Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

King Of Kings Lutheran

Private | PK-7

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Garden Grove

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $310,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 3, 2013

My son is currently there attending preschool and will continue his education there. With their small class sizes and amazing and attentive teachers I couldn't imagine taking him anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

Small class sizes and individual attention with a focus on Christian values. That is only part of what King of Kings offers. The kindergarten teacher there really enjoys her job and knows how to handle energetic boys!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

I have 2 children at King of Kings. I chose this school after sending my children to other lutheran preschools in the area. I just didn't feel the other schools were taking care of my kids like they should. The Pre-K at King School is the best ever, the kids are loved and cared for and very well behaved. The elementary school is also fabulous and I know that without the teachers, pastor and other staff that my child would not be as successful as he is now. I love this school and recommend it to anyone looking for another option.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

I attended 1st through 8th grades at King of Kings and sent my daughter there from the 1st grade on, as well. I grew up in North Tustin and lived in Orange when I sent my daughter - 25 years later. The time spent commuting was worth every minute, every mile. I'd do it again without any hesitation. Outstanding staff, superior, solid academics, straightforward, no-nonsense moral integrity, unbelievably passionate support from the church congregation. Incredible school, period. Thank you King of Kings Lutheran!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

Our children have been going to King of Kings since preschool. Both kids have learned so much and have developed such a great relationship with the other kids and teachers. If your looking for smaller class sizes and more one on one attention the size of the school is perfect. Once you have meet the principle you will know why this school is special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I have been associated with King of Kings Lutheran School for over 15 years. All 3 of my children spent most of their elementary school years at King of Kings and I have recommended the school to many of my friends and family. It has been a wonderful school both spiritually and academically and I wouldn't hesitate to do it all over again. The teaching staff is well educated and come from accredited schools and colleges and although the staff has changed over the years, they remain part of the core of the school. If you are looking for a safe, spiritually sound and academically strong school for your child, I recommend King of Kings Lutheran School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

We love this preschool! My daughter looks forward to school. She's excited to tell me about the fun things she did in school that day. She's made lots of friends. We are blessed to have King of Kings as our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

If you want somoene caring for your children as much as you do, while they are away from you, this is the school for you! I sent my three children to this school and they learned everything they needed to be successful in high school and college. This school also encourages musical developement and provides any interested child an opportunity to learn music, sing in a choir and./or play an instrument. Lastly but certainly not least, the Christian Education was a building block that they continue to rely on in their adult life. While it is a financial committment, it's worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2010

As a former parent of 5 children who attended King of Kings school and as a former public school teacher of 20 years, I am very satisfied with the educatiion that all of our children received at King of Kings.They were prepared academically and spiritually when they left K of K.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 27, 2010

I'm a past student and the small class sizes, strong Christian foundation, and teachers were all great things for me. The easy access to sports and music made actively involved in the school. The teachers are all always there, prepared to help a student when they need something.


Posted February 26, 2010

Terrific family atmosphere and caring teachers. My two older children were more than prepared for high school and my youngest is well on her way. The academics and spiritual education is top notch with access to sports and music. Small class sizes are great too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

King of Kings is a treasure. The class sizes are smaller than your average private school and the teachers truly care. What's more, they help to instill a love of their Savior in the hearts and lives of the students. King of Kings is academically strong and the students graduate more than ready for the rigors of high school and beyond.


Posted February 17, 2010

My kids started going here when they were in Pre School and I love it. The teachers are great! The class sizes are small so the kids get more one on one help if needed. I would recommend King of Kings to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2010

Wonderful school, been around a long time. Draws from the community and members of the church. Small class size. My kids were reading well in Kindergarten, my high schoolers received a good foundation - spiritually and academically. It is a hidden jewel I believe! Great 'family' atmosphere too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

I only wish I would have been able to send my own children to King of Kings Lutheran School. My grandchildren are getting an outstanding education and because of the small class sizes they receive much more one on one teaching time. A Christ centered education is an important aspect to me that they offer. I know the school's tests score out pace most of the local public schools too. I would not hestitate to tell anyone to send their children to King of Kings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

My grandchildren are getting an incredible education at King of Kings. They have a very caring staff. And they are receiving a very excellent education. I love that they have a full day Kindergarten. The kids are reading quite well as they move on to 1st grade.


Posted July 24, 2005

I truly believe that King of Kings is a step above the rest when it comes to private, Christian education. With a dedicated and caring staff leading instuction in light of God's unchanging word, the students can't help but succeed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 9, 2003

My children have attended this school for the past 7 years. I believe the quality of this school to be well above average, the teachers are exceptional educators and the staff in general are great!! I would highly recommend this school to anyone who desires a high quality education for their child(ren).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 26%
Hispanic 18% 52%
Asian or Pacific Islander 8% 11%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Wisconsin evangelical lutheran synod
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13431 Newhope Street
Garden Grove, CA 92843
Phone: (714) 530-2152

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Adult Education
Garden Grove, CA




Village Bible Academy
Garden Grove, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT