Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Family Elementary School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 20 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

53 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2012

Notice how a few reviews down a person rates the school high but opens her comments with, "I hope they keep their promise ...". That pretty much sums up the feeling right now. There is a lack of trust, even by those parents who are die hards. (The priest and principal spend too much energy on positive spin.) The other parents just find it too difficult to take their kids to another school because they don't want to separate the kids from their friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2012

The school is in transition under new leadership. Many changes have and are occuring under this new principal. After the principal's first year five core senior faculty members resigned. After this school year, six faculty and staff member will no longer be returning. The values and sense of community that had originally drawn me to this school no longer exists. Too much change too fast isn't always a good thing especially when it seems that the leaders don't know how to go about achieving their goals with a sense of integrity and transparency.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2012

We are almost done with 2011-2012. It has been a bumpy ride this year with the news of the new fees and contribution towards the upgrades to the school. It has been hard to hear the discontent from other parents regarding the changes. However, we as parents need to listen to our kids and do what is best for them. The school is a great school and the peace of mind I have knowing my children are safe, cared for and are provided with many learning opportunities is worth any expense. We all have different family situations and should not bash a school for trying to improve what will eventually become a well known prestigious catholic school. My children have learned so much more about religion than we ever did from our parents or other parish. It is so heartfelt to hear the faculty and parish clergy address our children by name. They do try to make us a real community. A true holy family. LMA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2012

Before you come to Holy Family gradeschool, Glendale, interview atleast 10 parents and ask good questions. also ask about the school in the last few years. Staff, administration are not customer firendly. new Accountant does not address customer needs/parents the principal does not get back to parents with their complaints. Fundraising campiagns are not feasible. The only thing good about this school that I can tell you is that the parents does not want to take out their kids becuase their kids have been with other kids since the beginning. I read the other topics. they are fast when they bill you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

I have to say that this school has really been good to bad in the last 2 years. the cost per child to put your child to school has gone up drammatically. I read other reviews on the cost. It is true the tution is only one variable of the equation. Tution + registration + surprise fees +++ all have gone up. Keep in mind why we are there in the first place. it used to be under Mrs Heinz and the prices was good as well as the education. now it is very different. many teachers have left and these teachers is why my kids went there in the first place. they taught becuase they loved it, they just loved to teach. now they are gone. Morning care opens later than the schedule resulting in parents being stuck in traffic , resulting in parents being late to work for hours. Keep in mind that 5 minute late in the morning can be very traffic and can cost hours. I dont recommend this school, this is a completely different school now. its all Money for the principal. its all money for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

I went to HF. go bulldogs go! Mrs Heinz, Mrs carnevali, Mrs Porath are gone. and I dont know about Mrs Chatterton. they are the reason why I decided to take the kids there. Under the new administration, it is very different. The new principal Mrs Suelto seems like she works to impress her higher ups thats all! Fees have increased im not just talking about tuition but the registration and new fees that just pops up. they want to implement a new centralize AC/heating with no reports on costs, short term and long term (note the glendale water and power will increase their cost 2013) .IPAD implemetation. There is no studies that children will be more ready or successful academically than a child with no IPAD gadget. Dont get me wrong im in the field of technology. but once teh children are dependant on these gadgets then the manual skills goes down. kids can learn about ipad outside of school. they can learn it very fast. The last 2 years all i see is MONEY. "dont ask what the school can do for you ask what you can do for the school". with inflation,recession,unemployment continuing to be bad, I dont think Mrs Suelto can keep this up.Go bull dogs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

Me and my son love this School!!! Thank you so much for making a big difference in my life , we move from another state to glendale and I recommend this school teachers great, kids great , principal amazing.... everybody......... my son is 8th grade moving to high school i feel like taking everybody with me......to high school :-) academics really good . you will be happy overall. Faith excelent..... so much to say just go check it out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I can't tell you how much my son and I love this school. This a school that cares about education and the well being of their students. Great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

I couldn't explain how lucky We are to have found Holy Family Grade School. The term family is really in the core of their teachings. Parents are really involve in every activities that this school has to offer. The principal is fabulous, no matter how many the students or the parents were she remembers everyone. The staff and the teachers, they all smile at you and talk to you and you can feel the warmth and sincerity of their hearts. Now, we are deciding to move elsewhere but we can't because we are afraid to loose such a good community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

We are completing our fifth year at Holy Family Grade School, with two kids now attending. From the beginning, I have found it to be a wonderful school. The principal, teachers, and staff make the kids their number one priority. They do everything in their power to keep the kids safe and to keep the curriculum current. But the thing I love the best about this school is that they have rules and they enforce them; they support the morals and values we teach at home by expecting the same at school. It is wonderful to have a school that does not undermine what we teach as parents. They definitely teach our kids to be caring, respectful members of society.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

Holy Family Elementary is a great school where the teachers along with the principal and staff develop the whole student. The school teaches good moral values, self discipline, a strong faith and the pursue of academic excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

We have loved our experiences at Holy Family Grade School. The staff is wonderful and the kids enjoy their school experience so much. We highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

Great school. Staff memebers are nice. We were all a family.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 61%
Hispanic 24%
White 12%
Asian 2%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 South Louise Street
Glendale, CA 91205
Phone: (818) 243-9239

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Tobinworld School
Glendale, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT