Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Glendale Montessori School

Private | K-6 | 61 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $325,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,490.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 8, 2014

Nina its me, Luke I know GMES wen out of business but I'm gonna find a way to donate so you can get you school back!


Posted November 10, 2013

I feel like the negative reviews below must surely be about a different school because they contrast so completely with our own experience here, and with those of the other families we know who go here. Perhaps these families meant to review the other similarly named Montessori school in Glendale - the one on Pacific vs. this one on Doran? Though come to think of it, I've never heard anything but praise for that school as well. Anyway, our daughter has been at this school for two years, and we find it to be such a lovely, warm and pressure-free educational environment. Our daughter has learned so much, but her learning is, in the true Montessori tradition, self-directed rather than teacher-led. It's true that the class sizes are fairly large, but that's actually entirely consistent with the Montessori philosophy, which values independence and gives children the space and time to work on their own rather than under the constant supervision or with the constant direction of a teacher. Every child is different I guess, but mine loves this school, and I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2012

We could not be happier with our decision to send our children to this very special school. Despite the learning differences between our two boys, they have both been able to flourish and soar under the care and tutelage of the teachers. We feel that great care and attention has been given to both boys. The teachers are gifted, caring, know their craft and truly love what they do. We feel blessed and believe that our children have been given the best foundation for learning and to further their future education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2012

Children are pressured to perform. We thought we were getting a Montessori education, but we had a child that felt bad about herself because she was pressured to read at 4. We were told she would have to repeat kindergarten. The spark in her eyes disappeared and she would cry not to go to school. The class sizes got bigger and bigger, until they swelled to nearly 30 students per class. This school describes itself as having 60 students, but it is more like 106. Some children get lost in a large class and cannot attain their true potential. Since she left this school, the spark has returned and her confidence is flourishing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

This is a school that understands and nurtures every child as an individual while helping them learn to be a constructive member of the school as a whole. Our son was identified as having learning difficulties in 1st grade, two grades earlier than dyslexia is typically identified. They helped us find a great specialist teacher to help and integrated his extra tuition seamlessly into the normal day. The school is currently expanding to take kids through to 6th grade, eliminating the difficult task of finding a school of equal quality for those vital formative years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

We did not feel comfortable in continuing to send our child to this school with a number of discrepancies there were, especially in regard to classroom management techniques or lack of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

If you are guiding principal in life is rules, this is the school for you. My child was treated badly, by a smiling teacher who continually quoted arbitrary rules. Quite honestly, I found the place inhumane and still apologize to my son for sending him there. They talk a good game, so beware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

Daughter of a true Montessorian. My mother owned a Montessori school for over 30 years. This is one of the best schools in Cali. Can't say enough. Teachers care about their children. Kids are happy and are excited about learning. They are doing everything right at this school. A MUST-SEE for parents looking for a school for their child!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

Both of my children attended this school from PreK through 2nd grade. This is a true Montessori school, from the teachers to the classroom materials to the guiding philosophy, they stay true to the Montessori method, so you should be familiar with that if you're going to choose this school. That being said, we loved this school. Children are encouraged to follow their innate curiosity rather than just stick to the lesson plan. Most any school can teach a child the basics of reading, writing and math - but to accomplish that without squashing that natural joy of discovery with which they all enter school is another matter and to do it in an environment that respects the child's individuality is even more rare. This school fosters a sense of respect and inclusiveness that is really something special - there are no cliques or bullies, and yes, that starts in 1st and 2nd grade, but there is zero tolerance for that here, not because the teachers are strict (they are loving and nurturing) but because respect is the guiding principal of the school and it informs every interaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

We sent our two children to Glendale Montessori from the ages of three all the way through the second grade. During the second to last we year we had an opportunity to move out of state, but we actually postponed the move for a year because we knew that the care, love and education that our son was receiving from his teachers and school was high above the average school experience. The teachers at this school treat and teach each child as an individual. In addition, they guide them to care for each other and the world outside. Most importantly, they instill in them a love of learning and a deep curiosity about how the world works. As we have moved to new schools I have observed what a strong foundation of education they received from Glendale Montessori. My only criticism of this school is that it does not go through high school. If it did we would certainly be there for the long run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

Our kids had such a great experience in this school that we had all three of them graduate from there even though it was quite a distance and a chore with drop off and pick up once the older kids moved up to another school. The teachers encouraged and nurtured them. Our kids had a great relationship with them and so did we as parents. They made time at a moments notice when we had questions about your kids' progress or just had a question about how our kids' day went. The environment in the classroom invites exploration and those with inquisitive minds will not lack materials to learn from. There are a lot of opportunities for parents to be involved. The field trips they have encourage active learning and the teachers are so enthusiastic that the kids cannot help but be pulled into the learning process. We love this school so much it was bitter sweet when our youngest graduated from there. Our eldest still remember this school fondly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2011

We had a positive experience with this school. It s nourished our child s maturity and love of learning. The teachers instilled in him, not only expected basic skills, but went above our expectations in caring about his social, emotional, as well as academic development. The teachers always approached us if there where any concerns, whether it be an issue in a certain subject or trouble with a friend or classmate. There was little need for parental involvement because the teachers quickly let us know about any problems or improvements. We had a great relationship with the principal as well. In addition to the value we place in this school, our child was always in a good dynamic with his teachers and classmates. He remembers the school fondly. As parents, we are lucky to have had such an experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

Glendale Montessori has instilled in my daughters the joy of learning and encouraged them to follow their curiosity to learn more and more. We have been so blessed with wonderful teachers, administration, parent community, etc. that we are hard-pressed to find an equivalent school as our oldest leaves second grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

Such an amazing experience for my child. The materials in the classroom are fascinating - flower arranging, sewing, hammering. All learning is by doing, not by being lectured at. For example, instead of looking at pictures of planets, there are actual planets that the students hold and place on a diagram of the solar system. On a recent trip, my son (4) was talking to a businessman on the plane. My son told him all the planets in order, stated that pluto is no longer a planet, and then proceeded to tell him where the astroid belt fell in relationship to the other planets. The business man, who has a two year old son, asked me, 'Where does your son go to school? I want my kid to go there.' My son is reading, learning math, and making friends with other kind children. We love this school! (Downside: very little parent involvement)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

This is the sweetest little school! We love everything about it, from the Montessori method that has opened up the world to our daughter, to the fun, loving, yet disciplined atmosphere the teachers and staff foster. The children learn respect for others as well as self reliance on themselves. I can't say enough about how fantastic our experience here has been for all 3 years! We look forward to sending our son here when he's old enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2006

Glendale Montessori is a magical school. The Montessori philosophy is very mindful of children and how they develop. This philosophy is followed lovingly. The teachers are exceptional and have a true calling for their work. The classrooms are full of light, very clean, well organized. Children are free to develop their fullest potential. There is a large shady playground with loads of room to run around. On my child's first day the other children came up and introduced themselves (no prompting by adults). This school fosters independence. It is a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

Great school, great academics very happy with the administration. My child just loved the atmosphere. Would recommend to all who are interested.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

This is simply a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2005

This is a wonder pre-k through 2nd grade school - warm, caring teachers who are truly dedicated to their students, the school and the Montessori method. We didn't know much about Montessori before visiting the school, but have been very impressed with how it has fostered a real love of learning in our daughter. Great school if you are looking for a blend of independent learning and a strong academic foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2004

this a really good school for academics and disipline. but is not really okay with parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Anita Tuchrello
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

413 West Doran Street
Glendale, CA 91203
Phone: (818) 240-9415

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT