Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


San Joaquin Memorial High School 5

Posted September 26, 2014
- a parent
I have been very pleased with this school and the experience my two kids are having. It is a safe environment where they can focus on learning. It is a college prep school where they are surrounded by other students that are also college minded and competing for grades. The faculty know all the kids by name and hold them accountable for grades and behavior. It is a close community with good parental involvement. No gangs. No fights. No police needed on campus. If you are serious about your child's future arrange a visit to the campus and see for yourself.

San Joaquin Memorial High School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
The parties are awesome! The girls are smart and rich! Defiantely a good school!


San Joaquin Memorial High School 1

Posted August 19, 2013
- a community member
This is by far one of the biggest mistakes our family has ever made. This school is a hot bed for bullying. Many of the kids have horrible attitudes. It does not help that most of the administration is rude. The principal is by far one of the most pompous men that I have ever encountered. Well they say there academics are top notch they are pretty much the same as the classes offered at top fresno & clovis schools. This school is not worth the tuition at all.

San Joaquin Memorial High School 2

Posted March 21, 2013
- a community member
SJM is well below average in a number of respects. First, teacher quality. The school has very little money to hire, train and retain quality teachers. Those who excel often leave for higher paying public school jobs. As a result expectations and policies around teaching quality are low and rarely enforced. Second, academic focus. While SJM likely makes one believe that its SAT scores and academics are top notch, they are no better than COMPARABLE public schools in Fresno. The school often touts its religion emphasis which makes sense as a Catholic institution. But this is not an excuse for mediocre academics. High school students need moral development but they also need teachers who can teach and teachers who believe their students can achieve at high levels. Low expectations limit the school's potential on a number of fronts. Finally, cronyism. If you are not plugged into the "elite", also known as a rich family who donates lots of money, then you won'e be taken care of as well. Simply put, the school needs money so they solicit wealthy parents and in return SJM takes "special care" of their students. It's not equitable and probably not Catholic...

San Joaquin Memorial High School 5

Posted January 01, 2010
- a parent
SJM provides an excellent learning environment. The teachers whom I've met are engaged and enthusiastic. The school size is particularly appealing, and the academics are rigorous. Students have ample opportunity to participate in extracurricular activities. Athletics are top notch.


San Joaquin Memorial High School 5

Posted June 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

San Joaquin Memorial High School 5

Posted July 20, 2007
- a student
I am a recent graduate from SJM and I whole-heartedly believe that the school has given me the tools to live a better life. There is room for improvement in certain academic areas of the school (particularly the mathematics and foreign language dept.), but with the resources available-- SJM provides a top-rate education that actually prepares a student for the next step: college. The school is not without its 'bad eggs' of kids who do stupid things, but no school is immaculate. Faculty and students are bonded together in a community of trust. The Catholicity of the school is shown in its policies; the absence of a zero-tolerance policy displays understanding and mercy as circumstances should alter consequences. One of the most central aspects of the school is the expectation that each student will further their education beyond SJM. I thank my parents for making the sacrifice of tuition money.

San Joaquin Memorial High School 4

Posted January 09, 2007
- a parent
This is my 2nd year as a parent of an SJM student. The academic quality is first class as well as the sports and extracurricular activities. Facilities are worn but serviceable (please build a new GYM). All in all it beats public school by a mile and well worth the tuition! Character does count at this school, and I believe they do punish bad behavior.


San Joaquin Memorial High School 5

Posted August 18, 2006
- a parent
I feel this school is worth every penny. What a disappoinment to the parents of the children who did not benefit from this wonderful school. I have seen so much school spirit and the teachers and administration are top notch. I am glad my children are attending this school the public schools in this valley are such a disappointment when it comes to academics. I love the fact my kids are getting the religious benefit andI am proud of this catholic school. Keep up the good work sjm!

San Joaquin Memorial High School 1

Posted May 18, 2006
- a parent
Ditto to the previous parent review. If you want good character education, go to a Character Counts school like Clovis West - and for a better price (free). No concept of accountability or good stewardship apparent in administration. Lacks good example from the top. Gives Catholic schools a bad name.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

San Joaquin Memorial High School
1406 North Fresno Street, Fresno, CA  93703
(559) 268-9251
Last modified San Joaquin Memorial High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
San Joaquin Memorial High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top