Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Akira Yokomi Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Yes. They talk to the students with respect and allow them to try to solve their own problems. I always hear them encourage them and make them feel special

Akira Yokomi Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
When my childs grandmother passed away, the school took initiative to get her into school counseling. They also did the same when her best friend tragically passed away. They even gave me support services for myself. They are a caring school. They care about their students and families.


Akira Yokomi Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Whenever there are situations, i am always notified. The school is not in the best neighborhood, but the staff makes sure every child is safe and accounted for. The school is a gem.

Akira Yokomi Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Staff are friendly, caring and handle situations professionally. You can tell they all care about the students. Its a family atmosphere.

Akira Yokomi Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
I want to say thank you and let Mr Telle know how grateful Yokomi is to have a principal such as you. The way you greet every child by name and make them feel special is amazing. I feel the way to successfully engage children in learning begins with an inviting environment, in which you create. My child loves coming to school; she loves being part of the Yokomi Family. Thank you for encouraging not only my child, but all of the children. You always have something positive to say to each child and genuinely care about their well being. Thank you for making sure my child was emotionally ok when my mother and her best friend passed away... And thank you for checking on me! A family is only as good as its leader... Yokomi is one great family!


Akira Yokomi Elementary School 2

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
I agree with another parent not much activities in the school. Their science is the best part of the school. My son receives special ed services and the teacher seem very lazy and doesn't have the heart in teaching. Seriously thinking of removing him.

Akira Yokomi Elementary School 3

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
This school is in a horrible neighborhood. it often goes on lock down because of the crime surrounded by the campus. Although the school offers science daily there was nothing different than any other school. The vice principle is very rude and mean with the children. My sons teacher would never return my calls or emails. I had to get the principle involved.

Akira Yokomi Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 28, 2015
- a parent
I had a complaint to the principle and he told me he would look into my issue. After several email request for a update he never returned my emails.


Akira Yokomi Elementary School 5

Posted June 13, 2014
- a parent
I have two children at Yokomi one going into fourth and one going into first. Both of my children started with Yokomi in Kinder. We have been extremely happy at Yokomi. All of the teachers are amazing and engaging. My son has grown so much and has found a love for science that is so important. The way the teachers team teach is incredible. I have never in 4 years had a single problem with contacting a teacher and having any concerns of mine go unanswered. I my be bias since I have been a PTA board member for 4 years. Two of which I was the president. I have to say that Yokomi is only a ten year old school and when my oldest started there 4 years ago there was not a strong PTA. With any a year of rebuilding the PTA we were able to crest a stronger board and a larger parent following. Over the past four years we have grown and we do many fundraisers and community events. Our monthly new letter is very informative as well as our Facebook page.

Akira Yokomi Elementary School 1

Posted June 12, 2014
- a community member
The special ed staff was horrible. I had to take my child out of the school because i could not get the accommodations my child needed. After fighting with them for 2 years i finally decided to take both my children out of the school. It was the best decision i made.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Akira Yokomi Elementary School
2323 East Mckenzie, Fresno, CA  93701-2221
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (559) 457-6140
Last modified Akira Yokomi Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top