Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orangethorpe Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 770 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2014

The sense of community is felt in the multi-age program. This program offers real life skills for children. The teachers are very approachable and caring towards their students. Parents take an active role in their children's education. My son is flourishing that's what counts and has embraced the love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2014

Principal Amanda Segovia-Hale is gone. She was principal just long enough to leave the original multi-age program in ruins. In my opinion she was forced out. I notice the new principal's letter says S-H was "asked to bring her experience to the district office," where she was put to work in an entirely undefined job. Yet S-H is no longer at the district office either. In my opinion her departure came too late. At least a dozen of the school's teachers sought transfers under her "leadership." Mitch Hovey was the district superintendent who brought her in at Orangethorpe. He too is long gone (buyer beware...). So there is no one to hold accountable for the damage to the original multi-age program. The lesson here is to be careful of who your school board hires for these positions. Your program or school could be the next to be ruined by the good-idea fairy flying through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2014

My kids attended the Mulitiage program at Orangethorpe Elementary. I moved them from our highly ranked/scored district and school when I wanted smaller class sizes. I searched every private school in the area and happen to meet a woman who attended the 40+ year old program as a child. I looked up the school s scores, drove by and quickly decided that it was NOT an acceptable option. Luckily for me, I met another parent who had just moved their children to the program and was RAVING about how happy they were. I decided to give it another chance and set up a tour. Within 5 minutes, I was sold! I ve never seen such an amazing atmosphere of teachers, kids and families all dedicated to developing a love of learning. Families of all backgrounds and kids of all abilities working together to help each other grow. I went home and started researching the program and continued to be surprised that this gem of a program was possibly the best kept secret in OC education. My only regret is that I didn t find it earlier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2014

The Multi age class is amazing. A great alternative to homeschooling. Parents are so involved the student to adult ratio is 1 to 5 every day! Children direct their own learning. Art, Science, PE, Social Stdies, Class pets, monthly field trips, technology and intractive math games all in an individualized format. There is nothing else like it. THE MULTI AGE PROGRAM ROCKS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2014

I love this school and I love the multiage program. It has helped me become a better learner.


Posted August 30, 2014

My children are in the multi-age program. It is AMAZING!!! We have wonderful teachers who truly care about my kids education. Our classroom is more than teachers and students. The parents are involved. I volunteer in the classroom 3 hours a week, per child. It sounds like a lot, it is not. I have a pulse on my child's education. I know exactly what they are doing in class. I know the parents. I know there friends. We are a village. It is so hard to find a great community of parents like this. We have passion, not just for my children to be the best, but for each others kids to succeed too. It is amazing and such a well kept secret. We recently got a new principal, we got a facelift, and the new ORCA way. It is amazing to see this school flourish. Hopefully people will look beyond the low scores and see this school for what it truly is, a diamond in the rough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2014

My son has gone here for three years. It is a great school. He is in the multi-age program, and I could not be happier. I love the 'it takes a village' approach. And I know everyone in our village is dedicated! I would be more comfortable if we did not have the homeless camping out in the park all day. There has never been any problems, but it is a huge distraction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

My son and daughter attend Orangethorpe. It is a good school. The area is not great but the ladies in the front office are helpful, Mrs. Alonzo and Ms. Ogawa are great, Mrs. Waters is awesome and the Principal Doctor Hale really cares about the kids. I appreciate the Friday assemblies because I learn about everything that is happening at Orangethorpe. Ms Gabriella and Ms Pat manage the busy office and still make everyone that comes in the office feel welcomed. Orangethorpe is a great school with a lot of technology.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

Both my kids go to this school. There are fantastic teachers at this school and the class rooms are well kept. Most classrooms include and ipad or Macbook for each student to use. School is diverse, but not anything that would make me feel like I have to look over my shoulder for fear of being attacked. There is a small park attached to the school where homeless from time to time hang out. Perhaps this is something the city needs to address since most of them seem to come from Anaheim which is a block away. The school is clean and really happy to see parents involved with school programs overall. Traffic in the morning and afternoon can be an issue in dropping of and picking up kids, but what school doesn't have this problem? Even schools in Irvine or other more affluent neighborhoods have this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

Orangethorpe is a POSITIVE place for children to learn. Principal Dr Segovia-Hale leads with integrity. She has high expectations of students and teachers. Principal Dr. Segovia-Hale strong leadership has turned Orangethorpe around in a POSITIVE direction. She hired new teachers that LOVE our children and dedicated to helping children grow. I have three children at Orangethorpe. My son in kinder has his own iPad, his teacher is great. My daughter is in second grade, she said "When I grow up I want to be a teacher because my teacher is AWESOME." My son is in fourth grade this year. He loves designing projects and pod-cast on his laptop. My son really enjoys Running Club with the new PE teacher Coach Salazar. I am happy to see new young teachers that are positive role models to our children!! The Principal recognizes student achievement & positive behavior at Family Friday Assemblies. Friday mornings are a special time. Orangethorpe has an EXCELLENT Principal Dr. Segovia-Hale! The teachers are CARING and WONDERFUL! Ms. Gabriella & Ms. Pat in the office always put kids and families first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2014

Teachers are very good. The office staff is horrible. They are extremely disorganized. Office staff is rude, they try to parent the parents. This is the 2nd year my kids have been in this school, if I were able to get them transferred I would. The school has transients sitting right outside the gates in the mornings, and it appears very run down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

Over time I had 3 of my children attend Orangethorpe at one point . We've had both MRS. LIENS and MRS. JONES for a teacher and both are wonderful. They are patient and kind and always willing to take the time to talk to parents and answer questions. Its been 7 yrs since we've relocated to Brea and my son is now 15yrs old and a Junior in High School. To this day, MRS. LIENS will sometimes join my family and I for a bon-fire at the beach where we reminise and catch up. She is someone who truely cares.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

The multiage program is a wonderful environment for my children to learn and grow. The teachers go above and beyond! We love them.In addition to teaching reading,writing and math they made it possible for students to paint daily,hold the snakes, have share days, classroom jobs, a student generated newsletter and arts & crafts.The traditional events of the multiage classroom-the blockhouse, family message journals, October readings, parent interest, Halloween party and butter making are still alive. They have taken time to thoroughly assessed each childs level. In writing they have showed the kids how to brainstorm ideas, the 5 W's and remind them that stories have a begining, middle and an end. In the afternoons they do science and literacy centers. Lessons incorporate multisensory learning like, taste tests (5 senses), weather forecasts (seasons and weather), singing and crafts. The whole child is developed as children also discuss & practice the schools personal standards. Citizenship is evident daily as classmates learn to help and care for each other. Accountability and responsibility come into effect daily as they gently learn the privilidges or consequences of their choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2012

My children have been enrolled in this school since kindergarten and since day one it has not been a pleasant one. First off the office workers are rude and unpleasant. The office workers talk to parents like they are children and just belittle them. Sometimes they don't even bother to acknowledge a parent walked in. The principal Dr. Segovia-Hale and asst. principal Ms. Michel are another story. Never in my life have I felt like a horrible person. My son has some learning disabilies and they won't even listen to what I have to say they just blame and point the finger. Some teachers I'm really fond of and I believe have helped both of my kids succeed and they are Mrs. Crockett, Mrs. Rowatt, Mrs. Jones, and Mrs. Paz. I don't know if they are all still there since I heard a handleful of teachers up and left because of the disorganization of the school and the principals behavior. Every year I try to transfer my kids out of there and every year I am denied because of overcrowding. I hope one day that my children will leave this school and be placed in a better organized one. Look for other schools before you even consider putting your kids in this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

My daughter was enrolled here in the 6th grade only and loved the school. Mrs Hollenbeck is an amazing teacher. My son has been there since kindergarten and now in the fourth grade. We have had some hit and miss with his teachers. He excelled in 1st and 2nd. Mrs Lein and Rowatt always had the kids best interest. My son has some learning disabilities and not all his teachers have been able to handle him like they did. He is not loud and abnoxious quite the contrary. He is very shy and emotional. I do feel that some teachers need extra training in that department. Their resource staff Mrs Parra is amazing! One of the biggest downfalls is their office staff, they are not pleasant to deal with. Overall I am happy with the school. The resource staff there is what keeps us here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

My child has been in the Multiage program at Orangethorpe and it's been amazing. It is like a "school within a school" which may touch off issues in the greater school community, but if I could do it all over again I would. Orangethorpe in general is not the ideal school I'd send my child to, but this program within it is worth every ounce of effort to be part of it. I highly recommend parents look at this as an alternative. Without an emphasis on testing and drilling, my child has a lifelong love of learning and scores in the top percentiles of standardized tests. Take away the test focus and let children learn and they'll amaze you with their brilliance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

My children attend Orangethorpe Elementary. I believe the teachers really care about our children. They have 1:1 laptops that keep my kids interested in learning. The teachers support kids to do their best. This year we have a new Principal Dr. Segovia-Hale, she is what we have needed. She loves our kids, you see her on plyaground and at lunch benches. We have assemblies every Friday and parents are invited to attend. My son had lunch with the Principal, he was so excited! My kids are already talking about attending COLLEGE! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

Both my daughters attended this school. At first, I was a little aprehensive due to the fact the school's appearance is nasty. However, after the their first year, my girls absolutely loved this school. At least the teachers that taught my daughters were caring, competent, communicated to me very well, and they showed genuin interest with my girl's success. I think a lot has to do with parent involvement. If parents fail to be involved, they will reap the consequences--this school gave me every opportunity to stay involved. In terms of safety: this school is too open for anyone to walk on property and have direct access to the children before and after school and during recess; the parking lot is poorly designed; and, the front office staff has lackadaisical attitudes as if I'm not important engough for them to get out of their seat and talk face to face.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2008

My son transferred to Orangethorpe from another Fullerton school and from day one I have not been happy. It is hard to get information. Even though my son's class was a job share he had a lot of subs though out the year which made learning difficult. We just got the STAR scores and his scores went way down. I would explore the other schools in the Fullerton disrtict before making a choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

Orangethorpe is the worst school in the history of schools! If I could rate a 0, I would. The staff is, not only uncooperative, but they are highly incompetent as well. The school has some good teachers, but this does not make up for all other short comings, which there is too many to list. If you are able, send your children elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

750

Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

750

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

2 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Females36%
Males34%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disability8%
Students with no reported disability38%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only41%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate31%
Parent education - high school graduate18%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)40%
Parent education - college graduate42%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate42%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students50%
Females41%
Males57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disability25%
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate63%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate58%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students26%
Females25%
Males28%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino23%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)25%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability25%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only40%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate10%
Parent education - high school graduate15%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)38%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students63%
Females63%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate48%
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students51%
Females49%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner35%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students53%
Females50%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females65%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner49%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students64%
Females70%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner58%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate59%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students46%
Females44%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate29%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females59%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate59%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students41%
Females38%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate38%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)40%
Parent education - college graduate60%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 79%
White 9%
Asian 6%
Black 3%
Two or more races 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/AN/A
English language learners 53%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 10%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:35 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Erlinda Soltero-Ruiz
Fax number
  • (714) 447-7527

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 South Brookhurst Road
Fullerton, CA 92833
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 447-7730

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT