Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morris E. Dailey Charter Elementary School

Charter | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2014

As a parent who has 2 children that have been attending Dailey Charter since opening, I can honestly tell you this is one of the best schools in Fresno. This charter school in only 1 of 2 schools in ALL of Fresno that was awarded The California Distinguished Schools Award for its excellent academic standards. The low reviews given to this school take with a grain of salt. This is the ONLY IB ( International Baccalaureate ) elementary school in Fresno for a reason. These parents cry their kid was awesome in "regular", then bring their kid here and find they cant keep up. They are right Dailey doesn't provide all the tutors and after school mentoring. Its a fasted pace school and children cant afford to fall behind. The ones that do, their parents realize that "regular" school probably thrie best bet. Not all kids are IB material. This isn't the place if you are looking for an easy ride. Here at Dailey Charter your kids will get not only the academic growth needed but the personal growth as well. They foster an environment which includes attributes that make your child not only a scholar but a great human being. All and all, Dailey has great staff and is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2014

This is a small elitist school that doesn't reflect the multicultural and differently abled world we live in. We found too many stressed out kids,stressed out teachers and desperate parents who thought their children had ADHD because they didn't fit into mould. Not enough creativity, too much emphasis on letter grades, extra long school day, lots of homework, left us not enough quality family time on weekdays. The administration can be mean spirited when challenged and Looking for a happier, healthy balance for our darlings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

As the saying goes, sometimes you don't know what you have until you've lost it. That is exactly how my 1st grader and I are feeling at the moment after I did not re-enroll my son at Dailey and enrolled him at a highly rated Clovis school for first grade! I knew that Dailey Charter was leaps and bounds better than the Fresno Public school my son would have attended for kinder but because of their reputations I was under the assumption that Clovis schools would be about on par with Dailey......I couldn't have been more wrong! The work he is doing as a first grader at this Clovis school is sad in comparison to what he was accomplishing and learning at Dailey. He is literally doing work that he was doing halfway through his Kinder year at Dailey!!! At back to school night we learned they would not be learning clocks or money, which he already learned in Kinder!! Also, I had great communication with my son's Kinder teacher at Dailey and she was extremely responsive via email but unfortunately we are not seeing the same level of communication currently. I can not wait to re-enroll my son at Dailey, but am going to basically do another lesson plan at home everyday to keep him up to speed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

I love Dailey my daughter has gone there since day one. She was getting bored in class so they tested her and started giving her classwork of the next grade up. To challange her and she still kept up on everything. I do agree on one persons review they should test students to see if they qualify for an advanced school cuz I had a family member whose kid did go here should've stayed at a regular school. That way they don't feel bad when everyone is getting 100% and advanced on star testing and they are failing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

My son will be starting his third year at Dailey on Monday. We LOVE this school. The teachers are enthusiastic and friendly. There in NO teacher burn-out here! My son has some anxiety issues, especially in social settings, and Dailey has been wonderful for this. He is now very comfortable speaking in front of an entire class of students, which is amazing. The curriculum is advanced. Students are typically taught about one grade level higher. His K teacher admitted that when she taught in a public school, the students were done a disservice because the teachers didn't even attempt to teach advanced concepts. I find that with Dailey's creative curriculum, the work never feels rote or prescribed. The students get to explore many topics AND they get to come up with creative ways to implement what they have learned. With regards to the people below who stated that the staff and teachers are unfriendly or unresponsive - this could not be more inaccurate. The principal/director greets every kid by name! Emails to my son's teachers were always responded to by end of day. And parents are definitely encouraged to help out ON CAMPUS by volunteering in the classroom and at events! LOVE Dailey!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

I am extremely pleased with my families experiance so far at Dailey. My son will be in the second grade next year. He LOVES school, thanks to the amazing staff and students at Dailey. I have had no problems with this school. The teachers and staff are great. My son is getting one of if not the best education offered in Fresno. The campus is very safe and I feel confident that my son is being well educated and watched over when he his at school. I would recommend Dailey! Dailey Charter is an amazing school and worth driving out of my way every morning :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

We are disappointed by the practices at Dailey Charter School and hoped for more in IB PYP. This is a public charter school and any child is eligible to attend. This is not a school for gifted learners and there is no test to get in, but administration will discourage English Learners and students with disbilities from applying by saying the program is accelerated. The truth is Dailey Charter is no more accelerated than the rest of FUSD grade level standards are finished early so students are ready for CST. Daileystudents are given way too much test prep throughout the year. The teaching staff is mostly white, female and inexperienced.. Not one teacher has their own school aged children, so they don't understand what a hectic family life is like and seem callous when assigning homework. The teachers have PE on their daily schedules but it's rare that classes actually go out for PE instruction. When issues arise, the administration is defensive.No additional support is given to students who need it and instead families are encouraged to leave the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

We found Dailey to be an exceptional public school alternative in Fresno. Our daughter went there for 1.5 years and loved it. The staff is exceptional - they all work together to provide a safe and challenging environment. The school day is long, but the activities are varied and meaningful. Students are taught character traits and then the teachers and principal reinforce that teaching. ALL kids are accepted and celebrated. Chronic misbehavior is not allowed to disrupt the learning process. The teachers work extremely hard to meet the needs of their students. We have moved from Fresno, and have realized (again) what a unique school Dailey is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

After 6 wks we are very satisfied with Dailey and our daughter's 1st grade teacher. As we expected and were told during school tour, the curriculum is challenging and school days are long, 745am-345pm. It involves: - lots of writing in class - weekly spelling tests: 10-15 words - 6-pages of homework a night: math, comprehension, writing - nightly reading req of 30-mins - home projects (occasional) with verbal presentation Every morning we park 1/2 block from school (no on-site parking) and walk/hop past 2-4 staff members on safety duty. We sit with our daughter as she eats breakfast in the cafeteria, then we walk to the blacktop and stand in line with other kids of her class. Many teachers are out greeting the parents & kids with smiles (sometimes hugs), at 745 teachers escort kids to class. Each day includes 3 short recesses and a lunch. Thru-out the week the kids attend specialty classes: PE, Art, Music, Spanish. At day's end, we wait at one of the 3 pick-up areas to meet our daughter who is released only after safety staff has positively identified the parent. Clearly, we're impressed with Dailey and our child's teacher. Even our daughter says Dailey is, "Awesome!".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

Ha! To the person who wrote below. Hamilton is an IB school. I just disenrolled my two sons from Dailey this week. We live across the street on Michigan. Charter schools do not have what other schools have to offer. No gate programs and they do not move up a student if they are ahead of grade level. My 1st grade son was so bore and was pushed around on the playground. Kids put their fingers in his nose. He use to love school and became bore and disenchanted with school. My kindergarten fought me after week one to go back. They started Hamiliton this week and guess what, what a change in behavior. Hamilton is a magnet school like Bullard Talent and other FUSD magnet school. They don't enroll anyone and you have to be on a lottery to be accept, just like Dailey. A girl in my son's 1st grade class lives all the way in clovis dry creek distrist and her dad brings her to Hamilton everyday. That should say something for FUSD. Yes, they do have an IB program. I'm glad I wasn't alone in disenrolling my two sons from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

We love Dailey! Obviously, the person who posted last doesn't know what they are talking about. Dailey is a charter, but from our interactions with staff and teachers, none of them are "dissatisfied" - actually, it seems the opposite! We are always met with a smile when we arrive and the staff know all the kids by name. It sounds like the person my not have correct facts; Hamilton is not an IB school. We felt so blessed when a spot opened up last year and we were able to get our kids into Dailey! Our family would never go back to a district school - we are Dragons for life!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

I heard great things about Dailey and before we were enrolled staff was friendly. As soon as school started, things changed. Charters are run exceptionally well and others are not. Some were closed down due to low test scores. They reopened as a charter school to save the jobs of staff and teachers. The first day my child brought home testing material for the GLAS test. They are "teaching the tests" Parents are not allowed to be on campus or walk their child to class. Child must be escorted to their room. Parents have to wait on the opposite side of the street. Dailey also checks kids lunches and searches their bags. Teachers are not a problem. Office staff is incredibly rude and favor kids. We disenrolled imediately. Academically, Dailey is no different than any other school. The IB program was adopted by Fresno high/Hamilton. Dailey emulates that program in order to run. It turns out that when it comes down to it, some charters perform exceptionally well, some perform exceptionally poorly, and some many don't actually look that different than traditional public schools, such as Dailey. Some charters were formed by dissatisfied staff or low test scores, like Dailey had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2012

My child just started at Dailey this week in the 1st grade. We love it!!! The program and expectations were explained in detail to us with a tour before school started. The staff is warm and friendly and truly seems to care about the students. The program is challenging - they have already started writing and learning new concepts. My child was so excited to share what she has been learning in just the first few days. I have met some of the new and returning parents and they are very happy with the education their children is receiving at Dailey. The office staff is visible on campus and always willing to take the time to your answer questions. I love the fact that the focus is on academics and our children's safety. This is going to be the great year !!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

My son was a third grader at Dailey, I pulled him out as he quickly became disenchanted with school. He has always loved to go to school but this was NOT the case with Dailey. Parents are not welcome on the campus, teachers and the principal are not friendly or even slightly kind. For homework my son was bringing home testing materials. They spent endless hrs on test preparation, it's no wonder their test scores are high they teach the stupid test and this is their #1 priority. Thank God I pulled him out he is now getting a quality education and loves school again. If you're looking for a good school, look at Baird or Bullard Talent. Dailey is not child or parent friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

My son attended Kindergarten here until we moved him back to public schools. I was so excited about the great things I heard about Dailey, from friends and teachers in the community. My personal experience was terrible. Yes, they have rigorous standards, and I'm all for that. However, the teacher was repeatedly dismissive of my questions and did not return phone calls on more than one occasion. The principal was rude and made it clear that parents were not welcome on campus. She said, "we know what we are doing, so get our of our way and let us do our job." That is a direct quote. During back to school night the teachers seemed clicky and catty to each other. It is unfortunate to me that this school was given a chance to be anything that it wanted to be and they decided to become a mock Clovis school...drill, drill, drill. The biggest problem I had with Dailey is that they staff seemed mean and cold, especially a problem during the first few weeks of kindergarten. My son had a very negative view of school due to the attitude of the staff. They will say its all in the interest of high standards but having kids who don't like school is not an appropriate cost of high standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

I have one child attending the 4th grade at Dailey Elementary Charter. I visited 4 schools in my area --public and private -- before deciding on this one. As a charter school, the teachers still teach to the CA state standards, but have much more flexibility in the way they teach. The IB curriculum and emphasis of this school exposes all students to inquiry based learning in music, world views, foreign language, PE and art. Some of the exposure is direct and some is embedded as a way to convey curriculum content. The IB curriculum is both challenging and rigorous. Not for the faint of heart. I feel the extra 2 hours a day of class time is a benefit and allows my child more learning and not pressed to have to memorize to the test. The principal founded this school one year ago and has the vision, energy and enthusiasm to make it extraordinary. Her qualified staff is energetic and creative. The student population is diverse and the parents are very active in keeping the school going and thriving. Dailey has provided my child with exciting learning opportunities which I don't think he would have found at the typical public or private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

952

Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

952

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+2

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females97%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to state81%

Math

All Students92%
Females97%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to state88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Females83%
Males85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)89%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state83%

Math

All Students89%
Females86%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)89%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Females83%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females89%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students79%
Females78%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 48%
White 34%
Black 8%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/AN/A
English language learners 7%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 69%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Dance teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Melissa Dutra
Fax number
  • (559) 227-5530

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3135 North Harrison Avenue
Fresno, CA 93704
Website: Click here
Phone: (559) 248-7060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT