Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Anthony

Private | K-8 | 630 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fresno

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $109,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $870.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2014

I am a former student from years ago. If you want your child to attend St. Anthony's I strongly recommend starting them from Kindergarten on. I came in the 7th grade and all the cliques had been formed already. I was bullied relentlessly and the principal did absolutely nothing about it. Horrible experience.


Posted March 15, 2014

I graduated from this school back in 2008. This school has brought me together with life long friends, a solid educational, and memories that will last a lifetime.


Posted August 17, 2013

I work in public education yet send my child to this school. Excellent staff who care about children. My child has had six quality years at St. Anthony's and has made friends and connections for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

This is by far the best catholic school in the diocese. The teachers are strong and dedicated to both academics and growing the spirtuality of their students. We transferred from another Catholic school last year and have been nothing but pleased with the school. The leadership is excellent and the kids are receiving a top notch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2012

Worst Catholic school in Fresno. Complete waste of money! Teaching staff and principal are terrible. They should all be fired!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

I go to St. Anthony's and i absolutely love it! I am in sixth grade and am having the best experiences of my life! We do interactive experiments that are challenging and fun! We also participate in many food drives and other things that help the less fortunate. St Anthony's makes learning and life soooo much fun! I am so glad that i attend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2008

I've been goin ti St. Anthony's since kindergarden and absolutly love it. I went to Tenaya for a few months and came back because I think St. Anthony's is so much better. The teachers are great and so are the other kids. We go to church every Friday as a school. The new gym took three years and 3.8 millions dollars but it is worth every penny. The sports are great. I'll stop here but I could just go on and on abou it. If you're thinking about coming to St. ANthony's do it will be one of the best choices you ever make life time memories will be made!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2006

As a current 8th grader, I can say first hand how great this school is. It is a very great Catholic school with religion classes daily and weekly Friday school masses. There is also an awesome mandatory jr. high laptop program in which every student must bring their laptop to school 4 days a week. Sports are great, which include soccer, a great jr. high boy's and girl's team, basketball, track and field, cross country, golf and more. A huge new community center equip with a huge gym is also in the works. Not only does it have great teachers and faculty, but it also challenges me and helps me personally to excel. The teachers are awesome and so much fun and all the students are even better. The approx. 650 students population makes school feel more intimate and more focused on the student's individual needs. I love this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2006

We really enjoy St.Anthony's. The teachers are caring and supportive. Her 2nd grade teacher offered free tutoring and gave a huge stack of summer worksheets to prepare for third grade. She even made a list of summer classes at different schools she thought could help my child. My child learned about Picasso and Matisse in 2nd grade. A music teacher comes in one a week. The entire staff is big on teaching responsibility and community service. They do need more electives for junior high students and rely on parents to help with some of those classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

We had a great experience with St. Anthony's. One of my children has a learning disablity, the principal and the teachers helped her in everyway they could. She is doing very well. Her grades improved extremely! I couldn't of done it without the help of her teachers. They put in extra time for my child to help her succeed. St. Anthony's has a great community with loving and caring staff and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 26%
Hispanic 17% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Kimberly Cochran
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Fresno
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5680 North Maroa Avenue
Fresno, CA 93704
Phone: (559) 435-0700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT