Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


River Oaks Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
The princible and her assistant. They are never to busy for a parents questions. And I see them talking with the kids and they always take their time.

River Oaks Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Not to the extrem but in healthy measures that will benefit the, thru out life.


River Oaks Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
I see it even with the kindergarten classes and with the older kids. I see it with my own children.

River Oaks Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
When a child is being spoken to for getting out of line the approach is strong with a caring and understanding voice by the teacher or staff. The principle is all hands on deck and amazing.

River Oaks Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
It is part of the schools foundation. I see my children being honest and their school spirit is positive.


River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2016
- a parent
Both my kids go to this school and they are so happy with their teachers. As a parent I see my kids growing and wanting to ne involved. Parent involment is strong. The homework is heavy and the staff is strict but it is appreciated!

River Oaks Elementary School 1

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
This school is WAY too strict. My son received a detention for running! He told me he was re-enacting a scene from a cartoon and they gave him a detention. He also added that the school treated him horribly. This crushed his soul because all he wanted to do was excel in school when all the school did was bring him down. River Oaks acts like a mistake deserves harsh consequences and punishes kids who use their imaginations. It worries me that this school thinks it is okay to teach our kids "life-lessons" when they punish them for tolerable acts.

River Oaks Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2013
- a parent
Outstand school with plenty of spirit and parent involvement. I specifically chose my home in this area for River Oaks. All school staff are outstanding and the principle is the best I have ever seen. There are not many schools that I can say are better. I have a personal relationship with not only my two children's teachers but also other teachers at the school. I can't think of one that I wouldn't want my children to be taught by. This class is the best in the area bar none!


River Oaks Elementary School 2

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
There are a few select teachers that make this school special. My child has had several years of having to struggle with learning the curriculum because the teachers could not and would not adapt to her needs. My other child has excelled in each of her classrooms during the years of attendence, it is sad for me to say that the experience has been great, but only because of being an advanced student. My child who is struggeling was recently shamed in front of the entire class and who has also been shamed in front of me just recently. I am taking steps to move my child to a teacher who can take the time and patience to work with my child. Needless to say, the teacher is makes the school either a joy or a struggle.

River Oaks Elementary School 2

Posted November 19, 2008
- a parent
If you want your child to be a robot automatons and only walk during school, no walking on grass any where. If your child has any learning problems forget any help from teachers or counselors. You would be better off home schooling then this school.

Nearby schools

River Oaks Elementary School
905 Vintage Oak Avenue, Galt, CA  95632-3076
(209) 745-4614
Last modified River Oaks Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top