Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fresno Adventist Academy

Private | K-12 | 200 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fresno

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 8, 2014

My children really enjoy school. I believe it is because they are love respected by teachers and students. My children's character growth shows the nice difference that a private school can make. I would highly encourage other parents to choose a school that genuinely cares about your children and their family. Fresno Adventist Academy is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2009

My son was enrolled at a good public school. The academic instruction was good but I was always worried about the influences of other children whose parents were uninvolved, permissive, and had a lack of respect for moral values and the existence of God. Student to teacher ratio was becoming an issue with so many children in each classroom. My son now attends FAA with only a few other children in his class. He learned to read in a very short time and his knowledge of the bible has never been so deep. His teacher is caring, professional, and involved. We love the music program. The academic instruction is standards based and competitive. Administration always spends several hcours of their time to address issues and concerns in a respectful and timely manner. I am a public school teacher and I do not want my son to attend one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2009

Part 3: Safety has never been an issue for my child. She thanks me for sending her to the academy because she knows what happens at other schools. She is thankful to not have to deal with gangs, bullying, and sexual harassment. She always knows there is someone she can talk to if she has a problem. I can t praise the administration enough. The principal at FAA has always been there for me and my family. He is very busy because of the nature of his job, but he has always found time for my concerns. We have prayed together a number of times for the direction of the school. He has a passion and vision for our school. He has immense grace for the student body, so much so, that it isn t publicized when discipline has taken place. To me, that is true love which shows Christ s character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2009

FAA is the only place I would send my children. I know they are being taught at high standards and respected by staff/facutly and students. They are learning the love of Jesus and how tho be good, caring people. Plus, Admin listens to concerns and addresses issues in a timely manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2008

Good school! Lots of extra attention to students, teachers really care about students progress and spiritual growth. Lots of extra curricular activities. Children are involved in several community service activities. Small school environment that encourages parent involvment. Strong sense of family with lifelong friendships formed at FAA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

Bad results. Kids run wild, teachers aren't involved in anything but themselves. Nothing is ever addressed. Discipline is a joke. Hazing galore with no effort from staff to control it. Bad language, and bad environment. Will never send my kid there again
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

The teachers are fantastic. They are very caring individuals and are willing to go the extra mile. There is quite a bit of extra curricular activities. Last year a group went to Washington DC. My son has experienced tremendous personal growth over the years. Way to go FAA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

Not a very good school, Teachers are very unprofessional and rude. I have had first hand experiences with the principal, teachers, and children at the school and i wouldn't recommend sending my child to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

My child has experienced tremendous improvement in all areas since attending FAA; Academic, social, self-esteem, spiritual, etc. I can't say enough great things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2004

Great Teachers! Unbeatable student/teacher ratio! Bible principles throughout academic core! Well organized Athletic program! Beautiful 40 acre campus! Charming 'trendy' school dress code! Wonderful, Wonderful teachers! 3rd grade, 6th Grade and many more! Beautiful 'new' gym.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Bible subjects are included in the curriculum, children were taught how to do missionary works, reached out for others. The school has a christian atmosphere, students were encouraged to show thier talents in music and sports.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 26%
Hispanic 32% 52%
Black 9% 6%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. David Gillham
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Seventh-day adventist
Associations
  • GCSDAC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5397 East Olive Avenue
Fresno, CA 93727
Phone: (559) 251-5548

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT