Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Glendale, CA
Students enrolled: 588
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Balboa Elementary School 1

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
Balboa Elementary is not a diverse school. I was an active parent volunteering and part of the PTA. But if you are not Areminian you and your child are segregated. My child's teacher ran her second grade class with unrealistic strict guidelines. At times 7-9 sheets of homework! Really? How much can a 6-7 yr retain. When my concerns were brought to her and the principal's attention nothing was done. My request for an assessment were ignored. For three years my child received report cards stating he was performing below grade level and somehow he was passed onto the next grade. My child has suffered with severe anxiety towards school and started not wanting to go to school. The anxiety developed when he would be timed on his reading and math!! Ridiculous that a child is made to suffer in such a manner! Shame on you Mrs Richter for running a school that is only concerned about test scores and drilling our children. Balboa is the poster school of what is wrong with our school systems today and why the importance of education is lost in todays youth! Good riddance Balboa and disappointing staff!

Balboa Elementary School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a community member
This school is fantastic. As for all the parents complaining about lack of diversity, more than half of Glendale's population is Armenian. Do you expect Balboa to pick and choose its students? Do you think it's a part of a conspiracy? It's like sending your children to school in Chicago and complaining that 90% of the students are African Americans. Your comments are ridiculous. It is human behavior to socialize with and be comfortable around people who you can relate with and it is obvious that the language is one type of familiarity between the adolescents. Why do you take offense at your children taking Armenian and learning the language. If your concerns are truly valid, you should encourage diversity by having your child learn Armenian and set a precedent. However, you choose to complain about diversity.


Balboa Elementary School 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
I recently moved to the area and I am very unsatified with this school. There is no cultural diversity here, about 90% of the population is Armenian, they are rude and they don't speak English. I plan to move my daughter out of this school. Faculty and staff seem to care just about keeping a high API so they can look as good as other schools in GUSD. The office staff is horrible, no manners, no people skills. Just because there is not education required to become office staff doesn't justify their rudeness and lack of empathy.

Balboa Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
Balboa elementary school were the best years of my live. It is any amazing school and it will stay forever.

Balboa Elementary School 2

Posted February 15, 2014
- a parent
My son is a recent transfer student to Balboa and I am honestly beyond disappointed. As the previous review states there is no diversity here; my child is of mixed race and is constantly ostracized and made fun of. Almost the entire office staff is rude or unfriendly and from day 1 we did not feel welcomed. The teachers are strict which I don't mind but its almost to the point where its run like a military academy. We have not been on one field trip and its February and there are no creative projects. My child has had a horrible time adjusting and now dreads going to school every morning. As a parent it has been heartbreaking and we will NOT be returning next year.


Balboa Elementary School 4

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
My kids are attending Balboa Elementary School in Glendale. This is their first year and so far, I'm very happy with the education they are receiving. Their teacher is very nice, yet strict. I have volunteered couple of times in the classroom and I was very satisfied with what I observed. The school seems to be very clean, but the bathrooms do need work. I wish they could monitor it more often. There are kids from all kinds of nationalities, same goes for teachers and staff. I have not seen any mistreatment so far. Balboa Elementary is located in a very safe and nice neighborhood. It's a very good school.

Balboa Elementary School 1

Posted October 13, 2013
- a parent
I am so extreamly disappionted with this school. Starting with the front office. I have only experianced a negative energy almost like I am always in the way. Never someone to help sign out a child or answer a question. They lack knowledge as to how things should be to. The whole staff including the Kindergarten Teachers I have come into contact with seems to lack overall Human Kindness. My son was hurt ( Stitches were Required) during school hours and they were NOT helpful to him or myself. Also the other parents are pretty hard. Almost all Armenians! Not Caucasian. SO if you dont look like them they segregate you. It is terrible.... Also it seems the school DOES NOT have the childerns best interest as there number 1 priority. What matters most to this school seems to be there very strict Policies. The curriculum is good and school grounds are very nice. The only positive things I can say about Baboa school. You have to ask yourself what matters most to you as a parent. A school who teaches to be positive and careing young childern or Stictly based on there neatness of school work and school policies ect. I am not one to write reviews, I wish I had known this aspect. :(

Balboa Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
This is my daughters second years attending to this school. I'm so satisfied by principle, teachers and staffs.


Balboa Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a community member
I've had great memories at Balboa Elementary. Very good teachers, friendly environment, and a very safe school.

Balboa Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
I have been a parent at Balboa Elementary school for 8 years. I didn't even research the schools when we first registered, basically it was being the closest to us that mattered. Now, I can tell it is one of the best schools in the area. Balboa has a high API score thanks to the leadership and the teachers. Sending our kids to Balboa was the best step we took for our kids future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Balboa Elementary School
1844 Bel Aire Drive, Glendale, CA  91201
(818) 241-1801
Last modified Balboa Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Balboa Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top