Advertisement
Advertisement

Our Lady of Victory School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fresno

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $76,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2013

It is a shame that this school is still running with the amount of issues that it has. The curriculum is outdated and the teachers generally not skilled in educating young children. The children are not challenged and are far below academically in areas such as Math and Science. The shame is that the administration refuses to acknowledge the problem that has been going on for the past four or so years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

While this school once had a thriving community of supporters, it is becoming more and more evident that they are lacking challenging education and strong leadership. The children that are attending are not receiving an education that meets the standards of the diocese of fresno. Many of the children that have left this school have been months behind their new peers. This is a problem that the school has been made aware of and still refuses to acknowledge and fix.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

For knowledge and problem solving, Our Lady of Victory school is the place to be. I am a father who desires my child to be a thinker and not just a test taker--like so many public schools who train students all year for the state test. I want my child to valued more than just a number. I also desire my child to have a spiritual foundation that will guide him throughout his life. Our Lady of Victory is assisting me greatly in these goals. My son just finished kindergarten which he loved and never had a bad day. I can't say enough about the academic instruction and the creativity that was experienced. It was an outstanding experience for my child and myself, education at its finest with inquiry, exploration, and mastery. The necessary elements that will propel a child's mind to think intellectually and creatively. I am thankful for Our Lady of Victory, and my son's experiences
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

As a grandparent at Our Lady of Victory, I am truly impressed with the dedication the parents display. OLV parents are there for their children in every way possible - volunteering, fund raising, coaching, and for their academics. These parents realize that a child's success is not alone based on academics, but more on the teamwork that is created between the leadership, teachers, students, and parents. The one key element that seems to be a common thread is the respect that is shown throughout the school, which is ultimately acknowledged by students and, in turn, promotes mature relationships for all. Imagine our community and world based on this type of foundation. Here! Here! for Our Lady of Victory.


Posted June 14, 2012

I love this school, and I have been attending OLV for many years. All the teachers make us feel welcomed and supported. We actually get to do science and art which is not seen in many other public schools. I, in fact, tuttor many of my friends, who attend charter schools, with their reading and math assignments. I am thankful for OLV and their academics and extracurricular activities. Go Rebels!


Posted June 13, 2012

Our Lady of Victory school ol is a great place for children. There focus on academics is exceptional, always having children strive higher than state standards and grade level standards. There focus on the child as a whole is outstanding, preparing children for society and their world. The class sizes are wonderful, giving individual attention to each student. The teachers are always available and go that extra mile to ensure the child is academically successful. I can't say enough about this school and the leadership. This is a school environment where children can thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2012

This school has many issues and does not serve its children well. only strong leadership could bring this school back to what it once was. Children are learning below grade level and there is no accountability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

This school has gone downhill fast. Their has been a loss of enrollment and there are only a few good teachers left. There have been major changes made, which will greatly affect the childrens education. The source of this problem is a poor administrator with little to no experience in business and educational administration. Its sad because other Catholic schools in the area are thriving, while OLV is staying behind and falling fast. Great community of families who give a lot of their time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

I love this school. The individual attention and support is amazing. The teachers are dedicated to providing a place where our children are thriving accademically while emphasizing faith and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

Excellent environment that gives students individual attention, great community
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

Great Pre-K program - our 4 year old daughter loves it and had excelled since starting. Teacher to student ratio is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

OLV is a wonderful school, The changes that have been made in the last two years are night and day. Hats off to the staff for being so dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

Community and family environment, our family feels like we belong and have always belonged. Stresses the importance that parents are their children's primary teacher in life. I wasn't sure if I really wanted to send my children to Catholic school (being a product of a public school myself) but the gains have far exceeded my concerns. The choice has brought our entire family closer to God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

OLV has a great academic program a number of changes have been made offering different levels of instruction to students in 6th - 8th grade. Recent hires have been outstanding, with both bachelors and masters degrees in science and English. New principal has offered Wonderful guidance and leadership, and a new web based grade system allows parents to be more involved with their children's education by offering grades online. It is not the sole responsibility of the school to educate, rather primary responsibility lie with parental involvement, which depends on commitment, and perseverance. I am extremely pleased, and feel OLV is worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2006

Poor academics,music,after school activities.Refuses to address many complaints. Parents care more about seeing their name in the school newsletter then their childs education.Many students require outside tutoring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

The academic program is more like hit and miss ,but with the students missing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

I love the people. They do not focus mcuh on academics, which I which they would have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

good academic programs, but very limited extra cirricular activities. Children attending school don't socialize with other children, which might be negative in the long run. parent involvement is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2004

My daughter came to OLV last year when she began 1st grade and the 1st grade teacher was such a positive figure in my daughter's life. The school is very close knit and has great activities outside of school. The best feature that OLV provides is the before and after school program. The price is very reasonable compared to other programs of similar nature. I feel that I made the right decision bringing my daughter to this private catholic school as I see her changing into a very bright student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2003

This school is great. As an educator myself, a quality school is very important to me. All teachers are highly qualified and do a great job. I would reccomend this school highly to anyone looking for a quality, Catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 56%
Two or more races 28%
White 10%
Black 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Asian 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Fresno
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1626 West Princeton Avenue
Fresno, CA 93705
Phone: (559) 229-0205

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT