Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Gardena, CA
Students enrolled: 420
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chapman Elementary School 4

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
My child recently entered Kindergarten about 1 month ago. So far, it is clear to me that the principal and teachers are very concerned about the upcoming standardized testing (state/district tests). I'm hoping that this same energy is placed on the overall academics and not only towards achieving high test scores. It's a bit early yet, however I will be updating my comments towards the end of the semester.

Chapman Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2012
- a parent
I AM EXTREMELY PLEASED WITH AND GENUINELY IMPRESSED WITH CHAPMAN ELEMENTARY!!!! IT HAS BEEN A TRUE BLESSING AND ANSWER TO MY PRAYERS, A PLACE WHERE MY SON CAN ATTEND A SAFE, FUN, AND STIMULATING CLASSROOM, TO RECEIVE AN EXCELLENT EDUCATION. THIS IS ONLY OUR 2ND SCHOOL YEAR ATTENDING,AND SO FAR BOTH TEACHERS HAVE BEEN EXCELLENT!! OUR CURRENT 1ST GR TEACHER IN RM 7 IS EXCELLENT AND SHE EMPAHSIZES RESPECFULLNESS, RESPONSIBILTY, AND BEING POLITE WHILE TEACHING OUR KIDS THIER FUNDAMENTALS IN CLASS!!!WE ARE EXTREMELY PLEASED AND FEEL FORTUNATE TO HAVE HER AS OUR TEACHER. WE ARE ALSO PLEASED WITH OUR SCHOOL PRINCIPAL,(WHICH WE REALIZE WEARS MANY HATS) YET SOMEHOW MAKES EVERYTHING RUN SMOOTHLY!!! WE HAVE AN AWESOME FACULTY, AS WELL, AND I BELEIVE TEACHERS HERE ARE WILLING TO GO THE ESTRA MILE!!! WE HAVE AN AWESOME LIBRARIAN,AND CAFETERIA MGR WHO MAKES OUR SON FEEL WELCOMED AND COMFORTABLE TO GO IN CAFETERIA TO EAT,IF HE SO CHOOSES. WE REALLY APPRECIATE THE EXTRA EFFORT SHE HAS PUT FORTH IN OUR 1ST COMPLETE YEAR HERE TO ENSURE OUR SON IS EATING!!! WE ALSO LOVE AND APPRECIATE ALL THE EXTRA HELP AVAILABLE IN THE AFTERSCHOOL INTERVENTION AND HOMEWORK CLUBS!!


Chapman Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2012
- a community member
The best school of my life, where I studied the fifth grade, a beautiful time of my life.

Chapman Elementary School 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a community member
I attended Chapman Elementary from preschool until 5th grade. It is a wonderful school. The teachers all genuinely care about you. They will do as much as they can to help you. I love how they made learning fun(: I remember I would visit my teachers and they all remembered me :] I'm now in 8th grade and Chapman definitely prepared me for middle school. I would recommend Chapman to anyone!

Chapman Elementary School 5

Posted November 08, 2011
- a parent
I have two children at Chapman and every teacher has been a blessing. The principal is all about the students, education, and involvement. What also impresses me is the way the PTA, the teachers, and the staff work together to improve the school. One of the few schools in the area to receive the California Distinguished School Award this year.


Chapman Elementary School 4

Posted September 06, 2011
- a parent
Don't be fooled....this is an excellent school...The principal, teachers and staff are so caring...The Beyond the Bell staff is great.. I really liked that the school is so diverse. My son only attended one year as a Kindergarten student and he loved it. He certainly got a great start by attending Chapman Elementary.

Chapman Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 10, 2010
- a parent
Great principle, great teachers, my child loves it and shes learned so much.

Chapman Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
Chapman Elementary School is a very excellent school . That is my opinion.. The teachers,principals & the rest of the staff members are the greatest with the children


Chapman Elementary School 4

Posted April 21, 2007
- a parent
Chapman is a great school. The admin staff & teachers really care about the students. Chapman reminds me of my elementary school back in the '70s. I wish I had sent my oldest child there instead of private school. I just wish they could incorporate music into the curriculum and organic foods into the breakfast/lunch menu. Other than that, its excellent!

Chapman Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 21, 2006
- a parent
This is actually a very good school. The teachers sincerely care about the students and it shows in the students performance. Parents are encouraged to participate and there are many activities that students can share with them. There aren't as many extracurricular activities as I would like, however the faculty more than makes up for it in what they do have.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chapman Elementary School
1947 Marine Avenue, Gardena, CA  90249
(310) 324-2275
Last modified Chapman Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chapman Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top