Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fremont Christian School

Private | K-12 | 610 students

We are best known for fine arts program.

 
 

Living in Fremont

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $382,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

77 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2008

HALF of the people there are nice but the amount of knowledge the teachers teach is very little and the students progress slowly and the teachers dont care much
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2008

during my jr high years, i was miserable at fcs. the students treated me horible overall are the teachers did nothing to stop it when it was right in front of them. Also, the academics/class choices were unsatisfactory compared to public school. When i went back to public high school, i was behind even taking the hardest honors courses i could take there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2008

My child was in Ms. Isabel's Pre-K 3 year old (Rm. 5 at Preschool - Fremont Blvd Location) classroom. The aid, Ms. Cherise was excellent too. I have another child at Challenger and I have sent my older children to Montessori, and other private schools such as Merryhill. After comparing all of these schools, FCS is equal to if not better than Challenger in the preschool level. I don't know about the older grades or other teachers, but MS ISABEL is a STAR. She did wonder's for my child who didn't know much when he went to school. Ms Isabel was very warm and provided the right environment for a preschooler. Plus, the school has a good lunch program that is included in the tuition, is safe, and provides potty training. I also think that FCS is the best value for your money in preschools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

this is a great school! my teachers are nice, smart, and care about dicsipline, safety, and what we're learning.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2008

I think this is a the best school in fremont
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

This school provides my child the needed curriculum. Wisdom as applied to education is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

i like my school but the tuition is VERY high and for that price i dont think its worth it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2006

We enrolled our son for Kindergarten last year. He loves his school, loves the teachers, loves his classmates. One big plus for us is the offering of Chinese afterschool program. He also participated in Children's choir. The curriculum is good, and teachers are very much involved in making sure the children are academically aligned. This is a great school and he looks forward to returning for 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

We have three children that attend FCS. The academics are well above public school and the faculty and staff are very helpful. Teachers work very hard to communicate with parents. They have an outstanding music program K-12.Elementary has a brilliant Music teacher who knows music and kids like the back of her hand.Performances are alway top notch. She's amazing! The Jr. High and High School also have an excellent music teacher. Parental involvement is great and parents are encouraged and welcomed to volunteer. FCS is always looking for ways to improve and forever planning for the future. FCS is an excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2006

My son has been in the school since Kindergarten. The school has taught him humor, a love and tolerance of any religion, plus academics and physical fitness. The variety of after school activities is a good complement to the academics. The gradual move from a single teacher in the lower grades to multiple teachers in the sixth is a good introduction to junior high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

Our daughter has attended FCS from K to 2nd. The academic program is good at ensuring the kids learn the core subjects above their grade level while working in themes each year: farm animals, Mexico, African wildlife, space, etc. We rarely observe the principal directly, but to his credit all three years have gone consistently well for our daughter academically and socially. The Christian mission of the school shows in the way all staff interact with the kids. There are lots of school-sponsored and 3rd party extracurricular activities. There are far more than I had, but that's not useful for comparison with other schools today. They have band (from 3rd), Royal Rangers, Mad Science, IES Spanish, extra tutoring, choir (from 4th?) and several sports (from 6th?). I'm sure I omitted some. I worked in a rural-becoming-suburban public school. Parent involvement at FCS is much greater. All events have had lots attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

I think Fremont Christian school is good for kids with average intellectual ability, but not so good for kids who need more challenging education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

I beleive that the school is a very good place for kids to grow up in a great environment. Some of them going there all of their lives to them its like a second home and/or a family.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2006

This school is great. They teach alphabets and numbers to preschoolers and the environment is secure
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

My daughter has been going to Fremont Christian Preshcool for a year now. I am very happy with her teachers, their academic program, arts and crafts and music program. The kids are given a chance to prove the leadership qualities. However for both preschool and pre-K they don't have a fixed curriculum. So it depends on how good the teachers are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

I have three children in Fremont Christian School and have been very happy with the school. You can tell by looking at the publicized test scores that they have a quality academic program. They have the strongest Fine Arts program in the area. The High School choir was invited to sing at Carnegie Hall in New York two years ago and the Crystal Cathedral in Southern California last year. Every year there is a big musical production. Last year, it was 'The King and I' which featured a cast of 150 students ranging from K-12. My oldest is a Freshman this year. 95% of the graduates last year went on to college. The CSU eligibility rate was 74% (compared to the state norm of 33%) and the UC eligibility reate was 21% (compared to the state norm of 12.5%). I see a very promising future for my children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

I have 2 kids at FCS. The fees are indeed sky high when you have more than one child going to this school. However, it's been worth the investment, except that I find my younger child who's in preschool, not learning very much and her homework that she takes home and we return, never gets looked at or acknowledged. For all the effort this little child has put in, at least award a sticker on their homework sheets or something fun to make learning more challenging and rewarding. My elder child is in a very gd class and has a very organised teacher but I find that tests everyday at a lower elem school grade is a bit too much. I end up having to spend 1-2 hrs w her every single night going thru her hmwrk and preparing her for her tests;v time consuming!Stressful too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

FCS is a great Christian School for parent who is looking for a varity of activities. They have field trips for kids to explore. Good teacher and friendly environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 28, 2005

Excellent teachers that care about the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 4, 2005

My child has received a well rounded education at FCS including art, music, computers, PE, bible studies, etc. The teacher spent one-on-one time to get through some difficult issues and was genuinely concerned about our child's success and well being. The other children, and young adults that we interacted with are well mannered and considerate. They have held doors for us, said excuse me, etc. A concern we faced was a lack of security in the Kindergarten area and feeling as though our concerns were listened to, but not dealt with. Overall, FCS offers a good education and we will continue to enroll our child in FCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 26%
Hispanic 13% 52%
Black 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of California
California State University
Varied independent universities
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Tricia Meyer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (510) 791-7672

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Open House is held the first Saturday in November and Visitors' Day is held the last Friday of February. For students in Grades K-12 who have the ability to perform at grade level can be given classroom accomodations ot minimize the impact of ADHD or dyslexia on a student's ability to show grade-level understanding. Our Elementary class size average is 20. We have recently completed a multi-million dollar building project which includes faculty housing, new classrooms and an artificial turf mini-stadium. We also provide online access to student homework and grades for all parents.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of California
California State University
Varied independent universities
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4760 Thornton Avenue
Fremont, CA 94536
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 744-2267

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT