Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
34 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mark Keppel Elementary School 2

Posted March 15, 2016
- a parent
I LOVED Keppel when my child entered kindergarten, but over the years I've become less and less enamored. This school has gone through three principals in 6 years, and some of the teaching staff are ineffective -- and worse yet, some seem to dislike children and yet continue to cling to their jobs to get that pension. My child has had GREAT teachers every other year: in kindergarten, second grade, and fourth grade. But TERRIBLE teachers in first, third, and fifth. Consistently get one to two hours of homework per night, but I am told the assignments should take my child "30 minutes, tops." What elementary school kid can be relied on to read 5+ textbook pages and answer six questions for social studies; complete two math worksheets full of algebraic equations most of us didn't learn until high school; and study for weekly spelling and vocabulary tests -- all within 30 minutes? And don't even get me started on the Common Core, though that is not unique to this school. One positive: communication between school administration and parents has improved some over the years.

Mark Keppel Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Ms. Baldwin. She is the best teacher and human being I know. Also Ms. Hohensee & Ms. Kenney.


Mark Keppel Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Only 4th and 5th grade. The worst experience of dealing with inefficient an ineffective teachers. K-3 were fine.

Mark Keppel Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
It is too much almost crazy. Three teacher with three different style. One of them very scary even for a parent and thinks she is teaching college kids!

Mark Keppel Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
They are giving so much homework despite the new common core standards that my kid is up till 10:30 at night. They might be trying to develop persistence. I am not sure.


Mark Keppel Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
My child learned horrible words in this school, I am not sure if it is the case in all schools across town. Curse words in different languages. The ones never used at home or neighborhood!!

Mark Keppel Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Unfortunately a lot of bullying goes on in this school! What this school cares more about is collecting money from parents from beginning till the end of year.

Mark Keppel Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted December 02, 2015
- a parent
Honesty: how can a kid be honest all the time if he is scared of a teacher?! Integrity: Same as above & below. Fairness: NONE! Staff take sides if a child is from their own specific ethnic group (Glendale dominated ethnicity)


Mark Keppel Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a parent
My child just finished kindergarten here and started 1st grade this month. My husband and I have been very happy with our son's experience. The teachers we have gotten to know, as well as the administrators, have all been welcoming, kind and gracious. I am a very involved mom at school, and so far no question I have asked or comments I have made have been met with anything other than respect and courtesy. My son went in to 1st grade reading and loving school. The parents, especially the PTA and the foundation, work SO hard to raise funds for the school and host a variety of fun events. There are plenty of ways to get involved in the school. We applied to Keppel as part of the magnet program; it is not our neighborhood school, so we had a lot at stake if it didn't work out. So far, we are absolutely delighted and look forward to the coming years. Mrs. Sondergaard is a great principal, and she and Mrs. Ouweleen (asst. principal) care deeply about the school, the kids and their staff. It's obvious that they realize a happy "family" includes all stakeholders. The teachers and other staff seem happy to be there. What more can you ask for?

Mark Keppel Elementary School 1

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
This is a terrible school located in a lovely neighborhood. The teachers are terrible & completely out of touch with modern education. The parents are suffering from a mass delusion that the school is great. The front desk administrators are very rude. Do not send your child here if you think your child has any chance of going onto higher education. Principal only cares about the teachers not the kids.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mark Keppel Elementary School
730 Glenwood Road, Glendale, CA  91202-1524
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (818) 244-2113
Last modified Mark Keppel Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top