Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

646 students|Fremont Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 72 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oliveira Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
My child joined last kindergarten after spending sometime at Forest Park. What a world of difference in attitudes of staff and teachers. I was upset at the rude manner the forest park office staff spoke to the parents At Oliveira, from the get go the office staff is friendly, polite and concerned for the kids. The Principal is always around and has an open door policy and always stops to say hello to the kids and parents. He doesn't hesitate discussing a concern wherever you stand. If there is a followup he asks to come to his office. The teachers range from years of experience to new grads being mentored. They plan their course material and do send homework as per the age of the child. They offer extra help to some kids who need it for reading and math. The balance of study and physical ed ensures the kids get out often enough. There are monthly kid events thats fun. I like Oliveira and would recommend it.

Oliveira Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
Its important to understand each child's strengths and offer the right solution to help overcome it rather than put it on the parents. Teachers so far have taken time to understand the kids and give them the encouragement they need.


Oliveira Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted October 05, 2015
- a parent
They have themes of honesty, integrity, caring and other values that they inculcate on a monthly basis where the kids practice that value and see its application in the real world.

Oliveira Elementary School 4

Posted February 13, 2015
- a parent
Oliveira is a decent school. I've had my up-and-downs. There is a new principal. I'm hoping that will create an improvement soon on how important matters are handled from admin. In the past, it has been all talk, no action. I would like to see petty issues have less focus and more attention on critical matters. Mostly though, I decided to rate the school because of the office staff. The secretary has been there as long as my kids have been attending (I have one in High School). I want to say...She is the most amazing & generous person in the entire school. She treats every child as a priority (as she should) and she truly cares. If she is ever stern, it's because she probably needs to be to get people to listen and act. She has the best interest of the child at heart. I have never seen her have ill will toward anyone. If she said, "That's probably a good thing", she probably has a genuinely reason. I'd rather she tell me what I need to hear (and she has) rather than be phony, overly-pleasant, and talk behind my back. This woman has a kind heart, integrity, is hard-working and underappreciated. For her alone...5 stars!!!

Oliveira Elementary School 4

Posted February 12, 2015
- a parent
My son has been going to school since Kindergarten. It's a great school with great teachers! Yesterday I wasn't too fond of the office staff on how she treated me as a parent. Time of the year to turn in Reservation Form for school year 2015-2016. I came in without anything to verify residency because we are planning to move next month. Still, I had to show proof or residency (uh didn't I show proof last year?) When she asked where we were moving to, she said "oh that's probably a good thing." Did that mean she no longer wanted us to be in that school? It's not like my son is a bad student at all. He's a good kid and we've been very good with the school donations and activities. I just don't get where that attitude comes from. It's a school, you deal with kids- be happy!


Oliveira Elementary School 5

Posted September 08, 2014
- a parent
So far I feel like we have been blessed. My daughter who is in special ed and is high functioning Autistic, has never done so well in a school. She was in the Hayward school district K-3 and every year a struggle. She loves her teacher Cynthia Foulkes and her classmates. Her behavior has improved greatly. So glad we Now are in this school and district.

Oliveira Elementary School 3

Posted August 17, 2014
- a parent
Most of the teachers at this school are really great and genuinely care about the students. I have had terrific experiences with multiple teachers in 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 6th grade. Unfortunately, there really isn't a good option for fifth grade teachers - one doesn't seem to care and is occasionally mean, while the other is critical to the point of being harsh. Fortunately, this is only one grade. The sixth grade teachers are both so engaged and although their styles are a little different from each other, they complement each other very well. Their standards are high, but they make the curriculum fun for the students. The parent community is very engaged and the Principal has a good relationship with the parents. She knows each student by name and understands their needs and strengths. There are a lot of extra-curricular activities for the kids and parents are involved in many of them. It's a great place to feel like you belong to the community.

Oliveira Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
the school environment is very good and the teacher themselves were very nice ,i rate this school one of the best elementary in fremont ,


Oliveira Elementary School 3

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
Over all school is good....I am disappointed that this year that the teacher my child has is not bothering to reply to emails. At Open House parents were told that there would be responses to email anc concerns...Well so far it has been three days and no response. Other teachers my children have had there has always been quick response with in few hours. This year really disappointing. Hope things get better as year progresses.

Oliveira Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Good Academic school with nice teacer & staff. Principal also so active & coperative in school activity. Excellent curicullam. Excellent and clean school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oliveira Elementary School
4180 Alder Avenue, Fremont, CA  94536-4799
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 72 reviews. (510) 797-1135
Last modified Oliveira Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top