Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


James Irvine Intermediate School 1

Posted June 19, 2016
- a community member
This school is bad. Here are the reason why. This school will seemingly and intentinally stress you out like crazy. Not to mention that this School doesn't do a thing about bullying. In fact, they suspended me six times because i adressed myself getting bullied so they tried to make it look like i was a bad boy and i was a bully. Absolutely horrible. Due to the stress and lack of help this school brings, i never got above a 2.0 gpa.Even though i tried my best in this school. Once i got kicked out of this school because the School Administration didn't want to deal with me and because my grades were "horrible" i went to a different school. And i managed to get a 4.0 in this new school. What disgusts me the most though is that the Principal from Irvine called the Principal from my new school to see how i was doing. Which i think is funny because he could of cared less about me when i went to his school. If he cared so much, why did he keep on suspending me and kept on making me lose class time? Horrendously bad school.

James Irvine Intermediate School 2

Posted May 19, 2013
- a community member
horrible "p.e" that didnt come close to preparing me for cosmpetitive highschool sports. I understand that with budget cuts this school is nothing like it was in the past but god why do my parents bother paying taxes?! The only class that came close to being challenging was my honor english class with Mrs.tartaglini. I don't feel I was adequadetly prepared at this school for my AP courses this year. A complete waste of my two years...


James Irvine Intermediate School 3

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
James Irvine Intermediate School is a good school for my son goes to. My son said, he love this school because school have cool staffs and cool teachers but not all teacher that he has this year also the 1st year of 7th grade. He said that he so excited to go this school after he finish MorningSide School in last year. But now, he just a kid but he say to stress for him. Come on ! how can kid know about stress. My son told me one of he teacher, she so tough with him or other kid in he class and hardly give her student 2rd change if kid made a mistake, and i think that is not right for kid. I know that when i was in high school all teacher give students a 2rd change why not in intermediate school?.

James Irvine Intermediate School
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
The teachers would have to be one of my favorite parts of attending school.

James Irvine Intermediate School 5

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
Irvine is a great school with fantastic teachers, as well as students. My daughter comes home everyday with an interesting story to tell me about her teacher(s). Her teachers are very good at what they do, and makes the school a place where students want to be.


James Irvine Intermediate School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
James Irvine Intermediate, is a school that has worked hard. I have been here for over a year now and i have realized that students and teachers both work so hard, yet do not get anything from it. Sure students receive many awards for their academics, but what about their motivation, perseverance, and overall social skills. Students have been very kind, including the teachers. The superiors have been almost perfect watching over James Irvine. Teachers try their best to motivate students to working hard and the students reply back showing their best possible effort. Not only do teachers help academically, but they also try their best to tell others to interact with students they dont usually talk with. For example, my history class of Mark, Sanchez, has been excellent in showing so. Mr. Sanchez has told us to work in groups and try to discuss on a topic such as school uniforms. He chose leaders, and every few minutes we would switch our groups around to have even more conversations, and ideas to discuss. Irvine is an excellent school and deserves the best they can achieve.

James Irvine Intermediate School 4

Posted March 08, 2008
- a student
Nice campis, cool teachers ,and good lunch also good p.e. program

James Irvine Intermediate School 4

Posted January 29, 2008
- a student
The school is pretty great nothing wrong, well if you were a student there you would know whether the place is great or worse. There are only rarely minor fights non i have seen. The education their teaching is very understandable and helpful for must of us students. The teachers are always there in heping us. But i still agree in more and better electives later on the future.


James Irvine Intermediate School 4

Posted September 08, 2007
- a student
This school was amazing, but that's because my friends made it amazing. The school itself is okay. It's not bad but it's not even close to the best. But the students there got along pretty well. There were a few fights, and I think a rumble but a lot of schools have issues. The discipline is pretty harsh. My high school goes easier on us. The teachers are great, but some of them cant teach well. But when you need help, they're there. Parents don't get involved as much as they can, or barely at all. But I don't think the students want their parents there anyways. For extracurricular activities, they need more. There's only two or three clubs, and no sports teams. They need better electives, too.

James Irvine Intermediate School 5

Posted April 28, 2007
- a student
This school provides different kinds of opportunities to improve leadership and other important skills needed to succeed in the future. The orchestra and the band are great, and they continue to grow larger each year. The academic programs are excellent and parent involvement is encouraged.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

James Irvine Intermediate School
10552 Hazard Avenue, Garden Grove, CA  92843-5109
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (714) 663-6551
Last modified James Irvine Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top