Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

606 students|Fremont Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 65 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Niles Elementary School 5

Posted December 27, 2015
- a community member
teachers are great, and recently the entire community helped a teacher when she was in need. It showed great care for each other.

Niles Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
Same gripe as before - if a child is identified as gifted, s/he should receive more accelerated work and more challenge. This didn't happen for either of my kids, from any teacher.


Niles Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
Not Enough may not be the correct answer, but based on my earlier response, my children were both identified as gifted and the work assigned was never a challenge. Not Enough should read Not Challenging Enough.

Niles Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
This is a school that sees a minimum of vandalism and graffiti. It's very clean and well kept, partially due to the janitor, but also because the kids respect the school.

Niles Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
As I'm sure everyone does, my children had a couple of not so great interactions with other kids. The administration was fair and encouraged the kids to work it out among themselves, with adult moderation. I appreciated this because I think part of being in school is that the child learns to resolve problems.


Niles Elementary School 4

Posted August 21, 2015
- a parent
Both my daughter and son attended Niles Elementary. My daughter started in the 2nd grade, when we moved back to Fremont, and my son attended K-6. Aside from being the local public school and being convenient to where I live, I would recommend Niles to parents who want their kids to be taught by teachers who care about their job and go the extra mile. And also have friends of many different ethnic backgrounds. My children are mixed-race and always fit in. I read the recent comments about Niles from some parents - maybe a single disgruntled parent? - and I never experienced any of the issues they mention. The office staff were engaged and friendly and the principal was fair and accessible. There are two main reasons I didn't rate Niles five stars. First, there are a lot of helicopter parents at the school - maybe this is common everywhere? - but I thought this was annoying. Second, for very bright children there isn't any real effort made to challenge them. There was no special curriculum. This may be a district or state issue - I don't know, but when a child is identified as "gifted" one would think that s/he would be slotted into accelerated programs. Instead, my children both ended up being tutors for kids who were slower. Good experience (I guess) for them and it doesn't appear to have affected them adversely (one goes to Cal, the other is looking at MIT). Anyway, long story short, Niles is a great community and the elementary school is a great way to get integrated. There are many parents who care and parental involvement in the school and classroom is high.

Niles Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
Great school and great environment. The activities done and keeps the students engaged which is the hallmark of a good school.

Niles Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 27, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers and care, very satisfied. Been improving a lot. I would definitely recommend this school.


Niles Elementary School 1

Posted October 13, 2014
- a parent
teachers are condescending towards students and parents. Don't take responsibility and forget that they are teaching children and not adults. Homework assignments are unrelated to the common core curriculum.

Niles Elementary School 1

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
A good school to be in if you are only interested in grades. I have two daughters in this school, and they did very well. However, I always felt something was amiss. They didn't appear to be extremely happy, but they didn't complain. Eventually, I had the bitter taste of unpleasant experiences as well. The principle is passive, and had displayed lack of professionalism in issues that was brought up. Encountered favoritism, and condescending comments in school projects. The sincerity, warmth, and graciousness is definitely lacking within the school environment. My youngest daughter was fortunate to have left this school for another in Fremont. She beams with happiness now! And her grades is as good if not the same as before. As for me, I walked into the new school, and I feel a sense of belonging finally. Having said all that, I hope that Niles will persevere to improve in the humanity aspect, and not always striving to be academically excellent only. We want our children to be well-rounded, don't we?

Nearby schools

Niles Elementary School
37141 Second Street, Fremont, CA  94536-2835
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 65 reviews. (510) 793-1141
Last modified Niles Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top