Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Fresno, CA
Students enrolled: 920

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tenaya Middle School 4

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
We were concerned about the quality of the teaching, but our daughter enrolled in the Laptop program and we are very pleased in all. Some things never change in schools. There are teachers who should have retired long ago and suffer burn out. Leadership, while good, seems to focus on keeping the problem kids in line, while the talented students are good at what they do, because of who they are and would have been good students anywhere. Parent involvement is none existent. This is the first school I known of that has a PTA organization, but they do absolutely nothing, let alone return inquiring emails. If you need get your child after school, you will need to designate a pick up spot away from the school entrance. Traffic is so bad and grid locked after school with people double parking and attempting 3 point turns in the middle of the street... it is flat out a traffic mess. What is worse...there is rarely an administrator or school employee out front encouraging the orderly progress of traffic. Unfortunately it seems to be a general reflection of the demographics.

Tenaya Middle School 5

Posted January 26, 2014
- a community member
Tenaya Middle School is a great place to go to school. At first I wasn't too sure about it but it turned out to be a great school. They have great teachers like Mr. Bruce, Mrs. Owensby, and Mr. Losey. The laptop program there is awesome and so are the teachers. They are there to help us students and get good grades. It's in a great neighborhood. The counselors are also nice and caring. I suggest that you let your child go there, they will be happy just like I am. :)


Tenaya Middle School 1

Posted January 26, 2013
- a community member
this is absolutely the WORST school you could ever send your child to. there are fights everyday, drugs, weapons, gangs, EVERY BAD THING YOU CAN IMAGINE. the teachers do not care about students. put so much stress on them, i currently go here and its HORRIBLE i have to watch my back just to make sure no ones gonna jump me AGAIN. Every girl in the school is trying to fight me at the same time. DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILDREN HERE.

Tenaya Middle School 1

Posted February 17, 2012
- a parent
Absolutely one of the worst schools my child has ever gone to, I will be trying my best to get my son out of there as soon as possible. The teachers are the laziest bunch of non-caring people it has been my misfortune to be acquainted with. Of course there are a couple of exceptions with the teachers, but the good teachers are the exception, not the norm. If your child is not an A student going into this school, they sure won t be coming out of it. They are more worried about dress codes and nit picking rules than they are about education. Don t expect any help from the current principal, she will not return phone calls or emails.

Tenaya Middle School 1

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
This is a terrible school!!! if your child needs a little extra help the teachers and staff don't have the time. If your child struggles they will let that child drown instead of giving the extra help they need. I have been told by some teachers that their class is too big to give the extra help he needs. If your student is failing they pass the student right along to the next grade to get their funding for that child. They do not care if they learned anything.


Tenaya Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
Tenaya Middle School is where I've been the librarian for five years. The students make all the difference at the school. They are some of the most polite, empathetic people I know! We have a mix of cultures and socio-economic ranges that allows for students to develop awareness of the similarities and differences that make this country so incredibly wonderful and unusual! For these and many other reasons, I love Tenaya.

Tenaya Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
This School is a failure to the children who are enrolled. Teachers working together to demean those who are stuggling, and they have no clue of the effects these actions are and will be with them through out their lifes. They all need a life preserver, but like the Titantic only the chosen few will survive.

Tenaya Middle School 1

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
Horrible Principal, lazy teachers, non-existent communication!!! No permanent full-time counselors on site. Would have given this school a zero if were allowed. Worst school to send your child if they are not academically gifted because teachers & Principal are too busy making excuses rather than helping your child. Dissatisfied parent!


Tenaya Middle School 5

Posted December 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Tenaya Middle School 5

Posted December 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tenaya Middle School
1239 West Mesa Avenue, Fresno, CA  93711
(559) 451-4570
Last modified Tenaya Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tenaya Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top