Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


River Oaks Elementary School 1

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
This school is WAY too strict. My son received a detention for running! He told me he was re-enacting a scene from a cartoon and they gave him a detention. He also added that the school treated him horribly. This crushed his soul because all he wanted to do was excel in school when all the school did was bring him down. River Oaks acts like a mistake deserves harsh consequences and punishes kids who use their imaginations. It worries me that this school thinks it is okay to teach our kids "life-lessons" when they punish them for tolerable acts.

River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
Outstand school with plenty of spirit and parent involvement. I specifically chose my home in this area for River Oaks. All school staff are outstanding and the principle is the best I have ever seen. There are not many schools that I can say are better. I have a personal relationship with not only my two children's teachers but also other teachers at the school. I can't think of one that I wouldn't want my children to be taught by. This class is the best in the area bar none!


River Oaks Elementary School 2

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
There are a few select teachers that make this school special. My child has had several years of having to struggle with learning the curriculum because the teachers could not and would not adapt to her needs. My other child has excelled in each of her classrooms during the years of attendence, it is sad for me to say that the experience has been great, but only because of being an advanced student. My child who is struggeling was recently shamed in front of the entire class and who has also been shamed in front of me just recently. I am taking steps to move my child to a teacher who can take the time and patience to work with my child. Needless to say, the teacher is makes the school either a joy or a struggle.

River Oaks Elementary School 1

Posted April 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

River Oaks Elementary School 2

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
If you want your child to be a robot automatons and only walk during school, no walking on grass any where. If your child has any learning problems forget any help from teachers or counselors. You would be better off home schooling then this school.


River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2008
- a parent
If you want a safe and high academic standard, this school is for you! One of the best elementary schools in the valley!

River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted May 21, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2008
- a parent
In this day and age of laxed academic excellence expectation, this school is a rare privelege. The lots of homework, parental participation and the hard working/caring staff are the corner stones of our kids's success. What a great school !


River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted May 12, 2008
- a community member
Very good school! Mrs. McCown is amazing! She is so organized and keeps the students on task. They also have fun learning as well. The school itself is very clean and positive. I do wish there were more student pageants. I live for that!

River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2007
- a parent
My children have flourished at this school! very strict and a lot of homework but is not very strict with not much homework better? The staff is great and the emphasis on college at this young age is invaluable. We are so lucky to have river oaks be the springboard to our children's academic future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

River Oaks Elementary School
905 Vintage Oak Avenue, Galt, CA  95632
(209) 745-4614
Last modified River Oaks Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
River Oaks Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top