Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

R. D. White Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $378,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,560.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2009

After our first year I am pleased with how well the Principal is involved in all of the student activities and reaches out to parents....I like there push for READING everyday and I like how they take a team apporach to discipline (parent, teacher, principal)...the front desk folks aren't as thorough and seem cluesless w/o the principal or assistant principal's direct guidance but I guess if there had to be a weakness as a parent I'll take it in that area! Looking forward to this new school year and making my best efforts at being as involved as possible...Here we go!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

My girls have been going to school since kindergarten and I love it and my girls love it . My girls are now going into first and third grade and I would not want them in any other school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

I would give it more stars if I could. RD White is an excellent school. Ms. Rissi is phenominal. She knows all of the students by name and encourages students with possitive rewards. The GATE program can't be beat. There aren't enough words to say how fantastic this school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

Phenominal School! We are very proud to send our children to R.D. White!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2008

R.D. White is a terrific school. Mrs. Risse, our principal does know every student by name. She has three children of her own and I have seen her at every school event I have attended! Sometimes with her children. The teachers are so wonderful and careing. I have been in communication with each teacher my child has had either by email, or a note sent to school or by volunteering in the classroom. It has made all the difference in my childs education. I have also noticed that many teachers are very qualified. Many have or are in the process of higher education. This coming school year will be the begining of a tradional calendar, I didn't care for the year round calendar. It never felt like a vacation from homework. I don't know why anyone would go private when we have R.D. White!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2008

I have gone to R. D. White for 7 years, and have no complaints with the excellent teachers, staff, and parent volunteers, after all, the principal knows each and every student's name. I love R. D. White, and never want to leave it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2008

I love R. D. White. It is so culturally diverse, and the teachers and staff really care about the students. I am amazed, the principal knows every child's name. I am happy that my children feel safe, and know that my children look forward to coming to this great school every single day. My daughter is going to wilson next year, and i know that she will miss this excellent school. We love R. D. White
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

RDW provides an amazing education at many levels. The student population is very diverse economically and culturally. The teaching and support staff are dedicated and enthusiastic, led by a phenomenal principal. While many parents are not involved due to work or language limitations, any parent wanting to be involved can participate, by classroom volunteering, the art docent program, PTA events, or the Foundation. There's an optional instrumental music program, and choral programs. Students can help in classrooms or the office during their holidays. The year-round schedule spreads the year more evenly, and allows for 'low-season' vacations. On-site afternoon/off-track child care is available and reasonable. The building itself is one of the most beautiful in Glendale (1930's-era, updated in 2003.) My child has been here kindergarten through sixth grade (currently), and has had an excellent, well-rounded elementary experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2007

Our Principal, is the finest person I have ever met. She deeply cares for all of our students, she knows the names of each and every child. The education and emotional health of our children is utmost on her mind. Our school, has a very diverse population and Ms. Risse and staff, have given us all the opportunity for success. What a great school !!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

I used to be a parent helper at RD White, and agree that Suzanne Risse is an excellent principal, better than most.She really sets the tone for the school, despite the lack of parent involvement, she keeps the teachers there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2006

I think this school is great. My son goes to school there and so far I've had no problems he loves it there and is learning a lot the teachers are so nice and I love it. There school is clean and the employees there are really helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

Although RD White ranks only a 7/10, part of the reason is the incredible diversity of the student body--nearly 70% of the children speak a language other than English at home. For my two gifted children (one of whom has ADHD), I have found that both the teachers and the principal are an amazing support team. They work hand in hand with me to provide my children with tools, resources and (if needed) accommodation to excel in their academic and personal development! Additionally, there is low turnover of teachers, which makes for a stable learning environment and also allows us (both students and parents) to develop relationships and a sense of community at the school! Thanks for the hard work that all the staff and teachers do to make it such a great place to be a student and a parent! We love RD White!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2005

This is a great elementary School. There are many well experienced teachers and there is a lot of extra curricular activities that students can indulge in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2005

My child attended r.D. White from kindergarten to part of third grade. The experience has been great. The teachers and school leadership is top notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2004

I believe that R.D. White has a lot commited and experienced teachers, who get the kids involved in community work, learning, friendship and respect. Our principal is inspiring teachers, students and parents to do their best. Whenever you need our principal she always has an 'ear' for you! The remodelling is taking place since summer 2003 and thanks to everybody who is involved in it everything is getting smoothly nicer. Thank you R.D.White.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2003

R.D. White is a very good school. The Principal is doing a good job of leading the school and she is very dedicated. My children's teachers have been very good or excellent. The school was a California Distinguished School in 2002. The school was recognized as a National Blue Ribbon School in 2003. As of 2003, the school is being refurbished and will be a very pleasant place for children once the work is complete. The school would be stronger if more parents would become active. Overall, I'd say the school is a very good school. It has the potential to be a great school. Efforts are being made to make the school great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

868

Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

868

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

8 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

129 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students67%
Females76%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner66%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate64%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate71%
Parent education - declined to state56%

Math

All Students80%
Females82%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino86%
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learner84%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate78%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to state81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females51%
Males45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate48%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate41%
Parent education - declined to state55%

Math

All Students71%
Females72%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability30%
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner63%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate59%
Parent education - declined to state71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females82%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino66%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner57%
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state68%

Math

All Students77%
Females76%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to state80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Females82%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino82%
Hispanic or Latino91%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner33%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to state83%

Math

All Students74%
Females75%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino91%
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner43%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to state75%

Science

All Students69%
Females73%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino73%
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate60%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate74%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to state75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 70%
Hispanic 17%
Asian 4%
Black 2%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/AN/A
English language learners 50%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 12%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:05 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:30 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Narek Kassabian
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (818) 409-8974

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

744 East Doran Street
Glendale, CA 91206
Phone: (818) 241-2164

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Tobinworld
Glendale, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT