Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lawless Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a parent
My son started a new school this year, he came from Saroyan . His new school is Toby Lawless. My heart sank because of the reviews I had read about Toby Lawless! I was WRONG! This school has been nothing but good! The grounds are super clean {cleaner than Saroyan} The Office Staff is WONDERFUL, and he ended up with the BEST Teacher ever! As a mom of a child in a new school in 4th grade this is a true blessing!! I would like to Thank Mrs. Bohannan, for making his first year @ Toby Lawless a GREAT one. he has exceeded so much this year, and WANTS to go to school everyday! I would like to let Mrs. Bohannan, that she is very much Appreciated!!! Mrs. Clarkson

Lawless Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 20, 2015
- a community member
Kindergarten teacher, Mrs. Davis is my grandson's teacher. She shows such patience with him. She is so very nice to all the children. He is progressing very well and that is thanks to a good teacher. Thank you Mrs Davis!


Lawless Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
Because when it comes to bullying, people tend to turn away and do nothing. Not enough staff to watch all of the kids.

Lawless Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
The bad kids aren't disciplined appropriately when they put their hands on the kids. Bullying is advertised as Zero tolerance, when in reality it should be if I didn't see it, it didn't happen.

Lawless Elementary School 1

Posted June 09, 2015
- a parent
3 of my children attended Lawless Elementary/Middle school when it was still K-8. The teachers there are good, but the principal changed a few times while my children attended school there. Mrs. Schleutter was the most recent. Anti-bullying procedures? They claim to have one, yet they do absolutely nothing!! My daughter was punched in the face by a boy in 7th grade and my son was bullied for 2 years straight, along with my daughter!! The school did nothing, and hardly any actions were taken against any of the other students. FUSD sucks, with the exception of a few great schools. (Kratt) I recommend any other school but this one. Student to teacher ratio is way off, and there aren't enough yard duty staff to watch and supervise children on the playground. You might as well say that the kids run the school because the worst ones are still there!! This school needs some me serious help!!!


Lawless Elementary School 3

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children attending this school since kinder.. I love most ove them. I have an issue with bullies, the school is great on zero tolerance; however enforcing and taking action is a different story. I think all staff employed and volunteer should be on the same page and follow the same procedure. My child does not feel safe at times and its starting to become more and more of an issue. I think more parents should get together like one would for D.A.R.E and lets put a stop to this.

Lawless Elementary School 1

Posted September 03, 2013
- a parent
Terrible, terrible, terrible. I've been hounded due to my child being sick (with a doctor's excuse) and told to switch doctors as his current isn't 'well respected' in their school. I've almost lost a job due to the after-school director 'forgetting' that she agreed to let my child into the program and then later informing me that there was no room for him. I was then told that she's make room, but when I expressed my concerns and frustrations, I was then told immediate afterward that there was not room once again because she didn't like my attitude. I asked if there was someone else to speak to, she said no. C'mon, now. I've seen staff speed through the school zone in the a.m. when kids are going onto campus and I've even seen a teacher tell a child who fell and got hurt to 'get up right now and stop crying!' She did not attempt to aid him in anyway whatsoever. I've heard children yell obscenities on campus, only to be ignored by staff numerous times. While some of the teachers are amazing and I love the fact that the student body is so diverse but that's all the school has going for it. TL's priorities are all out of whack.

Lawless Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2012
- a parent
I have two children the attend Toby Lawless. This will be their 3 year there. I really love the staff, the teachers really care about what their students are learning. Anytime I have ever had a problem I could walk up to the principal and talk to her and before the end of the school day matters have been addresses and taken care of.


Lawless Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2012
- a parent
I have two children that attend Toby Lawless. I love being on campus, teachers and staff welcome you in the classroom. The only complaint I have is that the school cafeteria food is terrible! The food one day maybe edible and the next day it may be just gross.

Lawless Elementary School 1

Posted May 29, 2010
- a parent
I knew i wasn't the only parent that felt this way, and i agree 150%. My son had a great desire to attend school before going there, now he hates school, he comes home upset everyday and there is nothing ever done when a bully attacks, my son is the one punished, so now we do not report it. I reported these problems to fresno county and instead my son has been picked on more by the teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lawless Elementary School
5255 North Reese Avenue, Fresno, CA  93722-6111
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (559) 451-4520
Last modified Lawless Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top