Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Balboa Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 17, 2014

Balboa Elementary is not a diverse school. I was an active parent volunteering and part of the PTA. But if you are not Areminian you and your child are segregated. My child's teacher ran her second grade class with unrealistic strict guidelines. At times 7-9 sheets of homework! Really? How much can a 6-7 yr retain. When my concerns were brought to her and the principal's attention nothing was done. My request for an assessment were ignored. For three years my child received report cards stating he was performing below grade level and somehow he was passed onto the next grade. My child has suffered with severe anxiety towards school and started not wanting to go to school. The anxiety developed when he would be timed on his reading and math!! Ridiculous that a child is made to suffer in such a manner! Shame on you Mrs Richter for running a school that is only concerned about test scores and drilling our children. Balboa is the poster school of what is wrong with our school systems today and why the importance of education is lost in todays youth! Good riddance Balboa and disappointing staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2014

This school is fantastic. As for all the parents complaining about lack of diversity, more than half of Glendale's population is Armenian. Do you expect Balboa to pick and choose its students? Do you think it's a part of a conspiracy? It's like sending your children to school in Chicago and complaining that 90% of the students are African Americans. Your comments are ridiculous. It is human behavior to socialize with and be comfortable around people who you can relate with and it is obvious that the language is one type of familiarity between the adolescents. Why do you take offense at your children taking Armenian and learning the language. If your concerns are truly valid, you should encourage diversity by having your child learn Armenian and set a precedent. However, you choose to complain about diversity.


Posted May 20, 2014

I recently moved to the area and I am very unsatified with this school. There is no cultural diversity here, about 90% of the population is Armenian, they are rude and they don't speak English. I plan to move my daughter out of this school. Faculty and staff seem to care just about keeping a high API so they can look as good as other schools in GUSD. The office staff is horrible, no manners, no people skills. Just because there is not education required to become office staff doesn't justify their rudeness and lack of empathy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2014

My son is a recent transfer student to Balboa and I am honestly beyond disappointed. As the previous review states there is no diversity here; my child is of mixed race and is constantly ostracized and made fun of. Almost the entire office staff is rude or unfriendly and from day 1 we did not feel welcomed. The teachers are strict which I don't mind but its almost to the point where its run like a military academy. We have not been on one field trip and its February and there are no creative projects. My child has had a horrible time adjusting and now dreads going to school every morning. As a parent it has been heartbreaking and we will NOT be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

My kids are attending Balboa Elementary School in Glendale. This is their first year and so far, I'm very happy with the education they are receiving. Their teacher is very nice, yet strict. I have volunteered couple of times in the classroom and I was very satisfied with what I observed. The school seems to be very clean, but the bathrooms do need work. I wish they could monitor it more often. There are kids from all kinds of nationalities, same goes for teachers and staff. I have not seen any mistreatment so far. Balboa Elementary is located in a very safe and nice neighborhood. It's a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

I am so extreamly disappionted with this school. Starting with the front office. I have only experianced a negative energy almost like I am always in the way. Never someone to help sign out a child or answer a question. They lack knowledge as to how things should be to. The whole staff including the Kindergarten Teachers I have come into contact with seems to lack overall Human Kindness. My son was hurt ( Stitches were Required) during school hours and they were NOT helpful to him or myself. Also the other parents are pretty hard. Almost all Armenians! Not Caucasian. SO if you dont look like them they segregate you. It is terrible.... Also it seems the school DOES NOT have the childerns best interest as there number 1 priority. What matters most to this school seems to be there very strict Policies. The curriculum is good and school grounds are very nice. The only positive things I can say about Baboa school. You have to ask yourself what matters most to you as a parent. A school who teaches to be positive and careing young childern or Stictly based on there neatness of school work and school policies ect. I am not one to write reviews, I wish I had known this aspect. :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

This is my daughters second years attending to this school. I'm so satisfied by principle, teachers and staffs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

I've had great memories at Balboa Elementary. Very good teachers, friendly environment, and a very safe school.


Posted September 24, 2013

I have been a parent at Balboa Elementary school for 8 years. I didn't even research the schools when we first registered, basically it was being the closest to us that mattered. Now, I can tell it is one of the best schools in the area. Balboa has a high API score thanks to the leadership and the teachers. Sending our kids to Balboa was the best step we took for our kids future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

This school is a great school. Kids deserve to have everything needed for their education and growing.


Posted August 23, 2013

i love my kid school and i want the be more good i love the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

Balboa school is the best. The teachers are smart, and friendly. The staff are nice. My two son's are happy. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

I love this school It treats everyone the same and has no bad teachers or staff. I went from mommy and me and will continue until the end. Excellent school no problem with it.


Posted April 27, 2011

The standards, I feel, have dropped at this school since we started. At first this was a very nice little school, over the years, classes have gotten bigger, budget cuts made, teachers have left and the cultural mix becomes so diverse that I am often at the gate with no one else speaking english around me. My children all say everyone speaks armenian around them, and I think they feel isolated too. The teachers try hard, but we have seen this school really drop.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2011

I don't know what school Dec 2008 was visiting - but it wasn't Balboa. Balboa is a fantastic school with a very dedicated Principal, staff, and much involved PTA and parent base. There are monthly activities such as Halloween Pumpkin Patch, Father-Daughter Dance socials, and Spring Fling Carnival to name a few. With a tradition of good involved parent volunteers who help bring Music and Arts programs to the classrooms and help the kids. Yes, the population is primarily Armenian. But we also have a large population of Hispanic and Asian. So it is by no means one dimensional. Speaking a particular language has never been required or stressed. And of all my years as a parent at Balboa - a child has nevered simply "walked out the gates." Is Balboa perfect ?- certainly not. But for a public school - I can not imagine much better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2009

Balboa is a really good school. The teahers students and the staff are really nice. allthough the food needs to be improved. Everything else is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2008

As far as education goes this school is fine. However, culturally and socially this school is horrible. There is almost zero diversity at Balboa and students who are picked on for not being part of the majority get very little support from the faculty in those matters. I was even told that if I want my child to fit in I should enroll him in classes where he can learn to speak Armenian. The administrative staff has been unfriendly, unhelpful and even hostile at times and the lack of supervision after school is ridiculous. Children are allowed to wander out of the gates without anyone watching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

I pulled my daughter out of a private school and enrolled her in balboa last year during Kindergarten. I was very happy with the teacher and and the academics. She learned how to read and write in a 2nd grade level. I love the monthly spirtit rallies and the fact the principal knows every child by name. I made the best decision last year and am very happy with her 1st grade teacher this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

This is a neighborhood school that truly feels as though the community is involved. My chidren have attended for the past five years, during which the scores and programs have continued to improve. The PTA is active, as is the Booster Club, though as is typical a small number of parents run the activities of both. The principal is strict and yet imbues a sense of fun into the academics, with monthly spirit rallies and theme days. Seasonal schoolwide activities also help bring out the comraderie among students. The vast majority of the teachers I have encountered are incredibly dedicated to their profession and the students, and find ways to teach the standards that still allow for creativity and fun in the classroom. I would highly recommend this school to anyone considering moving to this pocket of NW Glendale.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2006

The teachers and principal are caring and responsive. Facilities are nice. The school administration is somewhat disorganized as far as procedures for picking up and dropping off children. The cultural majority of the students is Armenian. The major drawback to this school is the lack of cultural diversity. This is especially apparent in the lower grades, where in my child's class there are only 2 non-Armenians in a class of about 25 students. If this school had a more diverse population, I would rate it much higher.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

899

Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

899

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-7

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females83%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner71%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students71%
Females73%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females65%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability66%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)52%
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females79%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate88%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females79%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner48%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate70%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females85%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students69%
Females74%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner29%
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate78%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students83%
Females86%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students74%
Females76%
Males71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females83%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner65%
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students74%
Females72%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 76%
Hispanic 14%
Asian 5%
Black 2%
Two or more races 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/AN/A
English language learners 42%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lena Richter
Fax number
  • (818) 241-5557

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1844 Bel Aire Drive
Glendale, CA 91201
Phone: (818) 241-1801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Montessori Academy
Glendale, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT