Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Gilroy, CA
Students enrolled: 757
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Las Animas Elementary School 1

Posted April 05, 2014
- a parent
You just have to look at the comment posted on February 14, 2009. It was posted by a teacher at this school.

Las Animas Elementary School 1

Posted February 26, 2014
- a parent
Don't let this school's high API score fool you. No field trips and no class celebrations are the result of the time spent in class repeating, as opposed to learning concepts. Students review material excessively, to ensure memorization and high scores. There is more to education than satisfying the school administration's self interest. This school needs a change of administration, office staff and purpose.


Las Animas Elementary School 1

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
Dual Immersion Program at this school not 50/50 immersion. Average Spanish teachers. Been there, done that, wasted our time.

Las Animas Elementary School 1

Posted January 31, 2014
- a parent
Disappointed with the school. Lack of communication. Administrators seem to care less about certain groups of kids. Only school in the district with a history of no field trips and limits on class celebrations.

Las Animas Elementary School 1

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
Forgot to mention, teachers need to dress like teachers. Some teachers show their cleavage which is not appropriate. This needs to be corrected and discussed to all teachers!!!


Las Animas Elementary School 1

Posted May 09, 2012
- a parent
We are very disappointed with this school. Lack of communication from principal and teachers has been a huge issue. We came mid year from out of state. On the first day of school we were not allowed to walk our children to the classroom or to speak with the teachers. We tried to set up meetings through emails that went unanswered. Went to the front office to set up a time to meet and was instructed to call the class room from the office but, the teachers were not in the classroom(many substitutes at this school for meetings during the school day). Finally when I did get to meet with one teacher(have to this day never met my other child's teacher) by going to the classroom after school was unaware after 3 weeks that my child had IEP! We get no class work, tests even art work sent home EVER. We have no clue how our child is doing until we get the report card home and if your child is not struggling you do not get a parent teacher conference. Everything seems to be taught to the test. One child has never stepped foot in the school library. I would steer clear of this school.

Las Animas Elementary School 5

Posted January 09, 2011
- a parent
An excellent school with great teachers and principal that work well as a team. I especially like the focus on character and good citizenship.

Las Animas Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
I love the dual immersion program that my girls are in at Las Animas Elementary school.


Las Animas Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 07, 2010
- a parent
My daugher, first grade student in the bilingual program, has fantastic teachers (both in Spanish and English). Parents are extremely involved supporting all kind of activities for the kids and rising funds for different programs. This program is a hidden treasure!

Las Animas Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Las Animas Elementary School
6550 Cimino Street, Gilroy, CA  95020
(408) 842-6414
Last modified Las Animas Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Las Animas Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top