Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fremont Christian School

Private | K-12 | 825 students

We are best known for fine arts program.

 
 

Living in Fremont

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $382,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

77 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2010

Fremont Christian school is undoubtedly a good school. Teachers and great and students are nice. There are enough extracurricular activities and courses for a school this big. However, as a new student and a nonreligious person, I think this school puts too much emphasis on religion.


Posted September 29, 2010

I have great feelings about Fremont Christian, the preschool and the grade school. I have been to the meetings, I have been to the chapels, and I have had been able to get to know the teachers and the staff. Overall I am very impressed! Lots of prayer and careful planning and devotion goes into this school daily. It is obvious that the teachers carefully and prayerfully select the right students for the right class. The teachers minister to these children, and they are loving teachers. In many ways these teachers have inspired me to pursue a teaching job at Fremont Christian. Open house is phenomenal. It is a blessing to see how much the teachers go above and beyond their expectations. The principle is gentle and kind and understanding. The preschool directors and teachers are one of a kind and demonstrate love. My children are thriving here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

FCS is the best school I should know I went there and I wish I could go there to and I really liked the pricible Mr. Chandler Brooklyn Beique
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 1, 2010

From my experience with Christian Schools- parents believe that their children have to be protected and have to be nurtured. This is not what going to school is for. I have witnessed many family members throw away money and guess what? The child goes to public school and they cannot handle the academics. It's really sad and is happening to my loved ones. Your child will have to endure life once they leave the school and it's not always pretty...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

I went to FCS from K-8, but this school was HORRIBLE. There was way too much emphasis on religion, and the academics were not that good. I go to a public school now, and while I'm not behind academically compared to the other students, I'm not ahead either. For so much money, you would think that the academics would be better. In my opinion, the K-8 (since I don't know anything about the high school) was too easy. I had less than an hour of homework a day, and the sports are too limited. Overall, NOT a good school. (understatement)


Posted November 1, 2009

I love the Teachers at Fremont Christian School. They have a genuine interest in the children. I feel my kid is well cared for and safe at Fremont Christian School. That is something you cannot put a price on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2009

Fremont Christian School cares about the kids. They are a great collage prep school. 95% of the graduates go onto collage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Very caring staff. They love the students. Prayer is allowed, not banned like in Public Schools therefore, core values are taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

Obviously, you need to get both sides of an opinion, the bad and the good. Also, some parents tend to ignore or don't understand what's going in the student's mind because they aren't the ones experiencing the schoolwork, and pressure of just being in school. Like every school, there are pros and cons. I am a student here, and have transferred here in sixth grade. So, I would know both elementary and secondary side of both schools. Mainly, everywhere, there are mean and nice students, so here is no doubt. Also, it is a fun/positive academic curriculum for the most part. Overall, classmates are pretty respectful, although there are a few who wants to be the class clown and 'break out.' Obviously, there were some bad teachers. I am a 4.0 student, and sometimes, school here is pretty easy for me. But, nevertheless, bad teacher equals grade suffers. Good school for short.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 7, 2009

My son just completed Kindergarten at FCS and I was very impressed in how he grew both academically as well as spiritually. I couldn't have asked for a better start to his elementary years of school. His teacher was always available via email and in person to discuss concerns and she was also very informative. I felt that my son was praised for the good he did and made to see areas where he needed to grow. The extracurricular activities were awesome! My son was only in Kindergarten but had computer, p.e., spanish, and mad science throughout the school year. If you have a child entering Kindergarten at FCS...you have got to request Mrs. Mahabali! She is simply the best!!!! You will be very pleased! K. Taylor
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

I am currently a freshman at FCS. I have been going here since 1st grade and from what I remember, the elementary teachers are nice and understanding. But now, in highschool, since we are a small school, this year was not the best highschool experience. Academically, were okay, and most of the teachers really do care and want to help you raise a grade, if needed. From what I know, none of them want to trick you. But as a growing highschool student, it really isn't very good. There is only 1 dance, which is homecoming. And since we all know each other, everyone talks about everyone, and no one is really open towards new groups of people. And since we have the title of 'Christian' most definately, most of the students still curse and do other things.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

This is a good school. My son is attending the pre school since a year and we have seen the improvements. The Teachers are really friendly and co-operative. The co curricular activities are good. If anybody is new at Fremont, we would suggest that they can send their kids here. Samuel and Labanya
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

I currently have 2 children attending this school. One in 6th grade and one in the 8th grade. My 6th grader was a GATE student at our old school but was not being challenged and he was bored. At this school, he is constantly being challenged. The kids are great, the teachers are great and the adminstration is very helpful. My kids thank us daily for allowing them to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2008

I truly think FCS is a good school. It isn't the best, but its perfect for me. I have been attending FCS since the 3rd grade and now I am in HS. The school is small and friendly and Youth Service on Wed. nights is awesome. Even though the school is small and there aren't alot of people there makes it much easier. Everyone knows each other and knows what is going on with them. I also feel that is a safe school compared to some of the schools. My favorite teacher here is Mrs. Ricafrente who really cares for the children and is very passionate about what she does.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

Worst school in the world. This school is macking my life misreable. Do not come to this school unless you want to have stress every single day of you're life. They give too much homework.Do not go to this school!!! people will discourage you, and will be mean to you if you dont wear 'cool shoes'. The people from this school do not act like they are christian.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2008

This is a terrible school. Most of the teachers are horrible. The parents think its a great school, because they don't see everything the student sees. The students there are very rude, and disrespectful. They hardly act christian. It's a terrible place to grow as a christian. Although, on wednsday nights, there is a Youth service held in the Y-building and it is great if you want to grown in your walk with God. Other than that, it's a terrible school. With terrible everything. The campus is way too small for k-12, and the kids are mean. Kids with parents who work at the school are treated a lot better than other kids. If you want to have a good experience at FCS, you have to be in the 'circle' of kids who have parents who work at the school. If you're out of that 'circle' you're basically a nobody.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2008

Worst school ever. teachers are very nice and the education is acceptable....But, the kids there are very disrespectful and profanity is used alot; despite it being a christian school. i went there for JH and part of HS and the kids there completly diminish the education. dont make the same mistake i did. Dont go to this school. tuition is way too high and is definetly not worth it. the kids there are very discouraging and most of them pressure the christian religeon-but not in the right way. they preach but they dont practice. the academic program is exceptional but the kids there make it harder to focus on the education. this school deserves a 1 star rating entirely because of its crowd. i hate this place. if your anti-social and enjoyed being hated then this is the school for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 10, 2008

Fremont Christian School is like most schools; there are some good aspects to it, but also some bad ones. For the most part, the kids are respectful and create a positive learning environment. However, a few of the teachers are extremely bad, and your grade, no matter how good of a student you are, is bound to suffer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2008

I was overall happy with this school and the staff, up until my daughter fell behind in her academics. The school offers no support with helping children who learned differently then others keep up. They are only focused on those that progress. And instead of finding a solution to how to best teach your child they are quick to give a disability diagnose without no medical experience. Though on the other hand, I felt our child received quality care and a secured curriculm daily with prayer and bible study. They are very organized, and very welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

Best school in every category.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 44%
Asian 31%
Hispanic 13%
Black 6%
Two or more races 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of California
California State University
Varied independent universities
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Tricia Meyer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (510) 791-7672

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Open House is held the first Saturday in November and Visitors' Day is held the last Friday of February. For students in Grades K-12 who have the ability to perform at grade level can be given classroom accomodations ot minimize the impact of ADHD or dyslexia on a student's ability to show grade-level understanding. Our Elementary class size average is 20. We have recently completed a multi-million dollar building project which includes faculty housing, new classrooms and an artificial turf mini-stadium. We also provide online access to student homework and grades for all parents.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of California
California State University
Varied independent universities
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4760 Thornton Avenue
Fremont, CA 94536
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 744-2249

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT