Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Galt, CA
Students enrolled: 984

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


29 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Galt High School 2

Posted March 12, 2013
- a community member
Based on my past experience, I wouldn't suggest this school to anyone. I bounced around a lot during my High School years, due to some issues in home life, and a lot to do with the schools I was attending. GHS was probably the worst of my High School experience. I started here as a freshman, and left before my first year was up. The teachers were clueless, the staff was negligent, and the students were unruly. The bulk of my negative experience was that my teachers simply didn't care about their jobs (or so it seemed). I was bored more often than not, and if it wasn't a lack in stimulation that lulled my interest, it was the teachers apathy to their students taking advantage of the lack of structure. This was in 2004, it's surely possible that there have been improvements since, but I highly doubt it.

Galt High School 3

Posted September 18, 2012
- a community member
class of 2002 teachers teachers teachers that's what makes a school I had great teachers the first two years there I got A's and B's then came my Jr and Sr years my teachers didn't care they were not hands on lazy at best. I also know we the kids need something to do in Galt on our down time from school so we can keep our heads on strait and not get into trouble, It is Galt


Galt High School 2

Posted August 26, 2012
- a community member
I was a graduate of GHS in 2001. This school was beyond disappointing for its students. I achieved state-wide test scores in the 99th percentile, but its academic involvement for kids that are capable of scholastic aptitude is spotty at best. Sometimes you will get a teacher that is fantastic and involved and provides excellent educational experiences. More often than that, teachers are poorly chosen, and the curriculum they provide is sub-par. Ten years later, my little brother graduates, and the system is still struggling with the same problems, lacks luster in the same areas, and you are still lucky, LUCKY, if you get a teacher that actually bothers to educate. I would rather move than let my child attend this school.

Galt High School 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a community member
i LOVE GHS!!! some of the teachers are a pain but they do it so we can be successful in the future!!! we have great teachers for the advance classes and for the regular classes as well the teachers help alot but it is about the student wanting to help out as well!! i mean it has to be a great school to have survived 100 years!!! yeeee CLASS OF 2012!!! (;

Galt High School 3

Posted May 12, 2010
- a student
The School is fine in teaching material, but the school lacks disipline.


Galt High School 0
no rating

Posted March 27, 2010
- a parent
I'm a parent of a student, and I don't think teachers work hard enough to help students. There is no comunication between teacher, student and parent. I think that regular meetings shoul be schedule in particular with students with low test scores.

Galt High School 0
no rating

Posted November 25, 2009
- a community member
I am a grandparent of four grads and two current GHS students. I have been very impressed with the new principal. He seems to be everywhere! Out in the classrooms, checking on subs, at many extracurricular events, club fundraisers, and including a Saturday two hours away in Yuba City to support the marching band in competition! He obviously realizes that hanging out in the office is NOT the way to know what is going on in your school!

Galt High School 0
no rating

Posted April 30, 2009
- a parent
Wow where do I start. Be very involved in your childs education or your child will get lost in the system. My child has failed the same class 3 times and never recieved notice until report cards. I have a school loop account and email the teacher with no response for a meeting emailed the counselor twice still no response for a meeting. Administration does not care and your lucky if you get a great teacher at this school. Very crowded. May be that will change when new high school in Galt is opened. BEWARE PARENTS!


Galt High School 2

Posted December 18, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Galt High School 5

Posted October 22, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Galt High School
145 North Lincoln Way, Galt, CA  95632
(209) 745-3081
Last modified Galt High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Galt High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top