Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
33 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
For The Most part it's just right. Every now and then it's a little too much

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
Everyone I have come across cares, and it really shows. Everyone is friendly and genuine!


Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
My boys have been going to this school for 5 years now. I love all of the teachers that they have had. Mr. Le Blanc, Mrs. Severe, Mrs. Galaz, Mr. D etc. They have genuine teachers that really care. And so much fundraising and parent participation goes on at this school. If I had to change anything, it would be to add a little more color to the diversity pool. But over all great school. Love Mrs. Provost!

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank the principle for a great programs she has going on in her school. From the pickup and drop of system to the flag assembly's, to the front office people. And all the activities the school has going on. I was a parent of a kindergarten student and we unfortunately did not finish the school year because of a move we made to a different state. My sons teachers were amazing. He learned so much. If I had a question it was answered right away, I never had an issue with anything. She helped me better my son above and beyond!! She helps each and every child as if it was her own. True teacher. I'm very happy to have had an experience with a great teacher to know a great one from a good one. I even miss the load of hm he used to get. His new school doesn't get half and to make up for it I give him extra. I miss VW. A great community wish I would have stayed longer!! I even miss the Thursday folder! Thank you very much for such a great experience Mrs. Kingsbury, and Ms. Provost.

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 1

Posted November 21, 2014
- a parent
Every day my child brings home a pile of papers that must be signed. And if for some reason the parents forget to sign one of the pieces of paper, give the child the orange form, which we must also sign. This formal approach is driving me crazy. Child instead of focusing on homework (math, English, science) has to remember about all of these pieces of paper. Let's think about saving trees and leave the kids alone.


Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
My kid goes emersion JDL program there. Teachers are great and take care of kids. We are very happy for teachers and parents involved classes and volunteer work. Hearing great things about principal than previous principal from parents. only thing school is too many students and not happy about lunch menu at school. Awful for picking up and dropping off students. You need to have 15 min extra time to drop kids off for dropping / picking up line. Too crowded. That is why my review is 4 star. Teachers and school themselves are great I think.

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2013
- a parent
Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School is a very great place.I am happy that my kids go to this school.The teacher's are very nice and supportive.

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 2

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
what makes a great school? well a whole lot, a high API does not necessarily mean a good school overall. There are certain etnic groups attending this school who are simply grade pushers. the school is over crowded, thanks to the same group of people who will do anything to get in, I believe everysingle residence in the area has some child enrolled in there. parent involvement is superb, and again the school is playing extreme favoritism with these families. God forbid if you are a working parent who don't have time to sit around and mingle and chat and cut collored paper over coffee... then nobody knows who your child is and what your needs are... the previous principal never gave us an appntmt. to share our concerns with her, the new one is much approachable, but we will be graduating this year and the concerns are too old too be solved.


Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter has finished 4 years at VWS and our son two years in the Japanese Dual Language program. This school is truly OUTSTANDING! Teacher experiences have all been good and mostly outstanding. There is a HUGE parent involvement in the school, far beyond what I ever saw with my four grown kids anywhere. The few complaints in reviews are not indicative of the overall experience at the school and sound like a few people going overboard with a minor personal experience with an individual or personality differences. I know Mrs. Buhl quite well and while some feel she is distant or uncaring, my opinion is she has always worked hard to make VWS the "best" (and she is very overworked). FYI, she has been promoted up into the school district and a new principal begins this school year, and she is a very kind and involved educator.

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2011
- a parent
We love Verdugo Woodlands! Our daughter is enrolled in the Japanese Dual Language Program, which is amazing. Great teachers and staff, and LOTS of parent involvement.

Nearby schools

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School
1751 North Verdugo Road, Glendale, CA  91208-2999
(818) 241-2433
Last modified Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top