Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Paul's Lutheran School

Private | K-8 | 117 students

"Our School is best known for it's Christ-centered family atmosphere."
 
 

 

Living in Garden Grove

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $310,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 23, 2013

St. Paul's Lutheran School in Garden Grove is so great for many reasons. My favorite thing about St. Paul's is the staff. There is a great family feel and I am confident when I drop my student off in the morning, that I am leaving her with people that love and care about her. Another great thing about St. Paul's is that they offer much smaller class sizes than public schools. My child gets a lot of individual attention which enables her to excel at academics. While St. Paul's might not have the biggest campus, I feel like they do a good job of using the space they have to the fullest. Additionally, they have some fabulous extracurricular activities. They give the children an opportunity to try sports, music, dance and drama. St. Paul's Lutheran in Garden Grove is a great little school that offers huge benefits!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

Invested in their kids. The school and the teachers really care about the overall development of each child. They make special arrangements to keep each child challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

Great school! Teachers care about students and their achievement. I feel safe dropping my child off here, knowing they are getting a great education and are being cared for and loved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

This school is a top notch learning environmnet. The teaching staff is not only high quality educators but truly care for each and every one of their students.


Posted October 17, 2013

My older son graduated from this school and now his brother is in 2nd grade. This school has a wonderful church program for the kids. I am pleased with the school curriculum, i.e. class participation and discipline. By volunteering in the school activities, I learned that teachers shared their knowlege through their personnal research for their class lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

Our school is fabulous. My son has attended this school for 8 years. He has been taught good manners, a strong faith in God, and excellent academics. The teachers take a special interest in him and in his progress. He has learned a lot through the music program as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I sent my oldest son to this school since he was 3 1/2 until 5th grade. The teachers and the staffs are really nice and very helpful when we have any questions or concerns. My son was on top of the class since K until he finished his 5th grade. St. Paul is not only teaching him the knowledge but also discipline the behavior in students. He is now enrolling in Public school but he still maintains his high GPA. There isn't any barriers for a student from private school entering into public school. I believe St. Paul Lutheran School has helped building good foundation in him. The reasons we have to sent he to public school is due to our family financial. However, the tuition price is very affordable and it is still consider cheapest comparing to other private schools around that areas. We're now sending our little daughter to St. Paul and hoping that we can still afford and support her until she finishes it. I suggest other parents who do not have any problem with financial but want their children to obtain good knowledge and good discipline, do not hesitate by sending their children to St. Paul Lutheran School. If we have another child, St. Paul is still our number one choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I have seen first hand how the teachers interact with the students. It is beautiful to see teachers that really care and it is not just a paycheck for them. I love that my children come home everyday and tell me what they learned; they share with us about God and how they love him. We are blessed to find a great school. Thank you St. Paul's Lutheran School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

My older son is 12 years old and has been attending St. Paul's since he was in preschool at age 4. He started 7th grade this year. The school was rebuilt just over 10 years ago and it is absolutely beautiful. I have my child in this school for his christian education first but it comes with so many other benefits. Teachers that make themselves available to you at all times. Staff that is caring and loving from office to daycare. After school sport programs in 5th grade. They offer band and choir programs. Lockers for 4-8th graders. Middle school starts in 6th grade and the students rotate between 3 teachers so they will have a feel of the high school atmosphere. They offer "preparing for a degree" a program focused on challenging your child and improving their study skills. My younger son just turned 3 and started a 3 half days p/week program in their preschool. He is struggling with potty training but they did not turn him away. He enjoys school so much he asks me why he doesn't get to go every day. The staff is new I believe their second year with the school but they have been very loving to him and he feels very comfortable there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2010

Wonderful school! The teachers and staff really love and care for the children here. I always feel welcome when I come to the school. I know my child is safe when I drop her off in the morning. Great after school program as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

Christina, can you give me the school u @. the address & tel. I was thinking to change the school for my Vina. Now, @ St Paul, PreK, they do not teach my child and others kids at all, just like day care. Not even ABC...Wow, the new staffs are horrible. I am really disappointed w/ Mrs.Olga.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

I took my son out of our public school because his ADD, combined with a teacher already overwhelmed by 36 kids in her class, was lowering his self-esteem. After two weeks in Mrs. Pinkerton's 5th grade class, my son has self-confidence about completing his work! She is willing and able to give him the extra attention he needed and we are so grateful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

St.Paul's is a fantastic school! I have attended the school since pre-k, and I have attended the church since I was born.The staff is a close group of friends who work together to teach excellent lessons. The middle schoolers are very involved in helping little kids learn. This school is an excellent school with amazing teachers, and very good classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2009

St. Paul's is a wonderful school! I teach in a public school and wouldn't think of sending my children anywhere else. My children are excited to go to school, excited to learn, and are truely prepared not only for their high school education, but beyond. St. Paul's caring staff and atmosphere feel like an extended family who are there to guide and nuture our children. Thank you St. Paul's of Garden Grove!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

St. pauls' was a true blessing to my family. My children came from public school and made the transition very well to private school. We were all made to feel welcome and part of their family. They moved on to high school and were very prepared to take on a high academic high school. The warm family atmosphere was a plus for our family. We feel blessed to be a part of St. Paul's
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2007

This school is very clean, safe, and everyone in the staff is very nice. But the academic are so low, preschool class was pretty much like day care not so much of learning. I love the school and the staff too but I want my children to be up with standard of academic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

My child attended local public schools for many years and was becoming bored, which led to trouble-making. After just a few months at St. Paul's, he has made a great group of new friends and turned his academic failures into successes. He was challenged mentally and spiritually. St. Paul's has worked wonders in my child's life and I can't thank the staff enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

This school is very clean, safe, and everyone in the staff is very nice. But I don't think they challenge the students at all. They do a lot of worksheets and art that don't reflect how the students are learning. I love the school and the staff but I need more than that. I want my children to be challenged.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 26%
Hispanic 16% 52%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • World Vision 30 hr. Famine (2010)
  • World Vision 30 hr. Famine (2011)
  • World Vision 30 hr. Famine (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • sign language
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Julie Simon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (714) 741-8353

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • sign language
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girl scouts
  • Wed. Night Youth group
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
125
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
125

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Orange Lutheran High School
Garden Grove High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13082 Bowen Street
Garden Grove, CA 92843
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 534-6320

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Columban
Garden Grove, CA




Adult Education
Garden Grove, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT