Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Orange Crescent School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Garden Grove

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, August 25, 2014

I'm so bored I don't even know why I'm writing this. Please do not waste your time and money here it's not worth it. It may seem like a good school because of the Islamic environment but the kids that go there don't really act very Islamic and the teachers go overboard with teaching us about Islam e.g (this) is haram (though it's not really haram). The teachers are all very impatient and don't do much about bullying either. They yell at all the kids and they don't correct the bullies properly. Also since its a very small school you don't get to meet many different kinds of people and it makes high school very overwhelming. Not only do you not become aware of things socially but academically as well. Most of their teachers are quite behind in their subjects thus students do not receive a proper education making it a great waste of money. If you are planning on sending your kids here you might want to reconsider.


Posted February 18, 2012

OCS is a great place to get a well-rounded education in both academics and spirituality.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

I had a very bad experience the teachers are to mean all they do is give too much work and what do we get to do?pay $415 a month no more then that including all the bake sales and candy machines
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 17, 2008

The teachers are always willing to help and students care about each other.It`s a really good school,I know someone who was`nt even talking to the teachers on their first day,but now that person is extremely satisfied.OCS is just like any other great school but unique in its own way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2008

OCS is an absolutely amazing school. I attended school there from Pre-School all the way through to 8th grade. The teachers were, overall, awesome. They really cared about the students and, because of the small class sizes back in my day, they gave personal and individual attention to each student. I'm a junior in high school right now, but the friends I made at Orange Crescent School are still some of the closest friends I have. The bonds you develop there aren't easily broken. I absolutely recommend this school to any parent looking for a good school to enroll their kids at.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2007

Two of my kids graduated from it, and today is the first day of my son in it. I tried all different schools, this is the BEST. Doesn't mean there is no need for improvements, but you can't tell how good it is till you try other schools out there. Together we can make it better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2007

i used to be parent for my graduate daughter, i loved orange crescent school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Everything maybe good. But their teachers are not involved with the students. They don't help them. They just give the mthe grade. and your grade is also includes 5 extra academic classes from regular schools. To earn a good GPA you need to have an A in all the classes. The teachers don't focus on learning with fun which can help the child to leearn. They are very strict.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2007

Orange Crescent School has gone throught alot in the past years. But since the new principal, Nehad Ahmed, has come she has really put the school in 21st century. We have new computers, new modulers/classrooms, new playground, we have the new smartboard, we have many credential teachers. Their are OC science and engineering fairs, state speeling bee, OC academic pentathalon. This school has really progressed alot. It is a private Islamic school. There are security guards. It is gated. This school is the best schools and i really reccommend this school. This school has a full 6 year wasc accreditation. The parents are always their to help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Orange Crescent School as gone through a lot of needed changes over the past 3 years. The OCS has added 2 new playgrounds, library, computer lab, and a new grass field. Recenty the school received a 6 year clear accredidation from WASC.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 26%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 4% 6%
Hispanic 3% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Islamic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Al-Rahman Plaza
Garden Grove, CA 92844
Phone: (714) 531-1451

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Post Elementary School
Westminster, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT