education for the students. I personally think it is a good school to be at.


Posted October 18, 2009

We too are new to the school and really like it. Our daughter came from a top notch public school and she is definately being challenged. The parent involvement is maditory but I get the feeling that most of these parents would do it even if it wasn't. A+ school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

At this school, you can get good education and be well rounded by extra curricular activities. They try and help the students and make school fun. there is an excellent staff and princepal and vice. IF you have a learning disability, they will help thourgh the years you are there if wanted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

We loved this school and we hated to leave (military move)! The families are truly committed and warm and welcoming, the principal is dedicated and amazing and sweet! Our daughter's teacher was very committed to helping her with all her individual learning needs and she did very well here! The extracurricular activities are plenty for this age and esteem/ praise-oriented, our 4 year old and 2 year old got ribbons at our 2nd grader's track meet for the 'tiny tots' race division. They have CYO sports, scouts, chess club, choir, music and band, great spring and Christmas concerts and programs, an amazing Halloween carnival... lots of emphasis on community service... visits to Sisters at a home, food pantry collections, school supplies for lesser-endowed schools here and in Guatemala... just a great sense of the kids' place in a bigger, faith-filled world. We will dearly miss St. Joseph!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2006

Very good for typically developing kids- Excellent leadership. Not very adaptable to kids' individual needs-minimal understanding of learning differences. Fantastic sense of community and Christian social understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

This is an excellent School, you are able to communicate with teachers easy, help in the classroom, they have a lot of nice activities and religious is very strong. The bad thing about St. Joseph is the number of kids per classroom, other than that I will say it is a great environment for kids. I really liked St. Joseph a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Two or more races 22% 3%
Hispanic 18% 52%
White 14% 26%
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • WASC (2012)
  • WCEA (2012)
  • NCEA (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kelly Mendoza
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (510) 656-3608

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math Olympiad
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • School Health support
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
50
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
63
Students typically come from these schools
Mission Valley Elementary
Montesorri
Hopkins

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Moreau Catholic High School
Bellarmine College Prepatory
St. Francis
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

43222 Mission Boulevard
Fremont, CA 94539
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 656-6525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT