Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 285 students

Our school is best known for its quality academics and faith-based education.

 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 24 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 10, 2014

I wanted to send my son here but there are too many additional fees beyond the tuition. The open house was great and the teachers were friendly and knowledgable. Bur I was told by another parent that there is a high faculty turnover rate. He said some teachers left before the end of the school year. This is a red flag to me. I want my child to be in a stable school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2014

Sounds the students on the AD teams wants extra credit. Good job kids! Keep studying.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2014

Their 8th grade graduation was a superb way of honoring our children. The graduates seemed to have been really prepared and the high schools the students are going to are fantastic! High calibre, intellectual kids from the Grade School of HF!!! The student of the year speech was very respectful of all his teachers. "Once a bulldog...will always be a bulldog!" Marvelous ending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

10 reviews all submitted on February 19? I suspect an organized campaign to raise the school's star rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2014

What I love about HFGS Decathlon is growing closer to my fellow decathletes and alternates. Spending every afternoon studying with the team had created such a strong bond between all of us. Also, we've had an incredible amount of support from our outstanding principal, our coaches who help us every day, the parents, and our priests who have continuously blessed us.


Posted March 7, 2014

Being in the Holy Family Gade School has been an enjoyable experience. You improve academically and enjoy the decathlon with the Alternates and Decathletes around you. Many have supported us and prayed for us, and we thank you for it.


Posted March 7, 2014

This is my second year in the Academic Junior High Decathlon Team. I would like to acknowledge my decathlete, Marylu Eapen. She has give all her effect through this academic journey. Also, our AJHD coach, Ms. Ruta, our principal, Ms. Suelto, and the parents have supported us in these past few months.


Posted March 7, 2014

Being a part of the decathlon team at Holy Family Grade School was an amazing experience. This is my second year being a decathlete at Holy Family and I have received 3rd place twice. My principal, coaches, teachers, priests, teammates, and alternate have been so supportive and really prepared me for the competition. Overall, decathlon is a wonderful chance to showcase our abilities and come together as a school.


Posted March 7, 2014

This is my first year here at Holy Family and it's been very fun so far. I am the Math Decathlete for the school and I would like to thank my alternate Matthew, teachers, coaches, and priests for their support. A Special thanks to our coach who stayed long hours quizzing helping us win 1st place in super quiz and 6th place overall.


Posted March 7, 2014

When I got into the Academic Decathlon at Holy Family, I had the opportunity to showcase my abilities. In doing so, we got 1st in Super Quiz and 6th overall out of 112 schools. This experience was not like any other and we couldn't do it without the support of our coach, Mrs. Ofelia Ruta, our priests, and last but not the least, our principal, Ms. Fidela Suelto.


Posted March 7, 2014

Competing with my fellow decathletes at the Academic Junior High Decathlon was an amazing experience. Our parents, our teachers, our principal, Miss Suelto, our priests, and our coach, Ms. Ruta, supported us from the very beginning all the way to the competition. The hard work paid off and we placed 1st in Super Quiz, 2nd in Religion, 3rd in Fine Arts, and 6th overall.


Posted March 3, 2014

I have had the experience of being in two different private schools. Holy Family is different in the sense that you can clearly see and feel where all the fundraising goes, and there is transparency. True there are fund raisings, and projects that involves a lot of money, but these are for the children. To have a conjucive environment for studying and to offer the best faculty and support staff, it involves investing some monetary amount. But these investments yields in the form of what the children learn, and what they are able to achieve. I love HFGS and so does my daughter, everyone is given a chance to explore their strength, given opportunities to grow, not just a select few. In here, rest assured your children will be able to engage in things they love and build long lasting friendships. For those that have negative comments, i offer them these insights, sometimes we need to ask our children if they love the school or not. I know we as parents are the one paying, but, if the children does not enjoy their environment, they will not also enjoy learning. HFGS offers a wonderful learning environment and the kids know this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2014

This is an absolutely the topnotch school in Glendale! Go visit and have a tour of the school. They have exciting curricular programs. People are always accommodating and the teachers are carefully selected. The adults take care of the children and the children are disciplined, safe, and are highly motivated to succeed.


Posted February 19, 2014

This school has fantastic teachers that care for the students and helps them it is needed.


Posted February 19, 2014

Holy Family Grade School Glendale is a fantastic school that provides students with a great education and a variety of extra curricular activities. I am proud to show my bulldog spirit! GO BULLDOGS!


Posted February 19, 2014

What I love about Holy Family Grade School are the many extra-curriculars to take part in (choir, sports, band, robotics, etc.). The average student takes part in a minimum of two activities.


Posted February 19, 2014

My School is a wonderful environment for all faculty, staff, and students. You can feel the warmth and welcome around the school. My school is a place to learn and to feel welcome and loved around all students and staff. My school has amazing extra curriculums and our learning environment is an absolute A+!


Posted February 19, 2014

Holy Family is an awesome school. The teachers at Holy Family are very kind, friendly and enthusiastic. They teach us to be faithful and active Catholics, academically prepared, effective and confident communicators, and globally responsible citizens. Holy Family is a great learning environment and they have much to offer. They have a variety of different sports such as football, basketball, cheerleading, volleyball and many more. Students at Holy Family learn to be very courteous and respectful. I feel that this school is an amazing school.


Posted February 19, 2014

Holy Family Grade School is great because of the teachers. The teachers care for the students and want them to have a good education. Their teachers are enthusiastic and encouraging. Holy Family has a variety of extracurricular activities and many things to do for the students. Since Holy a Family is a Catholic school, they teach the student show to be a better person. Holy Family provides a great Cahtolic experience along with a great academic experience.


Posted February 19, 2014

What I love about Holy Family Grade school is that they have a great way of teaching with using the iPads.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Pacific Islander 57% 11%
White 22% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Tagalog
Spanish
Italian
Arabic languages
American sign language
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Blue Ribbon School Eligibility (2012)
  • Academic Junior High Decathlon (2013)
  • Top Super Quiz in LA Sports Arena (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • CJSF (2012)
  • CJSF (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Fr. James Michael Bevacqua
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Fr-Bevacqua@hfglendale.org
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (818) 243-0976

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • STEM
  • STEP/MAP / Advanced Learner's Program
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • STEP/MAP Program
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Share a ride with families
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • DECA
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Lead an Annual Fiesta and Jog-a-Thon
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The school serves 285 students from Transitional Kindergarten to 8th grade. The teachers are highly credentialed and the quality of academics is high. Families are diverse. The use of individual iPads, e-books, Zero Period Math, and Robotics are few wonderful programs that make the school a topnotch.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
280
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
315
Students typically come from these schools
Montessori Academy
Bonnie Academy
Incarnation Pre-School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
CEF, Catholic Education Foundation

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Loyola High School, Los Angeles
St. Francis HS, La Canada
Immaculate Heart High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 South Louise Street
Glendale, CA 91205
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 243-9239

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Tobinworld
Glendale, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT