Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Fremont, CA
Students enrolled: 720
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 44 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


49 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mission Valley Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
I loved how this school was predominantly minority. We moved in from another state and had no idea what to expect. The office staff were and have always been extremely helpful and kind to us. My kids blossomed during their time at this school. The biggest con is the registration process. What a pain!! They want everything and the kitchen sink before they allow entry, EVERY SINGLE YEAR! I have seen 3 different principals in 3 years. Not sure of the significance of that but it makes you wonder. Involved parents are sure to see their kids thrive especially if the kids have any special needs.

Mission Valley Elementary School 5

Posted July 13, 2014
- a parent
I have children that have attended Mission Valley for the last 7 years. We have definitely seen a noticeable improvement in the atmosphere as a result of changes to the school principal in 2012. Principal Randolph has created a collaborative environment between teachers, administrators, and parents. The parent group (MVSA) has taken on more community-building activities. The teachers are also much happier with the support they receive from the office. All of these things combine to create an even better learning environment for our children. Go Beavers!


Mission Valley Elementary School 3

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
1) The students are good, due to the families and parents' effort. 2) The school has programs like bands, basketball teams open to all 4th graders and above. 3) Teachers need to improve their skills to deal with talented kids, to develop their leadership, speech, and global views.

Mission Valley Elementary School 1

Posted April 14, 2014
- a teacher
This school has horrible, negative write-up system that placing a great stress on young students which is harmful on their mental health. I agree the write-up system should go away. And the sad thing is there are politics among the school teaches. I have to say we need more young teachers in this school.

Mission Valley Elementary School 3

Posted June 15, 2013
- a parent
Office Clerks are one of the worst I've ever seen. Rude, sarcastic, condescending, terrible attitude. The school itself has some good teachers and some mediocre teachers. My kid were fortunate to have had good teachers. Main reason for the high scores is because Parents with high interest in academics flock to this location. Again, be aware of the office clerks. 4 Stars for the school 1 star for the front office.


Mission Valley Elementary School 1

Posted April 24, 2013
- a parent
There are a number of problems at this school. Many of the good reviews are by home-owners trying to prop up their home values. A number of teachers at this school have been around for a long time and are very lazy. They will not go even one tiny bit over the required curricula - because that will be "extra work". They can afford to be lazy because the asian students (the major component of this school), learn lot more from "coaching" type classes outside of school. Take out the asian students out and you will find the "true score" for this school - Caucasians, Latino's and other races - that typically don't have a culture of after school coaching, all do rather miserably at this school. Many of the incoming kids at the school, already know stuff that is going to be taught to them in class. These kids pretty much get taught nothing by the teacher - in a class of say 30 students - if 15 of them already know what is to be taught for the next 6 months, the teacher effectively now only needs to teach 15 - since 15 of them already know their p's and q's. The teachers absolutely don't do anythng to involve the 15 who are ahead and bored. Reached word limit - so can't tell you more..

Mission Valley Elementary School 2

Posted May 12, 2012
- a community member
My kids used to go here. Horrible, horrible, horrible front office, attendance clerk always rude. Why can't she get a write-up?

Mission Valley Elementary School 5

Posted May 02, 2011
- a parent
Mission Valley is one of the most truly caring places for children to learn. The teacher enjoy teaching and want your child to get the best education possible. Yes there is a write up system but it has taught my children to be responsible and do all of their homework. I have had may childcare children also attend Mission Valley and we all agree that it is a wonderful place to learn. Most of the complaints come from parents who want to control the teachers instead of letting them do their jobs. It has been a excellant choice for my children.


Mission Valley Elementary School 1

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
If you enjoy fighting with administrators and staff, then this is the school for you.

Mission Valley Elementary School 3

Posted October 19, 2009
- a parent
We left Mission Valley for a number of reasons. 1) The write up system causes stress and headaches. 2) Some teachers were more negative than positive. 3) A teacher said to see the principal and the principal said to see the teacher. 4) Others schools do not have the write up system.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mission Valley Elementary School
41700 Denise Street, Fremont, CA  94539
(510) 656-2000
Last modified Mission Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mission Valley Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. Top