Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Fremont, CA
Students enrolled: 532
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John G. Mattos Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 06, 2015
- a parent
It is very difficult to develop these qualities in a school when you have a principle who constantly lies and is focused on herself instead of the quality teachers this school has attracted in the past. So sad, days are gone!

John G. Mattos Elementary School 1

Posted June 06, 2015
- a parent
Very poor performing principle who has driven away many of the best teachers Mattos. Families are moving their kids from this school.


John G. Mattos Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
So I am not a huge fan of the public school system in California. It is a over bloated bureaucracy that is beholden to the special interests of the teachers union and not the needs of the students. That said, Mattos is a true gem of a school. It is a smaller, old style neighborhood school where the students grow up together, head to Junior high and high school together. The current principal is a terrific leader committed to uniting her teaching team as much as she is to each individual student. She knows the students names, their dispositions, strengths and weaknesses, and treats them with respect while challenging hem to be the best students and classmates they can be. She is a wonderful leader for the school. The teaching staff this year is focused and strong! There is only one bad teacher at Mattos (a notoriously awful 2nd grade teacher), but the others are all committed, positive, strong educational guides for the students! Mattos has an AMAZING resource teacher, INCREDIBLE SDC teachers, and FABULOUS PE teacher. And the school has tons of parent volunteers and a very involved strong PTA that funds. This school is truly an excellent elementary school!

John G. Mattos Elementary School 1

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
Yet again, administration has changed. This time the focus seems to be on monetary gain, $60 for a prepackaged "deal" of school supplies. This supply list consists of single items that can be purchased in bulk at a cheaper price. Not only that, the school is now conducting future kindergarten interviews. When you ask parents what they think of it, they welcome the idea because it would attract parents with a background in science and that it would raise property value. The link I see in admitting a child with qualified parents is the higher income the person has with that type of education which is essential to raising more money. Other parents without a science background can be benefitial too. If there are docents to the music program who do not have a background in music, surely docents in science can be possible if the focus is truly educating the children about science. This is a public school that is supposedly open to all types of children. If there is an issue with funding the school, start with educating yourself about social policies. Make changes in the laws that regulate school funding, not with the background of a child's parent. Exercise your right to vote!

John G. Mattos Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
Amazing staff , excellent teaching skills and an amazing atmosphere for the kids in encouraging to learn and showcase their talents.....


John G. Mattos Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
This is the 4th elementary school I have been aquainted with and our 3rd year at Mattos. I have had a child in every grade except 1st. I am sooo pleased with the teachers and the parent involvement. My children have not experience any bullying. I am pleased with the quality of their education and all the extra curricular activities that are offered. My children are very happy at Mattos.

John G. Mattos Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
We started kindergarten this year, and in less than a month, they moved our child from an AM to a PM class. Not knowing what to expect, except hoping that it would work out for the best since ratio would be much smaller (1:21 compared to 1:30 in previous class), so far it has been good! The new teacher is resourceful and nurturing. Students seem engaged and respectful toward one another whenever I check in the classroom or observe in the playground. The new principal seems interested in interacting with parents and students. I see a lot of parent involvement at Mattos, but I hope the kindergarteners will also get some music and science lessons that they hope to introduce into the classrooms this year.

John G. Mattos Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
We are new parents. We have heard other parents; that the school and the teachers and especially in the science are very good. Thank you,


John G. Mattos Elementary School 1

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
Not real impressed with the way the school handles conflict. Bullying has been an issue.

John G. Mattos Elementary School 1

Posted August 09, 2013
- a community member
Until this school year, 2013-2014, the Science Magnet program has been non existent. The district has used the title of a science magnet school to increase its attendance. Mattos was slated to be closed due to low enrollment numbers. There simply are not enough families with school age children in the immediate attendance area to maintain it. With a majority of its students residing throughout Fremont you would think the school would embrace being a citywide school. Instead parents and some long time staffers have steadfastly clung to the past and hold on to outdated traditions and values. Mattos is very much a "neighborhood only" type of school, with many parents with "neighborhood only" attitudes. The school has had three principals in the past 3 school years. It has a way to go to bring it in line with current times. Fortunately hope is not lost. Mattos newest principal promises to be its best yet. I'm holding on to the hope that Mattos will rise above during this school year and truly become the school it wants to and claims to be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John G. Mattos Elementary School
37944 Farwell Drive, Fremont, CA  94536
(510) 793-1359
Last modified John G. Mattos Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John G. Mattos Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. Top