Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

532 students|Fremont Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 84 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John G. Mattos Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 30, 2015
- a student
Some of the teachers that are left do try their best, but some don't including the Principal.

John G. Mattos Elementary School 3

Posted November 30, 2015
- a student
The school is not what is used to be. We have so many great teachers and great families who helped the school a lot with their own time had left the school in one school because of the principal. Parents, teachers, and students used to be able to interact with each other more freely, but not anymore. It is no longer a tight and happy community. Kids are even controlled on who and where they sit to have lunch. Believe it or not the principal is still there even with all the complaints to Fremont Unified School District. I was informed by so many that the reason why she is still there because she is close friends to the Superintend's wife. Wow!!! So many to mentioned but it might take me way too long to mentioned it all. Very sad...


John G. Mattos Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children have gone to this school and it is parent involvement and solid teaching that help make it the success it is today. The science magnet headed and run by parents continues to be unique to Mattos, and with its continuing evolution gives our kids an edge that they will need in this globally competitive environment.

John G. Mattos Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 06, 2015
- a parent
It is very difficult to develop these qualities in a school when you have a principle who constantly lies and is focused on herself instead of the quality teachers this school has attracted in the past. So sad, days are gone!

John G. Mattos Elementary School 1

Posted June 06, 2015
- a parent
Very poor performing principle who has driven away many of the best teachers Mattos. Families are moving their kids from this school.


John G. Mattos Elementary School 5

Posted September 13, 2014
- a parent
So I am not a huge fan of the public school system in California. It is a over bloated bureaucracy that is beholden to the special interests of the teachers union and not the needs of the students. That said, Mattos is a true gem of a school. It is a smaller, old style neighborhood school where the students grow up together, head to Junior high and high school together. The current principal is a terrific leader committed to uniting her teaching team as much as she is to each individual student. She knows the students names, their dispositions, strengths and weaknesses, and treats them with respect while challenging hem to be the best students and classmates they can be. She is a wonderful leader for the school. The teaching staff this year is focused and strong! There is only one bad teacher at Mattos (a notoriously awful 2nd grade teacher), but the others are all committed, positive, strong educational guides for the students! Mattos has an AMAZING resource teacher, INCREDIBLE SDC teachers, and FABULOUS PE teacher. And the school has tons of parent volunteers and a very involved strong PTA that funds. This school is truly an excellent elementary school!

John G. Mattos Elementary School 1

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
Yet again, administration has changed. This time the focus seems to be on monetary gain, $60 for a prepackaged "deal" of school supplies. This supply list consists of single items that can be purchased in bulk at a cheaper price. Not only that, the school is now conducting future kindergarten interviews. When you ask parents what they think of it, they welcome the idea because it would attract parents with a background in science and that it would raise property value. The link I see in admitting a child with qualified parents is the higher income the person has with that type of education which is essential to raising more money. Other parents without a science background can be benefitial too. If there are docents to the music program who do not have a background in music, surely docents in science can be possible if the focus is truly educating the children about science. This is a public school that is supposedly open to all types of children. If there is an issue with funding the school, start with educating yourself about social policies. Make changes in the laws that regulate school funding, not with the background of a child's parent. Exercise your right to vote!

John G. Mattos Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
Amazing staff , excellent teaching skills and an amazing atmosphere for the kids in encouraging to learn and showcase their talents.....


John G. Mattos Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
This is the 4th elementary school I have been aquainted with and our 3rd year at Mattos. I have had a child in every grade except 1st. I am sooo pleased with the teachers and the parent involvement. My children have not experience any bullying. I am pleased with the quality of their education and all the extra curricular activities that are offered. My children are very happy at Mattos.

John G. Mattos Elementary School 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
We started kindergarten this year, and in less than a month, they moved our child from an AM to a PM class. Not knowing what to expect, except hoping that it would work out for the best since ratio would be much smaller (1:21 compared to 1:30 in previous class), so far it has been good! The new teacher is resourceful and nurturing. Students seem engaged and respectful toward one another whenever I check in the classroom or observe in the playground. The new principal seems interested in interacting with parents and students. I see a lot of parent involvement at Mattos, but I hope the kindergarteners will also get some music and science lessons that they hope to introduce into the classrooms this year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John G. Mattos Elementary School
37944 Farwell Drive, Fremont, CA  94536-7008
(510) 793-1359
Last modified John G. Mattos Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John G. Mattos Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 84 reviews. Top