Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 263 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 22 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

54 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

My school is a wonderful place for kids to grow and expand their knowledge. The teachers want the best for all the students. Are schools offer a different variety of extra curricular activities, such as basketball, flag football, volleyball, softball, cheerleading, robotics.


Posted February 6, 2014

I love this school! I have two children and my oldest graduated and attending high school. My child's test scores were very high, and well prepared for high school. My youngest is still there and loves being there -- it's like his second home. Teachers care, and TEACH; Principal available to all the parents and on top of her game. You get what you pay for here -- lots of programs, ipads, sports, faith based education with Priests and teachers who want to be there. Updates to the school needed to be done and the kids are reaping the benefits -- when it's COLD they have heat, and when it's HOT they have air conditioner. It is a tight community there -- we worship together and support each other and I couldn't have chosen a better place for my children. I feel blessed to be at Holy Family Grade School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Fundraisers are high on the list at this school. Money for the HVAC in addition to tuition was ridiculous. The administrators should learn how to write grant proposals. There are many foundations who will donate money to schools for numerous projects. The "Thank You's" from the principal are strategic and not always sincere. The teachers are wonderful. but their initiative and creativity are stifled by the inflexible leadership of the administrators. The school is clean and safe for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Just a suggestion to the principal & priest. Be creative and try asking help from California Lottery, rent out your gym or auditorium & accept filming. That way $$$$ will keep coming to your cup. Agree fellow parents?????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

All the reviews below and perhaps above should NOT be complainting about HVAC funds. the is a real need for this raise in tuition so they can raise the funds for HVAC. The school would not have to do this if more parents would contribute...even $100 would help. but after over a year of reminding parents over and over, the request is simply ignored. Ask your self this "would you like your kid/kids to be studying in a room that is 90 degrees in the summer time? you believe they are getting the best learning in that enviroment? i am a parent at holyfamily and i admit, something are not going to plan, but the HVAC is! As for the leadership, the principle does need some minor adjustment, perhaps she needs to give teachers more control over their classrooms, and the way they teach. i also feel because of layoff, changes at the school, many teachers may be fearful of their jobs and giving way to principles every demand. my 2cents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

MOney ..money...money... ! that is all this school is about. Mandatory mass, meetings..everything that is mandatory is to discuss money and HVAC. It's all driven by the principal... The teachers i feel are as frustrated as some parents...they are all good. The previous Principal Mrs. Hines (i belive was her name) was very good and i dont beelive we every heard anything negative. as of now...the history of HFGS is changing and i could honestly say it's due to principal..leading by example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

This school is super cool! My child says that robotics today had a parent working for Disney and taught them of motors and transformer designs. Good job Holy Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

The concentration of this institution is always money and non stop of traps, or ploys to parents just to raise funds. For example, they want parents to pay $600.00 so they can raise for HVAC and once HVAC is installed, they will increase the tuition fees which will add hardship to families who are already struggling to send their kids to this school. I will understand the increase of tuition fees if the school improvements are not being shouldered by parents. I think the principal and the priest are no longer good in managing this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

Am a parent of another catholic school in Montrose and I am impressed! briefly spoke with the principal, priest and coach at the LA Arena decathlon yesterday. school principal was cool. full support in atendance and smart kids you've got there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

im not happy with this school because the only thing i hear is HVAC,is the only important thinks in the school,family mass they are asking for the important to be a member ,is only money ,money and money is not a family school is a money school, the father and principal only cares about the HVAC,if the school was like that for too many years, why they want the money now?!,we can start doing activities but dont stress the parent asking for 600.00 per family ,everything in life take time and if we dont have the money lets be in the same page ,dont try to do a bussines with the money of other people,i talked with differents parent and they are frustrared they will like to colaborate but is a hard time now,if not they dont want is THEY CANT ,please understand es no easy to asked for $230.000.00 ,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

This is our 1st year at Holy Family and I can't believe how unorganized everything is. From the enrollment process, to billing, to pick up and drop off. It just amazes me that I'm actually paying for my child to go here. On top of everything else -I am so tired of hearing about HVAC. Donations are now becoming an obligation and losing its genuineness. I understand its importance and it is a necessity but the pressure they are putting on families to donate is not right. Even the "Welcome Dinner" for new families, seemed like a ploy to get more HVAC donations. No one asked if we had any questions or concerns regarding anything else. As a struggling single parent (who was actually laid off at the time of enrollment) -it would've at least been nice to know about tuition assistance programs, bell schedule or even just a tour of the campus. SERIOUSLY?!?! -that should've been a red flag, but instead we decided to give it a shot. Needless to say, we will not be coming back next year. Its taking everything I have not to just pull my child out now! Luckily, she has a pretty good teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

To the parent who gave 5 starts - good for the school and good for you! However, do not say that there are a few negative folks who are now gone. You don't know them; don't judge! Is voicing your opinion considered negative? I can't belieeve this came from a parent sending her child/children to a Catholic school. I hope God enlightens you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

All i can say is that the middle school teachers are on their game. My child has never been so inspired by the teaching. She loves the Math enrichment program during zero period as well. We feel really fortunate to have found Holy Family; we have since joined the parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

2nd, 3rd and 8th grade teachers last year need an updating in their method of teaching. They also have to check and return students' homework and test papers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

A number of the 5-star reviews appear to have been written by the same cheerleader of the new principal (3 reviews within 2 days of each other?).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

This school has grown leaps and bounds in the past two years. Mrs. Heintz was a terrific principal, but it was time for new leadership to bring the school into the 21st century. 4 years ago the school looked like a ghetto school. Since then, every year the school improves its plant and looks better and better. The "prison look" fence needs to go, but I think the pastor is working on it. But it's not all a matter of externals: the teachers on the roster are fantastic and the iPod program, despite resistance from a few parents who do not understand the need for enhanced technology, is a winner. There is also a Math program that takes place at the high school to help the middle school kids be even more prepared for high school. There is also a nice family atmosphere. The new principal is a hard working and dedicated administrator. Too bad some folks don't appreciate her dedication. There were a few negative folks last year, but they're gone. Hope they're happy! I know I am.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

A number of the one star reviews appear to have been written by the same disgruntled individual. We will pray for him.


Posted September 5, 2012

A number of the one star reviews appear to have been written by disgruntled parents who don't understand the whole picture. There has been significant progress made by the school just in the past few years; unfortunately, change is difficult for some individuals. It is true that five faculty members left 15 months ago; however, they did not resign. They RETIRED. There is a significant difference. One moved back to the Philippines. One still works there part-time. Another has plans to move back to Iowa. Another retired per her agreement with her husband. It just that it happened all it once, so the appearance of five teachers leaving at the same time wasn't so great. Those teachers were great. The new teachers are maybe even better. The iPad program is essential. iPads are the language of the future. Standards have gone up. There have been challenges in the transition, but the rough edges are getting smoothed out. Have fees gone up? Yes, they have. Why? Because nothing comes for free and a school must bring in sufficient funds to meet expenses.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 7, 2012

I sent my kids to HF school back when Mrs. Heintz was the principal. I agree with a lot of the other reviews, that things changed too dramatically when Miss Suelto was hired as principal. Five long-time teachers retired all at the same time, at the end of Miss Suelto's first year, and more have continued to leave as soon as they could find other jobs. From talking with some of the parents and faculty and staff, there was too much change, too fast, without considering how it affects people who have been there for a long time, and whether people can afford it. But faculty and staff are afraid to complain for fear of being fired. It is good leadership policy to take time to understand how things work before making changes, and then make changes gradually. But Miss Suelto tried to change everything all at once, without understanding that things might be that way for a good reason. Morale among parents and staff is low. People feel worried and insecure, because you never know what Miss Suelto is going to do next, and what it's going to cost you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

Is there a no star rating? It is sad to see how a new principal comes in and destroys the morale of the staff and students. Ms. Suelto is not a strong administrator and has brought down the standards that has upheld Holy Family for many years. I was a graduate of this great school and my children came in with Mrs. Heintz. I can't believe it has come down to this. I have had to pull my children and take them elsewhere. Public school are looking a lot better than this.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 57% 11%
White 22% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Fr. James Michael Bevacqua
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 South Louise Street
Glendale, CA 91205
Phone: (818) 243-9239

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Tobinworld
Glendale, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT