Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

James Leitch Elementary School

Public | K-2 | 627 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

Fantastic school. ReallyAppreciate all the help from the teaching staff - especially Ms. Karen Downing. She is an excellent teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

This is a wonderful school with top-notch, dedicated teachers and volunteers. As parents, we are assured that our daughter is happy, safe, and progressing well here at James Leitch. My daughter is studying here at kindergarten. She has teachers who work hard to make learning fun through enrichment, and they have thrived in what I would call a joyful environment. James Leitch is a fantastic school that touches every student and challenges students at their levels. I am very pleased to have my daughter going here and feel like the staff truly cares about the students. James Leitch's high test scores are also an indication of a high-achieving student population from highly educated parents .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2013

This is an excellent school, except for one teacher. She used to complain too much about my son. Later I learned from other parents that no one liked this teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

So far so good. My daughter is a kinder gardner here. Dedicated teachers, good activities, friendly atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Fantastic school..the teachers really know in what area kids need help with. Ms.Rand and Ms.Schoenhuth are really dedicated teachers.The teachers love to have parent volunteers in their class and promptly inform parents what is happening in the classroom..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2013

The teachers and the principle poorly discipline bullies. Some teachers are impolite to the parents. It is quite difficult to communicte with them on some concerns. They seem to not truly care about the students but they ask for a lot of donations. However, the parents are a great, supportive part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2012

James Leitch is a unique and wonderful school. With grades split between Leitch and Warm Springs, Leitch only has K to 2 ( now 3rd grade as well) and that makes it a great school for little kids to start kindergarten without the intimidation of seeing so many "really big" kids. Our son went to James Leitch from K through 2nd. We have now moved to another schoold district otherwise we were planning on sending him to the 3rd grade at Leitch. All the teachers he has had (Ms. Gunawan, Mrs. Norton & Ms. Quan) have been outstanding. I had the opportunity to volunteer in the classrooms and got to observe the process and see how each child grew in their care. They were very sensitive and accomodating to the needs of each student, highly motivated and dedicated to make sure they personally knew the personality and learning style every child - even as the class sizes grew. SInce we moved, my respect for JL grows after having observed another school district - also highly acclaimed, with great teachers and better funded - yet we find that the James Leitch teachers stand head and shoulders above those we have seen anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2012

Mrs. Croft at James Leitch Elementary school is a wonderful teacher. My daughter enjoys going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

My son loves school and is excited to go! This school is not only great for academics, but also social skills, teaching to be polite and such, I just love this school and there is so much parent involvement. They are also very good about being in the forefront of technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2010

My children attend James Leitch--all the teachers that I have met are fantastic educators and really truly contribute to the development of character in the children. All the parents that I have met are like I am--I hope that my younger child has the same teachers as my older one--including the teachers in K3, Rm 18, Rm 9 and Rm 16!~
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

Leitch is a great elementary school! My son was very fortunate to be in Mrs Lorenz's 1st grade class last year. She is an outstanding teacher, extremely disciplined and highly organized. She even maintained her communication with her students after the school year ended i.e during the summer. Any parent would be lucky to have their child in her class!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

JL is a great school with great teachers and staff members. My son is lucky to be in Mrs. Croft class this year. She is a such great teacher and is willing to work with students and parents to achieve their goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Great School, I am really feel safe to let my children study here. Great and very friendly staff, principal and office staffs are very helpful and well involved in the development of the children in all aspects. Proactive programs driven by the staffs own intrest., I see them even availble after hours which shows their passion to invest on the next generation 'our children'., Good, well behaved, disciplined environment at classes, play grounds etc. I am glad I chose this school for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

Really great teachers and a nice little campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Small school great invovlement from all levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

Nice little school. Good students, great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

Great school, lots of fun as well as real learning in a good atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

Great school. Good relationship between school and parrent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

Due to a boundary change several years ago, my oldest daughter attended this school in second grade. [She] was very happy here. This school has high academic standards but in a healthy environment for the children. My [other] daughter recieved the best care at Leitch when her speech needed major improvement. She has shown such progress and I am extremely grateful. The parent participation is very high. The Music for Minors program was a great success last year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2005

A good school with good and friendly environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

959

Change from
2012 to 2013

-28

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

959

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-28

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

270 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Females87%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian89%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learner80%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females89%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learner89%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 81% 11%
White 9% 27%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

47100 Fernald Street
Fremont, CA 94539
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 657-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mills Academy
Fremont, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT