Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-5|Private
42 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gardena Christian Academy 5

Posted December 10, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school! The staff is very friendly and the teachers are always available to talk to. All of my kids attend this school and its the best money I have ever spent, well worth the money. The only problem with this school is finding a continuation school at that academic level to follow. They truly put my kids ahead the game academically.

Gardena Christian Academy 5

Posted August 18, 2012
- a parent
This is a great school for those you are interested in providing a great academic foundation at an early age. Before Gardena Christian, I enrolled my son into school at age 2, and I was not happy at all so after 6 months I pulled him out. After learning about Gardena Christian Academy I decided to check it out. The staff is extremely friendly and provided me with tons of information, especially with me being a first time mom. I learned that the previous school was considered a developmental school which focuses on arts and crafts and Gardena Christian was more focused on academics which is what I wanted for my son. Using the A Beka curriculum they receive homework every week, the classrooms are very inviting and the teachers are always available to answer any questions. The daily schedule is posted outside the classrooms and they also provide hot and healthy breakfast and lunches. The school is very safe and secure and I love the way they mix religion into their program that makes it fun for the kids. If you are looking for a small academic based school where your child can be challenged and encouraged while making new friends this is the school for you.


Gardena Christian Academy 4

Posted October 11, 2009
- a parent
I absolutely love this school! My son has been going to this school half of his pre-k and is now in the kindergarten program. I really appreciate the love that the entier staff has for my son from the cook to the after-school teacher and especially the pastor. They all seem to be able to cater to my sons behavior. He's not to unruly but everyone has the paitence he needs. Thank you all very much

Gardena Christian Academy 3

Posted June 24, 2006
- a parent
My daughter is going into the 3rd grade and has been here since she was 3 years old. She is excelling in all her academics. Her teachers were great and were always available for the parents. She looks forward to going until she finishes 5th grade. Yes, the extracurricular activities are not here so she's enrolled outside for those. I highly recommend this school if your main focus is academics.

Gardena Christian Academy 3

Posted February 27, 2006
- a parent
The academic program is advanced however, the curriculum gets boring for those children that are really bright. Students receive a lot of homework. Staff needs to find alternative ways to motivate those students that don't fit into the 'traditional' classroom setting. The school puts more emphasis on reading/writing skills than math/science. The extracurricular activites are almost non-existent. The discipline policy is to basically suspend the student repeatedly instead of working with the parent/family to figure out whats going on to try to solve the cause of the problem/misbehavior. Overall its an ok school if your child fits into their program.


Gardena Christian Academy 2

Posted May 31, 2004
- a parent
My child attended this school for 6 months in preschool. The school staff lacked professionalism and was not personable as well as catered to the more outgoing kids. Bible principles were taught, but not enforced by the staff. The school also doesn't provide a well round curriculum. They don't believe in arts and crafts or creative writing. So if you want just boring academics this is the school, but if you want a well balanced school look else where.

Gardena Christian Academy 4

Posted May 12, 2004
- a parent
If your child needs one on one teaching this is the school. My child never wants to miss a day of class. Bible values are very important. The class work is Christian base. Homework takes about 90 minutes each night my child never watches TV on school night I like that! They have book reports, state projects and class trips. My child has learned great study habits

Gardena Christian Academy 2

Posted May 11, 2004
- a parent
GCA has the potential to be a great school but some teachers lack enthusiam and it reflects on the kids in the classroom. The principal has no involvement in the school at all. I was impressed by the school on 'paper' but the day to day activites just dont back up all the school claims to be. Classrooms are very structured with no room for creativity everything is 'by the book' -open the book do the work. I would like to see the children encouraged to think out of the box and learn to make informed decisions not just open to page 1 complete work now go to page 2! The children dont have many field trips or activities outside of the school books!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gardena Christian Academy
16311 South Western Avenue, Gardena, CA  90247
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (310) 527-0348
Last modified Gardena Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-5
Top