Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fremont Christian School

Private | K-12 | 610 students

We are best known for fine arts program.

 
 

Living in Fremont

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $382,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

77 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2005

Principal very approachable, helpful and caring. Office staff is helpful and caring as are the teachers. Teachers will usually respond to email questions the same or next day. Excellent performing arts(drama and music) program. Most of the students appear to want to be there with several alumni coming back to coach or teach. The sports program leave a lot to be desired. This is due partly to the small student body which reduces the athlete pool. It's also due in my opinion to a caretaker athletic director who has no imagination or goals on how to improve the athletic program or individual athlete. There are plusses to this as well in that it allows students who have never played a sport prior to high school to participate, whereas as in bigger schools they would not get the chance. Overall the plusses at this school far outweight the very few minuses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2005

Fremont Christian is a very good school. My daughter has gone there for preschool and Kindergarten. I feel she has excelled so much within the last 6 months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2005

As a teacher who has worked at other schools such as Challenger and as a parent of a Kindergarten student at FCS I find the academics to be equal or beyond those of other private schools.She has surpassed all of our expectations and her SAT scores show it.She is reading well above her grade level and can understand difficult math problems.Her teacher has gone above and beyond this year to work with us as parents and to give our daughter the extra TLC she needed as a young Kindergarten student.There are always parents helping in the class and on field trips.The extra activities (that most schools do not have) have taught her how to play various sports and the rules that go with each one, computer functions and programs, and their music program and performances are amazing.The best part-the school is truly Christian and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2005

Fremont Christian school is wonderful. It has a full program including music and technology education, spacious facilities and is well run. It also offers before and after school care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2005

Our son has been attending the Fremont Blvd. campus of the preschool for the past 2.5 years. The hours are great. The academics are so-so. It's not bad, but it's definitely not a Challenger type of curriculum. I believe the quality of the education depends on the quality of the other students and the teachers. Most of the teachers are good. Some are not as good. There are 2 to 3 teachers per class. If you're not happy with your teachers, you can request to be moved. The students are all pretty good. With good students, we believe our son learned more and was in a better learning environment. There is a good balance between academics and play/imagination. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

I Joined my son when he was 2 years old he needed extra attention from teachers but could n't get that love and attention a young child needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2005

academic program is not very good, but the teachers and environment are very good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

I had heard a lot about this school and I decided after researching to place my child here for the 3rd and 4th grades. For the amount of money they charged, I was very displeased with the level of academics and the favortism that seemed to be shown to certain children for the extracurricular activities. I ended up putting my child back in a smaller christian school where the academics are higher. She had to take the placement test over and as I suspected she was behind from being at FCS for 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2005

My daughter is in First Grade at FCS, and attended Kindergarten there as well. In her class, one teacher has 24 students. Academic education in the class is average; computer class is only 1 day per week and the qualified instructor was laid off. Security is great on the campus, and the campus is well maintained. Teachers are nice, but busy. After school programs are minimal. Mad Science and a language 1x week only. Extended care is not creative - either play ground or TV or independent activities the kids think up. No music program for first grade. PE only one day per week, no additional sports for first grade. Parent involvement not encouraged or discouraged. Involvement is more encouraged for 'religeous' activities. Much of the student body appears ultra conservative. Good community outreach programs (beyond Fremont).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2004

My son has gone to this school since 2nd grade. The second grade teacher was a disappointment, but the teachers have only gotten better since then. He is now in Fifth grade, and doing really well. We love his teacher. We like the structures atmosphere of the school. The uniform rule prevents kids from wearing offensive or gang related colors and patterns. The security is good. Except for the teacher in second grade, they are in general very open to accepting other children from other religions as long as they are willing to learn about Christianity. All cultures are respected there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

My child is just finishing Kindergarden at FCS. The scholastic achievements might be okay but it is 'how' they teach it that bothers me. Hoping for more stimulating activities than just worksheets. They need more active participation with reasoning and thinking skills. They don't have enough parents volunteering in classes and the class size was 26-22. Overall, not impressed with the kindergarden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2004

My nephew has just completed another report card period, and again has done an excellent job thanks to the guidance and support of the staff at FCS. I am often amazed at the range of his knowledge and retention and very pleased that his teachers support him and motivate him to continue growing in his education. He is currently in 6th grade and I've found the K-6th excellent to this point. I look forward to 7th grade at FCS! Can you tell I'm a very proud Uncle?


Posted January 21, 2004

Our daughter has attended Fremont Christian Preschool for 1.5 years and we've been extremely pleased with what she has learned, both academically and spiritually. We love FCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2003

This school is excellent in K-3. After that student performances seem to slip down. (Based on SAT report). School need to do something about this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2003

Fremont Christian School has not only provided the highest academic standards for my children, but has been a nuturing, supportive and safe environment for them throughtout the day as well as during after-school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2003

Two of my children attend Fremont Christian School. Both are receiving excellent educations which is reflected in the annual SAT testing. I'm pleased as a parent with their scholastic achievements and character formation, and they enjoy the school's environment. Its a win win situation for our family!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I would expect a better educational system from a private school with such a high tuition.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 44% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 31% 11%
Hispanic 13% 52%
Black 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of California
California State University
Varied independent universities
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Tricia Meyer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (510) 791-7672

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Open House is held the first Saturday in November and Visitors' Day is held the last Friday of February. For students in Grades K-12 who have the ability to perform at grade level can be given classroom accomodations ot minimize the impact of ADHD or dyslexia on a student's ability to show grade-level understanding. Our Elementary class size average is 20. We have recently completed a multi-million dollar building project which includes faculty housing, new classrooms and an artificial turf mini-stadium. We also provide online access to student homework and grades for all parents.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of California
California State University
Varied independent universities
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4760 Thornton Avenue
Fremont, CA 94536
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 744-2267

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT