Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 285 students

Our school is best known for its quality academics and faith-based education.

 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 24 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2012

I sent my kids to HF school back when Mrs. Heintz was the principal. I agree with a lot of the other reviews, that things changed too dramatically when Miss Suelto was hired as principal. Five long-time teachers retired all at the same time, at the end of Miss Suelto's first year, and more have continued to leave as soon as they could find other jobs. From talking with some of the parents and faculty and staff, there was too much change, too fast, without considering how it affects people who have been there for a long time, and whether people can afford it. But faculty and staff are afraid to complain for fear of being fired. It is good leadership policy to take time to understand how things work before making changes, and then make changes gradually. But Miss Suelto tried to change everything all at once, without understanding that things might be that way for a good reason. Morale among parents and staff is low. People feel worried and insecure, because you never know what Miss Suelto is going to do next, and what it's going to cost you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

Is there a no star rating? It is sad to see how a new principal comes in and destroys the morale of the staff and students. Ms. Suelto is not a strong administrator and has brought down the standards that has upheld Holy Family for many years. I was a graduate of this great school and my children came in with Mrs. Heintz. I can't believe it has come down to this. I have had to pull my children and take them elsewhere. Public school are looking a lot better than this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2012

HF school has changed dramatically over 3 years.The front face it sounds good in presentation but many families are looking elsewhere. To start off are increasing in fees, ever since Ms Suelto came to HF, the Registration has doubled and if you have a additional child you pay plenty more than before. Uniforms changes results in new purchases of uniforms. Chearlleading uniforms has changed and the cost has also gone up. kids dont want to support it like before. HIddenfees, there are plenty of surpirses on charges. Hvac fund raising run is not sustainable for parents to pay. the implimentation of ipad (very expensive)destroys the childrens fundamentals in school. Front office has the worse customer service inluding ms suelto and the accountants. They will not listen and address your concerns but you have to pay no matter what. The staff mentioned that it is a blue ribbon school but we dont see much improvment since the changes are in later grades. its too late. foundation starts early. its my last year to complain about this school that was once good. most of the teachers have left last year and many families are leaving. please do your reserch before buying the presentation
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

Notice how a few reviews down a person rates the school high but opens her comments with, "I hope they keep their promise ...". That pretty much sums up the feeling right now. There is a lack of trust, even by those parents who are die hards. (The priest and principal spend too much energy on positive spin.) The other parents just find it too difficult to take their kids to another school because they don't want to separate the kids from their friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2012

The school is in transition under new leadership. Many changes have and are occuring under this new principal. After the principal's first year five core senior faculty members resigned. After this school year, six faculty and staff member will no longer be returning. The values and sense of community that had originally drawn me to this school no longer exists. Too much change too fast isn't always a good thing especially when it seems that the leaders don't know how to go about achieving their goals with a sense of integrity and transparency.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

We are almost done with 2011-2012. It has been a bumpy ride this year with the news of the new fees and contribution towards the upgrades to the school. It has been hard to hear the discontent from other parents regarding the changes. However, we as parents need to listen to our kids and do what is best for them. The school is a great school and the peace of mind I have knowing my children are safe, cared for and are provided with many learning opportunities is worth any expense. We all have different family situations and should not bash a school for trying to improve what will eventually become a well known prestigious catholic school. My children have learned so much more about religion than we ever did from our parents or other parish. It is so heartfelt to hear the faculty and parish clergy address our children by name. They do try to make us a real community. A true holy family. LMA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

Before you come to Holy Family gradeschool, Glendale, interview atleast 10 parents and ask good questions. also ask about the school in the last few years. Staff, administration are not customer firendly. new Accountant does not address customer needs/parents the principal does not get back to parents with their complaints. Fundraising campiagns are not feasible. The only thing good about this school that I can tell you is that the parents does not want to take out their kids becuase their kids have been with other kids since the beginning. I read the other topics. they are fast when they bill you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

I have to say that this school has really been good to bad in the last 2 years. the cost per child to put your child to school has gone up drammatically. I read other reviews on the cost. It is true the tution is only one variable of the equation. Tution + registration + surprise fees +++ all have gone up. Keep in mind why we are there in the first place. it used to be under Mrs Heinz and the prices was good as well as the education. now it is very different. many teachers have left and these teachers is why my kids went there in the first place. they taught becuase they loved it, they just loved to teach. now they are gone. Morning care opens later than the schedule resulting in parents being stuck in traffic , resulting in parents being late to work for hours. Keep in mind that 5 minute late in the morning can be very traffic and can cost hours. I dont recommend this school, this is a completely different school now. its all Money for the principal. its all money for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

I went to HF. go bulldogs go! Mrs Heinz, Mrs carnevali, Mrs Porath are gone. and I dont know about Mrs Chatterton. they are the reason why I decided to take the kids there. Under the new administration, it is very different. The new principal Mrs Suelto seems like she works to impress her higher ups thats all! Fees have increased im not just talking about tuition but the registration and new fees that just pops up. they want to implement a new centralize AC/heating with no reports on costs, short term and long term (note the glendale water and power will increase their cost 2013) .IPAD implemetation. There is no studies that children will be more ready or successful academically than a child with no IPAD gadget. Dont get me wrong im in the field of technology. but once teh children are dependant on these gadgets then the manual skills goes down. kids can learn about ipad outside of school. they can learn it very fast. The last 2 years all i see is MONEY. "dont ask what the school can do for you ask what you can do for the school". with inflation,recession,unemployment continuing to be bad, I dont think Mrs Suelto can keep this up.Go bull dogs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

Me and my son love this School!!! Thank you so much for making a big difference in my life , we move from another state to glendale and I recommend this school teachers great, kids great , principal amazing.... everybody......... my son is 8th grade moving to high school i feel like taking everybody with me......to high school :-) academics really good . you will be happy overall. Faith excelent..... so much to say just go check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I can't tell you how much my son and I love this school. This a school that cares about education and the well being of their students. Great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

I couldn't explain how lucky We are to have found Holy Family Grade School. The term family is really in the core of their teachings. Parents are really involve in every activities that this school has to offer. The principal is fabulous, no matter how many the students or the parents were she remembers everyone. The staff and the teachers, they all smile at you and talk to you and you can feel the warmth and sincerity of their hearts. Now, we are deciding to move elsewhere but we can't because we are afraid to loose such a good community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

We are completing our fifth year at Holy Family Grade School, with two kids now attending. From the beginning, I have found it to be a wonderful school. The principal, teachers, and staff make the kids their number one priority. They do everything in their power to keep the kids safe and to keep the curriculum current. But the thing I love the best about this school is that they have rules and they enforce them; they support the morals and values we teach at home by expecting the same at school. It is wonderful to have a school that does not undermine what we teach as parents. They definitely teach our kids to be caring, respectful members of society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

Holy Family Elementary is a great school where the teachers along with the principal and staff develop the whole student. The school teaches good moral values, self discipline, a strong faith and the pursue of academic excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

We have loved our experiences at Holy Family Grade School. The staff is wonderful and the kids enjoy their school experience so much. We highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

Great school. Staff memebers are nice. We were all a family.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 22% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Tagalog
Spanish
Italian
Arabic languages
American sign language
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Blue Ribbon School Eligibility (2012)
  • Academic Junior High Decathlon (2013)
  • Top Super Quiz in LA Sports Arena (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • CJSF (2012)
  • CJSF (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Fr. James Michael Bevacqua
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Fr-Bevacqua@hfglendale.org
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (818) 243-0976

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • STEM
  • STEP/MAP / Advanced Learner's Program
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • STEP/MAP Program
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Share a ride with families
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • DECA
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Lead an Annual Fiesta and Jog-a-Thon
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The school serves 285 students from Transitional Kindergarten to 8th grade. The teachers are highly credentialed and the quality of academics is high. Families are diverse. The use of individual iPads, e-books, Zero Period Math, and Robotics are few wonderful programs that make the school a topnotch.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
280
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
315
Students typically come from these schools
Montessori Academy
Bonnie Academy
Incarnation Pre-School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
CEF, Catholic Education Foundation

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Loyola High School, Los Angeles
St. Francis HS, La Canada
Immaculate Heart High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 South Louise Street
Glendale, CA 91205
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 243-9239

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Tobinworld
Glendale, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT