Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 29 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
My kid goes emersion JDL program there. Teachers are great and take care of kids. We are very happy for teachers and parents involved classes and volunteer work. Hearing great things about principal than previous principal from parents. only thing school is too many students and not happy about lunch menu at school. Awful for picking up and dropping off students. You need to have 15 min extra time to drop kids off for dropping / picking up line. Too crowded. That is why my review is 4 star. Teachers and school themselves are great I think.

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 2

Posted March 15, 2013
- a parent
what makes a great school? well a whole lot, a high API does not necessarily mean a good school overall. There are certain etnic groups attending this school who are simply grade pushers. the school is over crowded, thanks to the same group of people who will do anything to get in, I believe everysingle residence in the area has some child enrolled in there. parent involvement is superb, and again the school is playing extreme favoritism with these families. God forbid if you are a working parent who don't have time to sit around and mingle and chat and cut collored paper over coffee... then nobody knows who your child is and what your needs are... the previous principal never gave us an appntmt. to share our concerns with her, the new one is much approachable, but we will be graduating this year and the concerns are too old too be solved.


Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter has finished 4 years at VWS and our son two years in the Japanese Dual Language program. This school is truly OUTSTANDING! Teacher experiences have all been good and mostly outstanding. There is a HUGE parent involvement in the school, far beyond what I ever saw with my four grown kids anywhere. The few complaints in reviews are not indicative of the overall experience at the school and sound like a few people going overboard with a minor personal experience with an individual or personality differences. I know Mrs. Buhl quite well and while some feel she is distant or uncaring, my opinion is she has always worked hard to make VWS the "best" (and she is very overworked). FYI, she has been promoted up into the school district and a new principal begins this school year, and she is a very kind and involved educator.

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 5

Posted August 02, 2011
- a parent
We love Verdugo Woodlands! Our daughter is enrolled in the Japanese Dual Language Program, which is amazing. Great teachers and staff, and LOTS of parent involvement.

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 1

Posted May 11, 2011
- a parent
This school has quite a few very lazy teachers and principal doesn't want to to anything about it. I have reported it to the principal but she was very negative about it. She is there to protect the lazy teacher not the students who suffered under the lazy teacher. I moved out from this school district. I would say 20% of the teachers are good.


Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 1

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
We moved out of the district a few weeks ago and realized our 3rd grader still had money on her lunch account. I called the school and was redirected to food services. Found out we had about $10 left on the account and were told we couldn't get the money back because the bank charged $15 to do a refund. I asked if the money could be transfered to her new school and was told "no". Are you kidding me!!! I ended up having the money transfered to the account of one of the students in her class. This is absolutely ridiculous!

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
VW is a wonderful school! The teachers are great and very caring. Parents are very involved and create a community. I love this school and am very happy that my son is able to go here!

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 5

Posted May 10, 2011
- a parent
Verdugo Woodlands is a fantastic school with amazing parent involvement and dedicated and creative teachers and staff! Many arts programs are offered to students, as well. Love this school!


Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 1

Posted March 09, 2011
- a parent
6 1/2 hour wait just register, only to be told that utility bills were inacceptable. It is not specified on the information worksheet.

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
VW is a terrific school. My children have thrived, even when challenged. The administration is very good. Mrs Buhl is actually a very likable and caring principle. She has a huge job and little assistance. If you are pleseant and get involved, you will feel much more a part of the family. As for Pat, she is lovely and has taken great care of my entire family. Again, these hard working people need to be given some respect and understanding. They are dealing with 600 children and their families. I recommend involvement in volunteering in the classroom, help with the fundraising, attend the PTA and WAVE mtgs, get informed and involved!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School
1751 North Verdugo Road, Glendale, CA  91208
(818) 241-2433
Last modified Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Verdugo Woodlands Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews.