Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 285 students

Our school is best known for its quality academics and faith-based education.

 

Living in Glendale

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $290,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 24 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 17 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2014

This school has great students who are very friendly and supportive along with the faculty, staff, and clergy. The extracurricular activities we have are Student Council, Sports, Technology, Robotics, Academic Junior High Decathlon, Altar Serving, Band, and Kiwanis. New students are welcomed by the faculty and students. Parents are very involved in helping our school grow, along with the students and staff.


Posted February 19, 2014

This school is the best for a great catholic education, amazing academics and after school activities and great teachers and student. But always at this school you must always remember the SLE's


Posted February 19, 2014

My school is a wonderful place for kids to grow and expand their knowledge. The teachers want the best for all the students. Are schools offer a different variety of extra curricular activities, such as basketball, flag football, volleyball, softball, cheerleading, robotics.


Posted February 6, 2014

I love this school! I have two children and my oldest graduated and attending high school. My child's test scores were very high, and well prepared for high school. My youngest is still there and loves being there -- it's like his second home. Teachers care, and TEACH; Principal available to all the parents and on top of her game. You get what you pay for here -- lots of programs, ipads, sports, faith based education with Priests and teachers who want to be there. Updates to the school needed to be done and the kids are reaping the benefits -- when it's COLD they have heat, and when it's HOT they have air conditioner. It is a tight community there -- we worship together and support each other and I couldn't have chosen a better place for my children. I feel blessed to be at Holy Family Grade School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

Fundraisers are high on the list at this school. Money for the HVAC in addition to tuition was ridiculous. The administrators should learn how to write grant proposals. There are many foundations who will donate money to schools for numerous projects. The "Thank You's" from the principal are strategic and not always sincere. The teachers are wonderful. but their initiative and creativity are stifled by the inflexible leadership of the administrators. The school is clean and safe for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

Just a suggestion to the principal & priest. Be creative and try asking help from California Lottery, rent out your gym or auditorium & accept filming. That way $$$$ will keep coming to your cup. Agree fellow parents?????
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

All the reviews below and perhaps above should NOT be complainting about HVAC funds. the is a real need for this raise in tuition so they can raise the funds for HVAC. The school would not have to do this if more parents would contribute...even $100 would help. but after over a year of reminding parents over and over, the request is simply ignored. Ask your self this "would you like your kid/kids to be studying in a room that is 90 degrees in the summer time? you believe they are getting the best learning in that enviroment? i am a parent at holyfamily and i admit, something are not going to plan, but the HVAC is! As for the leadership, the principle does need some minor adjustment, perhaps she needs to give teachers more control over their classrooms, and the way they teach. i also feel because of layoff, changes at the school, many teachers may be fearful of their jobs and giving way to principles every demand. my 2cents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

MOney ..money...money... ! that is all this school is about. Mandatory mass, meetings..everything that is mandatory is to discuss money and HVAC. It's all driven by the principal... The teachers i feel are as frustrated as some parents...they are all good. The previous Principal Mrs. Hines (i belive was her name) was very good and i dont beelive we every heard anything negative. as of now...the history of HFGS is changing and i could honestly say it's due to principal..leading by example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2013

This school is super cool! My child says that robotics today had a parent working for Disney and taught them of motors and transformer designs. Good job Holy Family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

The concentration of this institution is always money and non stop of traps, or ploys to parents just to raise funds. For example, they want parents to pay $600.00 so they can raise for HVAC and once HVAC is installed, they will increase the tuition fees which will add hardship to families who are already struggling to send their kids to this school. I will understand the increase of tuition fees if the school improvements are not being shouldered by parents. I think the principal and the priest are no longer good in managing this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

Am a parent of another catholic school in Montrose and I am impressed! briefly spoke with the principal, priest and coach at the LA Arena decathlon yesterday. school principal was cool. full support in atendance and smart kids you've got there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

im not happy with this school because the only thing i hear is HVAC,is the only important thinks in the school,family mass they are asking for the important to be a member ,is only money ,money and money is not a family school is a money school, the father and principal only cares about the HVAC,if the school was like that for too many years, why they want the money now?!,we can start doing activities but dont stress the parent asking for 600.00 per family ,everything in life take time and if we dont have the money lets be in the same page ,dont try to do a bussines with the money of other people,i talked with differents parent and they are frustrared they will like to colaborate but is a hard time now,if not they dont want is THEY CANT ,please understand es no easy to asked for $230.000.00 ,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2013

This is our 1st year at Holy Family and I can't believe how unorganized everything is. From the enrollment process, to billing, to pick up and drop off. It just amazes me that I'm actually paying for my child to go here. On top of everything else -I am so tired of hearing about HVAC. Donations are now becoming an obligation and losing its genuineness. I understand its importance and it is a necessity but the pressure they are putting on families to donate is not right. Even the "Welcome Dinner" for new families, seemed like a ploy to get more HVAC donations. No one asked if we had any questions or concerns regarding anything else. As a struggling single parent (who was actually laid off at the time of enrollment) -it would've at least been nice to know about tuition assistance programs, bell schedule or even just a tour of the campus. SERIOUSLY?!?! -that should've been a red flag, but instead we decided to give it a shot. Needless to say, we will not be coming back next year. Its taking everything I have not to just pull my child out now! Luckily, she has a pretty good teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

To the parent who gave 5 starts - good for the school and good for you! However, do not say that there are a few negative folks who are now gone. You don't know them; don't judge! Is voicing your opinion considered negative? I can't belieeve this came from a parent sending her child/children to a Catholic school. I hope God enlightens you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2012

All i can say is that the middle school teachers are on their game. My child has never been so inspired by the teaching. She loves the Math enrichment program during zero period as well. We feel really fortunate to have found Holy Family; we have since joined the parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

2nd, 3rd and 8th grade teachers last year need an updating in their method of teaching. They also have to check and return students' homework and test papers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2012

A number of the 5-star reviews appear to have been written by the same cheerleader of the new principal (3 reviews within 2 days of each other?).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

This school has grown leaps and bounds in the past two years. Mrs. Heintz was a terrific principal, but it was time for new leadership to bring the school into the 21st century. 4 years ago the school looked like a ghetto school. Since then, every year the school improves its plant and looks better and better. The "prison look" fence needs to go, but I think the pastor is working on it. But it's not all a matter of externals: the teachers on the roster are fantastic and the iPod program, despite resistance from a few parents who do not understand the need for enhanced technology, is a winner. There is also a Math program that takes place at the high school to help the middle school kids be even more prepared for high school. There is also a nice family atmosphere. The new principal is a hard working and dedicated administrator. Too bad some folks don't appreciate her dedication. There were a few negative folks last year, but they're gone. Hope they're happy! I know I am.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

A number of the one star reviews appear to have been written by the same disgruntled individual. We will pray for him.


Posted September 5, 2012

A number of the one star reviews appear to have been written by disgruntled parents who don't understand the whole picture. There has been significant progress made by the school just in the past few years; unfortunately, change is difficult for some individuals. It is true that five faculty members left 15 months ago; however, they did not resign. They RETIRED. There is a significant difference. One moved back to the Philippines. One still works there part-time. Another has plans to move back to Iowa. Another retired per her agreement with her husband. It just that it happened all it once, so the appearance of five teachers leaving at the same time wasn't so great. Those teachers were great. The new teachers are maybe even better. The iPad program is essential. iPads are the language of the future. Standards have gone up. There have been challenges in the transition, but the rough edges are getting smoothed out. Have fees gone up? Yes, they have. Why? Because nothing comes for free and a school must bring in sufficient funds to meet expenses.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 22% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gifted specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Tagalog
Spanish
Italian
Arabic languages
American sign language
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Blue Ribbon School Eligibility (2012)
  • Academic Junior High Decathlon (2013)
  • Top Super Quiz in LA Sports Arena (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • CJSF (2012)
  • CJSF (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Fr. James Michael Bevacqua
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Fr-Bevacqua@hfglendale.org
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (818) 243-0976

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • STEM
  • STEP/MAP / Advanced Learner's Program
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Arabic languages
  • Italian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • STEP/MAP Program
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Share a ride with families
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • DECA
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Lead an Annual Fiesta and Jog-a-Thon
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The school serves 285 students from Transitional Kindergarten to 8th grade. The teachers are highly credentialed and the quality of academics is high. Families are diverse. The use of individual iPads, e-books, Zero Period Math, and Robotics are few wonderful programs that make the school a topnotch.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
280
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
315
Students typically come from these schools
Montessori Academy
Bonnie Academy
Incarnation Pre-School

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
CEF, Catholic Education Foundation

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Loyola High School, Los Angeles
St. Francis HS, La Canada
Immaculate Heart High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 South Louise Street
Glendale, CA 91205
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 243-9239

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Tobinworld
Glendale, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT