Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,475 students|Gilroy Unified
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 49 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Gilroy High School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted September 16, 2015
- a community member
The school leadership! Cleaned house and turned things around! Keep it up, I have two more going through GHS!

Gilroy High School 5

Posted September 16, 2015
- a community member
Great opportunities for students! The school has really turned around in the last few years!


Gilroy High School 5

Posted September 07, 2015
- a parent
Heard horror stories about Gilroy. Read the great schools reviews and noticed that the review were quite a while ago. I moved to the area and was concerned. I called school and asked to speak to the principal... I was amazed that he was available and answered all my questions. He asked me if I wanted to visit the school with my daughter. He took us for a tour! I was very surprised to see a very neat orderly and clean school. I talked to a few teachers and were very positive and enthusiastic about the school. My daughter is enrolled now and is having a great time! The campus is beautiful...impressed so far!! Looking real good.

Gilroy High School 4

Posted September 06, 2015
- a teacher
The majority of the staff genuinely care about the kids at GHS. Their expectations for students are that they will be productive and creative, caring members of society and many of the staff live and teach by that philosophy.. I've been a teacher here for 17 years and have seen the school change dramatically from being overcrowded with aging facilities and huge teacher and administration turn over rates, to now a beautiful campus with a strong administration team and teachers and students who truly care about the students, school, and each other. I feel the difference daily in my attitude and especially the students' attitudes. A true vibe of pride in ourselves, each other, and our school.

Gilroy High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted September 06, 2015
- a teacher
There are some extremely effective teachers at this school and some not at all. But the majority are effective.


Gilroy High School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a teacher
Yes.. Especially when we reflect with our students on the six pillars of Character Counts.

Gilroy High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a teacher
I agree that we do and I have witnessed the students' compassion and empathy countless times over the years. Teachers like Jeff Manker who teaches science consistently provides students with opportunities to care for the environment on a personal and group level. And compassion and empathy is at the core of Janet Lavelle's anti-bullying club. Saying that, I would like to see more community outreach and involvement by the students and teachers . I would love for students to have even more opportunity to really show what they can do in service to society and the world. Wouldn't it be great if each discipline had a particular program for students to volunteer and not only get their service hours, but learn even more what it means to be part of an actively caring society.

Gilroy High School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 06, 2015
- a teacher
Many of the teachers actually teach strong positive character integrated into their subjects. Also, they walk the walk they expect their students to walk.


Gilroy High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
I have never been a fan of overwhelming kids with hours of homework. When all the classes have projects and homework that can be the case.

Gilroy High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 02, 2015
- a parent
GHS has more AP classes than the competing high school in town. Also, GHS's science department is AMAZING.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gilroy High School
750 West Tenth Street, Gilroy, CA  95020-6333
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 49 reviews. (408) 847-2424
Last modified Gilroy High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top