Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Fresno, CA
Students enrolled: 2,249
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Clovis West High School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a student
C DUB is awesome in their academics, athletics, and visual arts. i personally believe that the sports are not to demanding but competitive at the same time. i personally believe that the band and color guard are the best in the nation and are very competitive but in a healthy way. over all totally amazing school.
1 person found this helpful

Clovis West High School 5

Posted June 08, 2014
- a student
Clovis West High School is a very competitive school, but always rewards those who dedicate themselves instead of giving up. The teachers here are very characteristic. Sometimes that can be a bad thing, but is mostly a good thing. Athletics is not forced upon students, and in no way are students "dissed" for not competing. If anything, there is only encouragement from friendly team members. In all sports, students will be pushed to their very limits (if they are willing) and will be taught discipline and respect. They will also learn to work hard and cooperate with other teammates to achieve a larger goal. But in order to stay in a sport, you must have a minimal of a 2.0 GPA (which is very fair). There is also an exceptional art program where several students will be taught how to hone their creative skills, and maybe show off their talent. For the other students who are both physically and creatively untalented, there is a strong AP program going on with some of the best teachers in the state. Depending on your talents, the teachers will go out of their way to promote your reputation in the professional world, especially the coaches. Free-thinking with discipline is also promoted.
1 person found this helpful


Clovis West High School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
My child recently started at Clovis West. We are from another country originally and before Clovis West she attended a school in San Francisco for a few months. We are so impressed with Clovis West. The teachers and students are very friendly and helpful. Many people warned us saying that your child is nothing unless they perform exceptionally well in sport. This is so untrue because Clovis West is really good academically too. My child has never been happier in any other school and I think that say a lot about the school. It normally is really difficult for a teenager to relocate countries as well as change schools. Thank you Clovis West for making it easy for us.
2 people found this helpful

Clovis West High School 5

Posted January 19, 2014
- a parent
My daughter was well accepted by the children. She started as student during her Junior year. The teachers are very helpful and she is able to communicate with them freely when she has a problem. The councellars are not great. They do not respond to their emails and are not on top of things.
1 person found this helpful

Clovis West High School 1

Posted December 03, 2013
- a student
This school deserves one star i'm a Senior and this school is just flat terrible some of the teachers/ staffs will treat you like a animal, some will stereotype you, and they also show a poor sorry excuse conducting themselves as teachers including other staff and this school is straight up Anti-Military because i hardly see any recruiters of all branches visiting and recruiting. The Dress Code is ridiculous its to the point where they make such a BIG deal about every little thing students wear, even the future " 31 flavors " they sometimes get away with it. Also unlike most high schools in the USA have JROTC this school doesn't have JROTC but they sure love to make lots of donations and be very loyal to there Athletics and Band as if they're hopped up on pixie sticks. Also the morning announcements they love to boast about the sports which most students really don't care expect the athletes. Also i forgot to mention that this school is much of a Socialism school you don't have much freedom. They also have no respect of privacy once they get a hold of your phone they might want to look through it and be nosey and might even search your backpack if you been profiled.
1 person found this helpful


Clovis West High School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a student
Yes, Clovis Unified has always thrown money at athletics, but that is because we strive to be the best in everything. Many of the students in our athletic programs go on to get major scholarships with huge schools. So yes, CUSD may spend a lot of money on athletics, but that money finds its way back into the pockets of students who take on massive scholarships. As for neglecting the learning, that simply is not true. Clovis West is a great school with teachers that care, the students just have to meet them half way. For everyone complaining about the school, they have obviously neglected the fact that the school has an API of 9/10 which is fantastic. To address the comment about teachers out to give bad grades, that's just not true. Our teachers are willing to work with students to help them achieve, but if the students neglect their work, the teachers will not hesitate to give you the grade you deserve. Every school has its flaws, but as far as high school go, Clovis West is one of the greatest.
1 person found this helpful

Clovis West High School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a student
I attended Clovis West starting in my sophomore year of high school and graduated in 2012. I am currently attending CSU Fresno in the Smittcamp Family Honors College with a full ride scholarship. While no school is perfect, I can honestly say that Clovis West is an excellent institution that strives to serve all its students. As an AP/Honors student, especially, I felt very well taken care of. There are numerous opportunities for struggling students to get help, and way more clubs and activities available for involvement than anyone could participate in. Clovis West is a pretty big school, which can be overwhelming at first. I think Clovis West's greatest weakness (as in all the Clovis Unified schools) is its over-emphasis on competitiveness and achievement. If you want to be involved in any competitive activity, you need to be prepared to make some time sacrifices because coaches and advisors are very demanding. That being said, we do have phenomenal results to show for it, but it's not the best way to make progress. If you attend CW, you need to enter programs with a clear idea of your personal reasons for involvement so that you don't get overwhelmed.
1 person found this helpful

Clovis West High School 1

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
I would not send my dog to any Clovis School District school. The entire district promotes an athletics-priority in everything it does. My youngest had a horrible time at Kastner. He went out for the football team and ended up sitting on the bench with the other 75 freaking kids who also NEVER got to play. The peer pressure is tremendous. My oldest and youngest had horrible experiences in the CUSD. My daughter violated the dress code and she was not allowed to go to class until we brought her a change of clothes IMMEDIATELY! Yet, when her grades slipped we never heard from anyone until the report card came out. She was attacked by a wrestler and the principal moved HER classes instead of his because he was an athlete!!!! The CUSD is the worst. I could go on for days...
1 person found this helpful


Clovis West High School 5

Posted March 05, 2013
- a student
I attended Clovis West all 4 years of high school! Love it! If you have the opportunity to be a part of Clovis Unified School District it's a blessing. My experience academically was rewarding in many ways. Made great friends. Like every school there are negativity. Whereas, with a clovis school you know who the kids who party and do bad things are. You stay away. Whereas, in FUSD there is actually gang violence. Hence: Bullard High. Clovis West and the district is amazing!!! Rewards are great and heavy parental involvement! GO EAGLES!

Clovis West High School 5

Posted September 28, 2012
- a parent
I moved my family specifically so my children could attend this school. This speaks volumes!
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Clovis West High School
1070 East Teague Avenue, Fresno, CA  93720
(559) 327-2000
Last modified Clovis West High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Clovis West High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 67 reviews. Top