Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Garden Grove, CA
Students enrolled: 508
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Morningside Elementary School 1

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
MorningSide did not prepare me for middle or high scol or eve calege. Once i entered midle school i was lacking in da Engrish 7R. I was not taught how to site or right a intraduction. Or evend da pree Algreba caurse.

Morningside Elementary School 3

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
07/18/11 It is time for our Morningside officials to ask why there is such a low parental involvement at school. The school must hold a meeting every year to tell parents about the parent involvement policy and their right to be involved in their children's education. GGUSD should evaluate the effectiveness of the parental involvement policy every year. Parents have the right to frequent report about their children's progress, access to teachers, opportunities to volunteer and participate in their children's classrooms, and to observe classroom activities.
1 person found this helpful


Morningside Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2010
- a teacher
I am on staff at Morningside and I agree with the review below. Great leadership under Ms. Sugamura, however we are getting a new principal this Fall and from what I heard, she is fantastic. Every year since being designated as a PI school, we have improved our API scores, yet failed in our Hispanic subgroup as well as Special Education. What the scores DO NOT tell you is that we are the only special education school in the area;subsequently, if you have a child with a disability and you are in a different school boundary, you will be bussed outside of your boundary to attend M'side. These test scores should be sent back to the students home school to even up the playing field. M'side is being compared to other schools that DO NOT offer SDC classes. Why students with learning disabilities are even included in API scores confounds me.
2 people found this helpful

Morningside Elementary School 5

Posted April 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Morningside Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Morningside Elementary School 4

Posted December 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Morningside Elementary School 5

Posted January 03, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Morningside Elementary School
10521 Morningside Drive, Garden Grove, CA  92843
(714) 663-6328
Last modified Morningside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Morningside Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top