Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Fresno, CA
Students enrolled: 793
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rio Vista Middle School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
One of the only middle schools in the Fresno area that I'm comfortable with my children attending. The teachers are excellent and there are parents around on a regular basis actually involved with the lives of their children. Several of the other schools we looked at made me nervous to even be on the grounds. This one seemed like a normal "middle America" school instead of an urban jungle like many others.

Rio Vista Middle School 3

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
Overall the schools grounds have always stayed clean an up to date. I was a parent volunteer for three years and I say the staff does there best with the supplies and lesson plans that they have. As for student conduct, class sizes are 30 plus or more with jealousy, kids clicks and racial division, lots of kids are bussed in from other areas, which may be hard for kids to adjust. Many childish fights occur as a result but are quickly resolved. Teachers change thru out the school district every year as do principals so building a strong foundation for the children to admire is impossible. Thus children offer less respect for staff and parent volunteers. This school will soon follow the guidelines of a lock down facility to run at an even pace.


Rio Vista Middle School 3

Posted September 01, 2011
- a community member
rio vista was an alright school i kind of enjoyed it over their but it had its ups and downs like somedays there would be fights and everybody would run at them like some show but there are some really great teachers overall i rate it a 6/10

Rio Vista Middle School 4

Posted May 04, 2010
- a student
I curretly go to this school and I'm in 8th grade it's a good school.. We are undefeated in a lot of sports. There are certain teachers that don't teach good but the rest are good Mr. Lamb is a good science teacher. There can be fights some days and all the kids run to it which is funny.

Rio Vista Middle School 5

Posted April 22, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Rio Vista Middle School 5

Posted December 14, 2008
- a student
Rio vista was the best school ever. It gives alot of great electives and the teachers were excellent and made it fun to ler. The sports were great mostly all undefeated when I went there I would love to go back to this campus as a student again.C/o2008!

Rio Vista Middle School 5

Posted October 15, 2008
- a student
i went to school here i loved it the teachers make learning a fun experience. the sports were pretty good when i went there. i loved going here

Rio Vista Middle School 5

Posted May 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Rio Vista Middle School 1

Posted April 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Rio Vista Middle School 5

Posted September 11, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rio Vista Middle School
6240 West Palo Alto, Fresno, CA  93722
(559) 276-3185
Last modified Rio Vista Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rio Vista Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top