Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chapman Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Gardena

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $301,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2012

I AM EXTREMELY PLEASED WITH AND GENUINELY IMPRESSED WITH CHAPMAN ELEMENTARY!!!! IT HAS BEEN A TRUE BLESSING AND ANSWER TO MY PRAYERS, A PLACE WHERE MY SON CAN ATTEND A SAFE, FUN, AND STIMULATING CLASSROOM, TO RECEIVE AN EXCELLENT EDUCATION. THIS IS ONLY OUR 2ND SCHOOL YEAR ATTENDING,AND SO FAR BOTH TEACHERS HAVE BEEN EXCELLENT!! OUR CURRENT 1ST GR TEACHER IN RM 7 IS EXCELLENT AND SHE EMPAHSIZES RESPECFULLNESS, RESPONSIBILTY, AND BEING POLITE WHILE TEACHING OUR KIDS THIER FUNDAMENTALS IN CLASS!!!WE ARE EXTREMELY PLEASED AND FEEL FORTUNATE TO HAVE HER AS OUR TEACHER. WE ARE ALSO PLEASED WITH OUR SCHOOL PRINCIPAL,(WHICH WE REALIZE WEARS MANY HATS) YET SOMEHOW MAKES EVERYTHING RUN SMOOTHLY!!! WE HAVE AN AWESOME FACULTY, AS WELL, AND I BELEIVE TEACHERS HERE ARE WILLING TO GO THE ESTRA MILE!!! WE HAVE AN AWESOME LIBRARIAN,AND CAFETERIA MGR WHO MAKES OUR SON FEEL WELCOMED AND COMFORTABLE TO GO IN CAFETERIA TO EAT,IF HE SO CHOOSES. WE REALLY APPRECIATE THE EXTRA EFFORT SHE HAS PUT FORTH IN OUR 1ST COMPLETE YEAR HERE TO ENSURE OUR SON IS EATING!!! WE ALSO LOVE AND APPRECIATE ALL THE EXTRA HELP AVAILABLE IN THE AFTERSCHOOL INTERVENTION AND HOMEWORK CLUBS!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

The best school of my life, where I studied the fifth grade, a beautiful time of my life.


Posted January 4, 2012

I attended Chapman Elementary from preschool until 5th grade. It is a wonderful school. The teachers all genuinely care about you. They will do as much as they can to help you. I love how they made learning fun(: I remember I would visit my teachers and they all remembered me :] I'm now in 8th grade and Chapman definitely prepared me for middle school. I would recommend Chapman to anyone!


Posted November 8, 2011

I have two children at Chapman and every teacher has been a blessing. The principal is all about the students, education, and involvement. What also impresses me is the way the PTA, the teachers, and the staff work together to improve the school. One of the few schools in the area to receive the California Distinguished School Award this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

Don't be fooled....this is an excellent school...The principal, teachers and staff are so caring...The Beyond the Bell staff is great.. I really liked that the school is so diverse. My son only attended one year as a Kindergarten student and he loved it. He certainly got a great start by attending Chapman Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

Great principle, great teachers, my child loves it and shes learned so much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Chapman Elementary School is a very excellent school . That is my opinion.. The teachers,principals & the rest of the staff members are the greatest with the children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

Chapman is a great school. The admin staff & teachers really care about the students. Chapman reminds me of my elementary school back in the '70s. I wish I had sent my oldest child there instead of private school. I just wish they could incorporate music into the curriculum and organic foods into the breakfast/lunch menu. Other than that, its excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

This is actually a very good school. The teachers sincerely care about the students and it shows in the students performance. Parents are encouraged to participate and there are many activities that students can share with them. There aren't as many extracurricular activities as I would like, however the faculty more than makes up for it in what they do have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

My daughter started at Chapman in 2nd grade and we've had an exceptional experience. All of her teachers were challenging and encouraging. I appreciated the support and resources provided at every level to achieve academic and social milestones. The students were great. Chapman is one of the last schools standing that expects the best out of each student. Chapman allows your children to actually be kids. My only challenge with Chapman is the options of extracurricular activities. Ms. Hite, the Principal, has been nothing short of a blessing to the District. She is always available for consultation and goes above and beyond to assist in any way she can. She successfully manages the educational & social needs of the children, the preservation & maintenance of the facility and the needs of the faculty to the best of her ability with the resources and opportunities given. Chapman was a wonderful adventure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2004

Chapman Elementary is a great school. My daughter attended from 2nd to 5th grade and was always very happy to be there. The teachers there are always very enthusiastic and it shows that they enjoy what they do. The teachers always made it fun to learn by incorporating interesting projects into the curriculum which motivates the students to research and learn. I would definitely recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

I am a proud previous student of Chapman, the thing I remember most from my years there, are my teachers. They taught me to be the best that I can be and always go forward with my dreams. The staff at Chapman was just as awesome. I will always remember them throughout my life. This is a wonderful school! ~Amanda S. ~culminating class of 1998!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 1, 2003

I would like to thank Chapman Elementary for its committment to excellence and for reinforcing in my children the importance of being the best that they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2003

Chapman is a great school! All office staff, teachers, coaches, janitors and playground staff are awesome. They work very hard to keep this school in the great shape it's in. Everyone there is always trying to find new ways to help our children in every aspect of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

874

Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

874

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females92%
Males55%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate86%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females75%
Males53%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner61%
Fluent-English proficient and English only61%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate57%
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Females52%
Males52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate23%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females74%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate62%
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females78%
Males70%
African American82%
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner39%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate71%
Parent education - high school graduate74%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students89%
Females89%
Males90%
African American82%
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learner83%
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate94%
Parent education - high school graduate89%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Females70%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate75%
Parent education - high school graduate83%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females97%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability91%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate87%
Parent education - high school graduate93%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students69%
Females66%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate60%
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 52%
Black 19% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 11%
White 2% 26%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 441 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
74%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
73%
 

Students

This school

 
76%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
86%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
72%
 

Employees

This school

 
99%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
82%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
88%
 

Students

This school

 
67%
 

Employees

This school

 
91%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
84%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
70%
 

Employees

This school

 
98%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
89%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
89%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents23365%
Students18492%
Employees2452%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Emmanuel Annor
Fax number
  • (310) 327-3898

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1947 Marine Avenue
Gardena, CA 90249
Phone: (310) 324-2275

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT